Skip to content

A Long Overdue Catch-up

October 3, 2014

Dear Reader,

As the title says, this is largely just a bullwall (think a BBB Bearwall, but with Tauren) of what I’ve been up to.  First, I think I’ve hit my stride – even being a little sick (I was a lot sick this past week) – I wasn’t desperately in need of a nap today (which is a Stubborn family tradition).  That may – MAY – mean a better correspondence schedule than the past few weeks.  I’m hoping my body is basically finally adapted to the challenge of being a public school teacher again.  To illustrate, we had a field trip to Luray Caverns today (google it), and at the end, I was a bit fatigued, but my wife was WIPED OUT.  She’s not developed the chops for it (though I’m sure she would after a few weeks, like I’ve had).

I’ve also got some big news.  I got picked up as a co-blogger on the soon-to-be-rebooted Epic Slant Press LLC Blog!  My writing will occasionally be featured there alongside two other wonderful bloggers.  I’m really excited by the opportunity to work alongside Ferrel, a long-time friend of the blog whose work has been inspiring me for a long time.    The blog there is more focused on board and card gaming, so the two sites shouldn’t compete for topics much, so I think it will be an interesting way to start thinking about a new genre.  Keep an eye out both here and there, and I’ll cross reference as I can.

In gaming news, I’ve been playing a lot of different games, thanks to the Humble Bundle.  The by-far top of the list right now is Defender’s Quest, which has been a real treasure find from the Bundle.  It’s essentially just a good ol’ fashion tower defense, but I still really like the unique aspects of the gameplay.  It’s a good mix of RPG as well, where you can level characters and choose their talents D2 style, while also getting gear (including special gear from challenges) all the while.  It’s got multiple classes, a variety of acceptable solutions to the tower defense levels, and a pretty decent story, as well.  It’s not going to win any graphics awards, but that doesn’t bother me too much.  If you’re in the market for a single-player strategy game, I’d highly recommend it.

While my brother-in-law was visiting, he, my wife, and I all played The Yawgh, one of the most fun party (if you have parties of only 3 or 4 people, like I do) games I’ve every played.  Often, party games are just a series of silly challenges designed to make people look foolish so everyone can have a nice laugh together.  This one was a cooperative story telling game with a lot of hilariously fun, unpredictable outcomes.  It was another steal from the Humble Bundle.

Lastly, I’ve been playing Wildstar.  I don’t know if I pointed that out to you before or not, dear reader.  I was keeping it a little secret, though only a little.  I only play with my wife, and her play time is very limited, so we’re still in the first zone, but we’ve been enjoying it.  It’s no great shakes; it’s another WoW-like game, which isn’t a complaint, mind you, as it builds on many of the best features of WoW.  I’m playing the Stalker, which fits my rogue-love, and my wife is playing a medic, which she seems to be enjoying.

So that’s what I’ve been up to recently.  Check out Epic Slant Press if you’ve never been there before; they’ve got a lot of neat articles, books, and games for sale, all of which I’ve enjoyed.  You could, too!

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and caverned)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

