Skip to content

I CAN’T EVEN BE SURE!

May 18, 2015

Dear Reader,

I’m such a sucker for sales.  In case you weren’t aware, Humble Bundle has had its spring sale going on recently, and I’ve bought an absurd number of games.

What’s the matter with me?  I don’t have time for these!  I don’t have time to even write anymore, but I keep buying – and usually playing – games.

Of most immediate interest to me were my purchases of Grim Dawn and Valkyria Chronicles (I actually think the latter was just on a normal sale on Steam, but I’ve bought so many games I CAN’T EVEN BE SURE).  I’ve been playing Grim Dawn with my buddy; it’s a pretty basic Diablo-style game, with a lot of zombie smashing and loot grabbing.  Usually, the D-style games don’t stick with me, but so far, so good.  I’ve liked the complexity of the loot options and character design; you can pick two classes to work with, and the gemming is a mix of stats and abilities, building on games like Path of Exile.

Mostly, though, it’s just a satisfying Diablo-style game.  Valkyria Chronicles, though, which I bought to play on my own, has been spectacular.  I choose that word in particular as the game itself looks almost like a Miyazaki film crossed with a Borderlands cell-art shading.  It’s graphics are beautiful; if you watch the videos for the game, that’s the actual engine the game itself uses.  The story so far is excellent, as well, so the cinematic aspect of it truly makes it a spectacle just to watch.

The gameplay stands on its own, too.  It’s a combination between a turn-based squad strategy game and a real-time shooter; you set up your squad as you can, then give commands to each to take a turn.  On that turn, you then take over control of the squad member and run around, take cover, and shoot, all the while trying avoid accidentally turning a blind corner into a tank or leaving yourself exposed to a sniper on the enemy’s turn.

Both of these games have been thoroughly enjoyable, and of course I have about a million hours of games left to play after.  Now if I just committed some more time to write!

Sincerely,

Stubborn (barely blogging)

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 20, 2015 3:00 am

    Oh man, I have been in that boat for years. I finally got around to documenting my game acquisitions this year, after yet another incident where I saw a game trailer, thought “yeah that looks cool!” and went to buy it, only to discover that it was already in my library…

    I am aiming to avoid buying more than a couple more games this year, but Valkyria Chronicles is definitely on my wishlist. Eventually…(sigh)

Leave a Reply

