Skip to content

The Division, Overwatch, and Occupying Time

May 13, 2016

Dear Reader,

The Division continues to be denigrated in various media outlets, and I continue to play it and enjoy it all the same.  I’ve been pretty consistent doing the daily missions with my friends, and while many people complain about the lack of end-game content, I feel like, as is the case with most MMO-style games, the end-game is what you make of it.

I’m sure some people rushed, rushed, rushed to get into the best gear and, being completely and solely focused on that endeavor, have little more to do, but I’ve just been casually playing with my wife and buddy.  Perhaps that’s the complaint; the game is for no-skill noobs like myself.  Well, so be it.  I’m still liking it, regardless.

That said, the challenge modes are for better players, or perhaps just more players.  Regardless of our slow and consistent gearing up, my little group of three simply cannot complete a challenge mode.  We’ve tried two of them to no avail.  We’ve discussed adding a fourth random player, but our concern is that the player would need to be better than we are, which is not a high bar to set, but still, you never know.

In other news, I’ve been craving Overwatch, which I thought I’d have access to due to being a bad reader.  I assumed that early access wouldn’t end after the open beta, that the entire incentive for pre-purchase wasn’t two extra days in a beta, but apparently, it is.  I’m happy to say I wasn’t the only person to be so thick-skulled, but it’s a moot point.  Either way I don’t get to play Overwatch until May 24th.  Bleh.

Speaking of Overwatch, I really enjoyed it.  I’ve read some criticism about it’s net code and processing, and while I won’t pretend to understand all of it, I have to say I am sometimes baffled by being killed in a very particular way only to find that in the Kill Review, I was in fact killed in a different way entirely.  Having gone around a corner, for example, or popped an ultimate, or ducked into a doorway, only to find that SURPRISE in fact I never did those things.

Nonetheless, I still enjoyed it quite a lot.  My favorite characters were Tracer (who I think I was terrible at), Widowmaker (who I actually got my first Play of the Game on), Reinhardt,  who I think is my “best fit” character, though I’m sad to say so, and Lucio, who seems to be by far the strongest support.  I didn’t know about the wall-jump thing, either (if that still even exists in-game), so he’s actually even better than I realized.  I look forward to trying to “get good” on some others, but I’m happy that I have a well-rounded lineup from which to pick.

But alas, I can’t play Overwatch right now.  In the meantime, I’m trying to occupy time with whatever I can find.  For solo play, I picked up Goliath, which has been fun, but I don’t think will hold me for much longer.  I’ve gone back to playing Tales of Maj’Eyal, which I’ve now beaten a few times but still has zillions of character options, but again, I can feel the timer counting down on my interest.

I’ve been playing Victor Vran with my buddy, and it’s been really excellent.  The hardcore setting doesn’t prevent you from playing with someone who’s not hardcore, for example.  The gameplay has been a lot of interesting fun; it works like Guild Wars 2, where different weapons unlock different abilities, mixed with Diablo, with random loot drops and character progression.  I died already and lost my “hardcore” status, and now my buddy is being a punk and doesn’t want to do tough challenges as he’s afraid to lose his hardcore status, but other than that one little hangup on his part, it’s been a lot of fun.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and waiting)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2016 4:13 am

    Good to know that I’m not the only one around who realy likes The Division. Sure it get’s frustrating sometimes (especially if those damn shotgun suckers shoot you in the back) but for someone who wants a good FPS (from a third Person view) and likes cover mechanics (ME! ME!) and hasn’t got month of time for endgame Content – this is solid. Am I right?

  2. Shadowkillz permalink
    June 12, 2016 7:46 pm

    Very well written article, you should teach English!
    P.s: it’s “git gud”
    P.s.s : Why do you need my email to post you stalker.

    • June 12, 2016 9:27 pm

      Dude we have been wondering for like a year if you were okay. You should hop on steam or mumble or something and catch up. We thought Bury had found you and made a skin suit out of you. Glad to know you’re good!

    • Shadowkillz permalink
      June 12, 2016 9:48 pm

      Haha do you guys all still play together? I miss you guys. I’ll try to have a PC again by September for Legion and other stuff.

    • June 12, 2016 10:03 pm

      Some of us do, but there was some drama so not all of us. Are you doing okay over all?

    • Shadowkillz permalink
      June 12, 2016 10:16 pm

      Eh, mostly.

      “Life’s hard” – Stubborn.

      We should catch up soon… Do you guys use skype?

    • June 13, 2016 12:05 pm

      Yeah, I can Skype. I’m not sure about some of the others.

Trackbacks

  1. Six Degrees of June 10, 2016 - Beyond Tannhauser Gate

Leave a Reply

