Skip to content

(Exit Music Continues) Part 2 of Liebsterization

March 10, 2015

Dear Reader,

Today we’ll continue on with the question and answer portion of the Liebster Awards, for which I was tagged by Dahakha of Star Fired Beef.  In our last correspondence, I broke under pressure and told eleven facts about myself (in which I included my love of grammar; check out how I used “for” in the previous sentence.  Sexy.).

Today, we’ll complete the questionnaire portion of the assignment and add to the forward momentum of this movement by asking eleven questions of my own to a set of bloggers I choose to abuse.

Without further ado, the questions and answers!

1) How often do you go out to a restaurant?

Shamefully often.  Well, sort of.  I eat out and in quite a lot.  Neither my wife nor I particularly like cooking; while I am overweight I don’t really take pleasure in eating and often view it as a sort of mechanical necessity; it’s just once I start doing so I have a hard time stopping if there’s still food in my field of vision.  As a result, we eat out a lot, which, while expensive, helps manage portion control (I can pack half up in a doggy bag before I even start eating).  I’d guess in a normal week where I could eat out, let’s say, eleven meals (7 dinners + breakfast and lunch on the weekend), we likely eat out five or so times.

2) If you could design the next playable race for an MMO (of your choice), what kind of race would it be?

Man, that’s a really good one.  I love the creativity that this question requires.  I would like to see something truly alien in an MMO; I can’t think of a single playable race in a big MMO that isn’t essentially a human in various forms and sizes.  Even the fuzzy trio of thingamajigs (Popori?) in Tera are still, essentially, a team of small humans (though I admire the creativity it took to let them work collaboratively like that).  I’d like to see something truly inhuman, like a gaseous cloud or intelligent cohesive sand.  You could do all sorts of awesome animations with them and it might be a challenge to the player or game designers to figure out how to have them interact with the world.

3) You have to spend the next year in a different culture. Where would you choose to spend it?

New Zealand.  Edoras, here I come.  I have the all-too-popular minimalistic feeling of Americans of my age, wishing I could go be a sheep farmer in a sleepy hamlet Somewhere Else.  Luckily I’m mature enough to realize what a silly fantasy that is, as I know nothing about sheep nor really want to have to birth another one (that story another time, but it’s for realz).

4) What kinds of things make you laugh in games?

I appreciate the well-timed joke, humorous allusion, and even insanely-irritating game breaking bugs (which I often laugh about later, if not at the time.  See all of my Star Wars posts).  It’s hard to do humor in games well simply because you can’t always assure the timing will land or that the player will get the allusion.  In Saints Row 4, a game I played under duress by my blindish buddy, there were many allusions I didn’t get, and he’s only a few years older than I am.  He would be laughing up a storm while I sat clueless.

If I had to pick, and I’m to pretend I do, I’d say the Fallout game series, particularly Fallout 2, probably had the “best” sense of humor for my taste.

5) Is freedom really free?

Where is this freedom to which you allude?

/startrant American freedom is only available to a select few of wealthy individuals.  Everyone else is already a wage slave in an already-existing corporate oligarchy as predicted by numerous science fiction writers of dystopian futures.  I hate to be a bummer, but there’s a reason the government doesn’t curtail the college loan business; people who have large college debt are forced to work jobs beneath their qualifications that may not make them happy to pay that debt off.  In the meantime, they run up credit card debt because they’re paying a percentage of their too-small wage to the previous debt, further enslaving them.  This benefits the businesses by providing a vast work force living in fear of losing their jobs, which benefits the government by the businesses keeping the same individuals in power through campaign donations.

A vast majority of the American population is wage slaves with little control over their lives.  And all that’s without getting into the consumer must-have culture we’re fed from our birth, further indebting ourselves for junk we don’t need. I don’t even have a credit card.   /endrant

6) Name a book that was better than the movie, and a movie that was better than the book.

A) Virtually all of them

B) Lord of the Rings.  THAT’S RIGHT; I SAID IT.  I love Tolkien, but as a linguist, he was obsessed with reading his own writing and WAY overwrote those books.  They’re beautiful, but that beauty can take away from the heroic epic that plays out within its pages.  The movies, while they do drop a few important parts, largely remedy that.

