Skip to content

Arkmageddon

July 20, 2015

Dear Reader,

So the other day my world came to a crashing end.  Well, by “my world” I mean my Ark character’s world, and by “a crashing end” I mean the server admin stopped hosting the server.  This cataclysm wouldn’t necessarily be a problem except that to transfer characters from one server to another, one must first “upload” them from an in-game console (a literal place in game, not the dev console), which of course would be impossible if one could not log onto the server.

I’m not exactly sure what went wrong with this gentleman, a private server host who’d been kind enough to run a PvE server for the rest of us, but he decided he’d had quite enough and shut the server down with no warning whatsoever.  This led to a tirade of angry adolescent bargaining, if one can classify swearing and threatening someone to be “bargaining.”  This is an actual response to the message that the server was shut down (warning – salty language ahead):

WOW, so you’re seriously not going to let us upload our characters and dinos. and you shut it down with no proper warning to us. That’s really fucked up. You are a really fucked nup person. Not only that your brain doesn’t understand conversation correctly from past experiences. People use to joke with “DIAF”but I truly hope you do DIAF. I hope you get in a car accident as that is a likely thing to happen to anyone. Don;t let me find out where you live as you live like 40 minutes from me, cause I would literally come to your place and WHIP YOUR ASS. You can take that as a threat and promise you bitch ass mother fucker.

So, when I finally got in touch with the gentleman who ran the server, I didn’t have much hope that he’d be interested in helping, thanks to the thankless non-appreciation of his former servermates.  However, upon speaking with him, he was pleasant and helpful, informing me that characters were actually saved locally and did not need to be “uploaded” like everyone thought.

What a relief!  But there was one small problem; the server admin was wrong.  After literally hours searching for another server that would even allow character downloads (I guess due to rampant alpha cheating many server admins are wary of boosted toons), I finally found one that would accept downloads, was stable, and was PvE.  They kindly informed me, though, that characters are not saved server side.

Well.

The fellow who was so pleasant before stopped taking my “calls.”  The irate teenagers on the server forums ripped further into him, making the situation worse and worse.  It became perfectly clear that I wasn’t going to get my character back.  The end of the world had come.

My buddy didn’t really want to start over, but when a former player on the now-dead server offered to start up a server and do a short boost period over the weekend with a huge xp, taming, and gathering boost, my buddy agreed.  Our plan is to “catch up” during the boost period (which is now essentially over), then transfer to another server, likely the one I found that was willing to take downloaded characters and was very stable.

We’ll see how it goes.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (risen from the dead)

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    July 22, 2015 10:21 am

    Ouch, that stinks! And really unfortunate that the server host isn’t willing to help people get their characters off to another server

    If your new server doesn’t work out, you could consider mine. It is PVE and private, so only my friend, her bf, and I play on it at the moment. You wouldn’t have to join our tribe, could do your own thing. If you want a more populated server though, I understand.

    The only issues we have had w mine are one server reset when my computer died during a thunder storm, and my friend unable to play one day last weekend when there was an update and I was away for work. I don’t travel much, though, so not a big issue.

    • July 23, 2015 1:45 am

      I appreciate the offer, and we will likely move off of this server eventually, so I may take you up on it. I have to make group decisions, though, so we’ll see what the others say.
      Thanks for the comment!

  2. kaleedity permalink*
    July 27, 2015 2:53 pm

    Having mistakenly brought down networks for thousands of users as an admin, I feel sorry for all involved. I have greater ability to be honest about my own mistakes, but I’m also in a position where I don’t receive death threats from users. There are… benefits… to having users be afraid of administrators instead of the other way around.

Leave a Reply

