Skip to content

Crabby

October 22, 2014

Dear Reader,

Before I get into all the crabby negativity, my first post is up at Epic Slant.  Go check it out!  It’s positivity in print!

I’m in a crabby mood today.  It’s been a rough few days; I injured my back last Friday (largely because I’m simply out of shape and in my mid 30s), and it’s been hurting – like I almost couldn’t sleep Friday night hurting.  That’s messed up my walking, which I do almost all day as a teacher.  Of course this is the week I have lunch duty, so that compounds the problem,.  Additionally, we teachers (who keep being referred to as volunteers even though we were mandated to participate; I hate that kind of double speak, more than I dislike having to stay for an activity that’s a jokish waste of time) get to provide a “literacy night” for the 10 sets of parents (we have 150 students in 6th grade – 10 are confirmed as coming, and since it’s raining, I bet some don’t come anyway) who are going to show up tonight.  Because I live so far away, I can’t drive home, so the people who will be getting home the latest are also the people who can’t leave in between the the end of the school day and the event.  I’ll be “at work” for 14 hours today, just to get to go home, go straight to bed, and come back to work tomorrow.  Crabby.

Of course none of this has to do with the students, and I’ve held for a long time that when I’m annoyed about teaching, it’s never really the students; it’s the other adults.  These things are no exception, but the confluence of events this week has just piled it up to make it really unpleasantly noticeable, like too many corpses in the gutter.

On “happier” news, I’ve been farming tricky treats for the two new pets that are available.  I’m glad that they’ve added something; too many times holiday events have come and gone with no substantive change from the previous years.  i know it’s not much, but every little bit helps.  I’m just leisurely flying around on my paladin (who has the fast flying) while playing other games at the same time.  I’ve mostly been playing X-Com; I know I’ve played and quit that game over and over, and I feel like I might be about to do it again.  I’m not playing on Ironman mode this time, which means that I feel compelled every time one of my dudes gets critted by a long-range, behind-full-cover alien shot to just reload.  That’s not really the spirit of the game, though, is it?  I don’t know.  I just don’t feel right about it.

I’ve been doing the whole “only move once and overwatch every turn until you see aliens” method, but even that’s far from foolproof.  After too many of the above situations, I’m sure I’m just going to turn the game off and do something else.  But for now, it’s keeping me attention while I otherwise fly around and loot candy buckets.

I’ve been playing Wildstar alongside WoW, which has been fun as a comparison.  I’m still happy with WoW’s controls, but Wildstar’s more-active-movement combat system feels better.  I still like The Secret World the most, though, even though a lot of people complain about how the combat “felt” in that game.  I’m not sure how it “felt” to others, but I liked it.

I’m still making progress in Long Live the Queen, too, but I’ve died a lot.  I didn’t die at all at first; I didn’t really even realize that death was the “fail state” of the game.  I guess I played a really good first game, but then I agreed to duel some little jerkoff, and he killed me.  I had like 50+ sword skill, too, so I’m not really sure what I should have done differently there.  It was an ENORMOUS amount of time invested and lost, and then I died again like twice almost in a row right towards the start of the game.

Anyway, so that’s my state of being: crabby.  I could be more long-winded and negative, but I’ll spare you.  I just hope my injury continues to heal and goes away sooner rather than later.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and hobbled)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2014 2:52 pm

    I know the guy you’re talking about in Long Live The Queen.

    *hissss*

    • October 22, 2014 3:02 pm

      Yeah what a little punk. I’ll be getting swords 100 next time…

Leave a Reply