Also, all three of the Hobbit movies sucked, going from about a 3/5 in the first movie to like a 1/5 in the last.  Peter Jackson King-Kong’d it.

7) If you had no access to a computer/tablet/phone for gaming, what would you do instead?

Read.  A lot.  I do even with those devices.  Right now I’m reading the Magic 2.0 series, the Critical Failures series (a lot of potty humor in there, but it’s a nice, light, escapist read), and the Connie WIllis Oxford time travel series (The first was the best so far, but I’ve liked the others.  Seriously, if you haven’t read The Doomsday Book by Willis, go read it now).

8) What is the best pizza topping?

Pepperoni.  Sorry for the basic answer, but it’s something most people can agree upon, and it’s delicious.

9) Do you think raiding is a net positive or a net negative for MMO games?

Net positive without a doubt.  I think the insistence that “elite” raiding must be honed to perfect executions is a negative, and I think many games’ focus on efficiency is a negative.  I think both of those foci create a lot of tension for guilds and raid leaders, and I think it takes a pretty masterful leader not to slip into imbalance when faced with “personal” versus “professional” choices in what amounts to most of us as a hobby.  However, without an end-game raiding environment, there wouldn’t be MMOs.

10) Favourite alcoholic (or faux-holic) beverage?

So I don’t talk about this a lot, as it makes people weirdly uncomfortable, but I don’t drink any alcohol, nor does my wife.  I don’t have any problem whatsoever with others doing so; it’s not a religious or moral thing, I just suspect that I’m a control freak and don’t want to give up any of that control.  Caffeine and sugar are my vices, and they meet in soda, which is slowly killing me.

11) What is the one feature you would love to see in your game of choice that isn’t currently there?

Well, I’m going to politic this answer and not really answer what you asked.  I think originality is the most lacking feature in games as a whole at this moment.  As game devs are centralized under huge corporate entities, the demand for reproduction of previous successes has sapped the will to create from a lot of devs.  That’s why when I look for a new game what I’m most after is originality.

But it is  there.  I’ve written plenty on those three recent games that I lucked out and played back to back: Transistor, This War of Mine, and Crypt of the Necrodancer.  Each one has a wholly unique portion, whether it’s gameplay, world building, or ethical challenges.  Without a doubt the originality is out there, we just need to cultivate it as much as we can.

Okay, my turn.  Here’s eleven questions, or short writing assignments, since I am, after all, an English teacher.

1) Describe in detail something that makes you very happy.

2) Which blogger(s) did you find most influential when you started.  Have you contacted them recently?  Why or why not?

3) Do you have pets?  What are they?  How did you choose them?  Or if not, why not?

4) What game has influenced you the most over your gaming years?  How so?

5) Did you like school?  Why or why not?

6) On the same note, did you have a teacher who meant a lot to you?  If so, have you contacted them recently?  Why or why not?  And if not, why do you think you didn’t?

7) If you feel comfortable talking about it, what’s your biggest vice?

8) To balance that out, what’s your biggest virtue?

9) What movie / TV series / book / or music (or all of the above) do you wish more people had been exposed to?

10) What’s the most important lesson kids should learn when growing up?  Why?

11) Do you vote?  Why or why not?

For this interrogative session, I’m tagging

I hope I’ve chosen people who haven’t been asked to do it yet, as I found a few I wanted to tag who had.  Here’s looking for your responses!

Sincerely,

Stubborn (interrogator)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2015 3:43 am

    Eeeexcellent.

    I think you’re right that Peter Jackson flubbed the Hobbit movies. I haven’t seen the final one, but the first two basically mirror the LotR movies. I did like the fight and action scenes, and the CGI monsters are awesome, but I had the “seen this before” feeling, which was disappointing.

Trackbacks

  1. A Bit Off Topic | Epic Slant Press LLC Blog – Table Top & PC Game Design

Leave a Reply

