Skip to content

DING!

November 19, 2014

Dear Reader,

I’m again sitting in a computer lab while my creative, intelligent children take a soul-draining test on the computer.  To be fair, though, it’s a relatively short one, and the questions are pretty good about focusing on critical thinking.  Still, I could be doing something meaningful for the students instead of something to quantify their learning for the admin.

So it goes.

I set a goal to ding 100 over the weekend but didn’t make it.  Instead, I enjoyed watching The Walking Dead with my wife and taking a nice, long nap.  I would have made it, I think, if I hadn’t done those things, but I have no regrets.  I came into work Monday morning at 98, so I just decided to get a level a day and ding on Tuesday, which I accomplished.  I might have been able to ding faster, but I found myself getting sidetracked a lot.  This is actually a good thing, though, as it means I had more impetus to explore and just take in the sights.

I liked the treasure and “hidden” follower system quite a lot.  It encouraged exploration a bit while not making it completely mandatory (at first).  I also feel like I did a pretty good job finding the “hidden” followers.  I looked at the end of each zone to see who I’d missed, and I only missed one or so in each zone.  The garrison, too, is fantastic, though I’m willing to bet the novelty of it will wear off for a lot of people in a month or two.  We’ll see.  I wasn’t able to level my garrison to level 3 right away because I didn’t know to save my resources (I didn’t look up anything ahead of time to avoid spoiling it), but I’m sure I’ll get it today.  I’m excited to see what new opportunities it brings.

One minor detail I didn’t like about the follower tab is that it shows followers that are mutually exclusive; for example, it shows all three from the early quest, even though you choose only one, so it looks like I “missed” those other two.  It also seems to show horde-exclusive followers (Pleasure-Bot 8000, specifically), which makes me wonder if it’s mis-reported as horde only or just shouldn’t display there. I hope they fix that in he future to only show followers you missed and can actually get.

One of my favorite things about the expansion is simply encountering old friends again.  I bumped into Lunk, for example, the ogre who used to sit in Shattrath and who began (IIRC) the Ogri’la chain.  I saw Lantressor the Blade and learned a bit more about him.  From a lore perspective, I really feel like this has fleshed out BC even more while simultaneously adding a new storyline of its own.  The one problem I’ve been having – and I read all the quest text the first time through – is keeping track or who came through the time shift with me and who’s original to the this timeline.  Maraad, for example, I think he came with, but shouldn’t he have a counterpart here?  Where the hell is Thrall, for that matter?  He’s probably just a kid, but shouldn’t he be around?  Someone said he’d been born less than 25 years ago, but that doesn’t sound right.  I don’t really know, though, and that’s what’s bothering me.

Overall, I’d rate this as the second best expansion after BC.  I’d put BC at the top, and while I know a lot of people complain about it, I don’t think it’s fair to judge it equally against later expansions.  For its time, it was pretty ground-breaking: flying, heroic dungeons, better “hubbing” of quests, etc.  Sure, there were elements we’d not consider a bit out-of-date, but I think they worked then, even if we have a better system now (like gating heroics behind rep as opposed to gear score or proving grounds achievements).

I think this expansion is light years better than the last two, both in terms of story, integration into the previous game, and leveling.  Of course, I can’t really judge the end game just yet, so we’ll have to talk more about that later.

What have you all liked or disliked about it?  I’m curious to hear your feedback.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and 100)

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Percy permalink
    November 19, 2014 12:10 pm

    You can still get the pleasure bot follower as alliance. The quest giver is on the north part of that island in Talador.

    I’m alliance and I was able to get that follower just fine.

    Also I agree. It’s an excellent expansion so far. I’m super curious how raids and future content patches will go.

  2. November 19, 2014 12:25 pm

    I won’t spoil it for you, but FYI, there is a way to get the followers you “missed.”

    Again, no spoilers, but there is a valid lore explanation as to why we don’t see duplicates of certain people.

    Personally, I reaaaaaally love Garrisons. I could go on about them a lot, there’s just so much awesome (even with my complaints about resources).

    I love the beauty of Draenor. I LOVE Ashran. And new talents. The treasure hunting.

    This expansion has just been non-stop fun for me.

    • November 19, 2014 2:09 pm

      I like the garrisons too. Neverwiner Online had something like this that you could access from a web browser that I, perhaps, was a little too attached to. Since I cannot access WoW at work (which is likely a very good thing), I have to take a more measured approach.

      Thanks for the comment!

  3. November 19, 2014 12:33 pm

    “Maraad, for example, I think he came with, but shouldn’t he have a counterpart here?”

    He died in the WoD timeline, while Yrel died in the main timeline.

    “Where the hell is Thrall, for that matter? He’s probably just a kid, but shouldn’t he be around? Someone said he’d been born less than 25 years ago, but that doesn’t sound right. I don’t really know, though, and that’s what’s bothering me.”

    Not born yet, he was just a baby after the Horde originally went through the Dark Portal. Thrall would be 25-30 now.

    • November 19, 2014 12:34 pm

      Oh, and I can confirm you can get Pleasure-Bot.

    • November 19, 2014 2:09 pm

      That seems like madness. How can he be THAT accomplished and so young. Nonsensical.

    • Polynices permalink
      November 19, 2014 2:32 pm

      Just think of him as Orcxander the Great and it doesn’t seem to strange.

  4. Polynices permalink
    November 19, 2014 2:33 pm

    I’d say TBC after they made the keying for raids less completely insane and added catch-up weapons for badges on a vendor. Made the expansion wonderful for more casual folks.

  5. November 19, 2014 8:49 pm

    The expansion is cool but proving grounds gives me panic attacks so don’t think I’m going to be able to do endgame with my guild.

    • November 20, 2014 3:12 am

      For reference, I got Gold in Proving Grounds at 588 ilvl. It’s considerably easier than it was in MoP (and only caps your ilvl at 630, which is heroic dungeon gear). Give it a few more tries and I’m confident you can get it (or perhaps we can help).

      …also, keep in mind technically you only need it to random queue heroic dungeons, you can still do normal mode raids (or heroic/mythic) without it.

Leave a Reply

