Skip to content

A Quiet, Busy Week

December 5, 2014

Dear Reader,

The weeks between Thanksgiving and Christmas break are always the most stressful.  The kids are more on edge, the adults are more stressed out, and everyone seems to just be waiting out the clock instead of actually trying to spend that time getting something worthwhile done.  Hell, my neighbor-teacher was listening to “What Does the Fox Say?” loudly in her room.  I hope it was to teach onomatopoeia; it’s the only educational value I can think of for that song.

I bought a few games at the previous Steam sale and have been playing all of them.  Solo, I’ve been heavily invested in Crypt of the Necrodancer, which looked very silly at first but got my alpha-production support simply due to its creative approach: a rogue-like that works around rhythm.  We haven’t seen one of those before.

So far, it’s been a lot of fun; the music is good, the variety of weapons and enemies is good, and the challenge ramps up appropriately.  I would heartily recommend you give this game a chance if the video – one of the best game “previews” I’ve seen in a long time – catches your attention.

I also snatched up Desktop Dungeonsa game that sat on my wishlist for quite some time.  To put it mildly, I’m bad at it, and must be misunderstanding some core mechanic, because I haven’t been able to successfully complete a mission since the tutorial-level ones – even the “easy” missions to the west.  It’s a great game – don’t get me wrong – it’s smartly designed, great for micro-play sessions, and has a wonderful sense of humor, but I’m just missing something, probably because I’ve spent more time jamming with the Necrodancer.

Most of my non-WoW game time, though, has been spent playing 7 Days to Die (you shouldn’t start sentences and, by extension, names with numerals, by the way, but whatever) with my buddy.  It’s precisely the experience we’ve been looking for since DayZ; a survival horror in a brutal world that doesn’t pull punches.  We’ve both died repeatedly, partly because we’ve resisted looking up some basic things, favoring instead to figure them out on our own, such as Question: Can you drink water from the river?  Answer: No, you’ll die of diarrhea (which I eventually did).

I admit it doesn’t provide the abject terror of expecting, at any moment, to be PK’d for no reason, but on that note, it doesn’t provide the insane frustration of being PK’d for no reason.  Seems like a fair trade off.  To top that off, apparently it’s a Minecraft-style crafting game, which I didn’t know when we started playing, so we’ve been having a lot of fun figuring out how to do things within the crafting system, since neither of us has really played any Minecraft.

So that’s what I’ve been up to!

SIncerely,

Stubborn (diarrhea deaths: 1)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

