Skip to content

AFKish

September 11, 2014

Dear Reader,

I’m currently sitting in a computer lab at my middle school while my students take yet another pre-test assessment to inform me of their capabilities.  You know, the capabilities that I’ve witnessed every day and have already informally assessed pretty well.  Lord DATA requires numbers, though, so here we are.

My parents are currently visiting, cutting further down on time i have to do things I like, such as writing our correspondences.  It’s not too much of a problem, of course, since I don’t have much time to be gaming or the like, anyway, but it’s still a bit of a bother.

For instance, I’d like to write about a guild situation that crept up this week.  I won’t go into any detail about it except that it could have been explosively bad, but thanks to the good management at both the GM and officer levels, I think everything’s basically calmed down.  There were a lot of discussions, and a lot of different opinions, but through time and conversation a lot of agreements were made that left everyone pretty much satisfied.  Not perfectly satisfied, of course; that would be impossible with virtually all forms of drama.  But satisfied enough.

It was a nice difference from what I’ve unfortunately grown accustomed to, where drama leads to more drama until it spirals out of control.  It was handled quickly and efficiently, and even though not everyone agreed, everyone worked together to bring it to a conclusion.  That was refreshing.

Of all the Humble Bundle games I’ve purchased recently, I’m still playing one on an almost-daily basis: Hand of Fate.  It’s still the jewel of the litter, and I still pretty strongly recommend it to anyone who would like a light-roguelike deck-building brawler RPG.  That’s right.  It’s all those things.

I played some Mass Effect 3 Multiplayer over the weekend with my blindish buddy and Balkoth, my GM, and except for the game crashing a few times (which has since been solved), I had a really good time, and i think my blind buddy did, too, once we put it on a lower difficulty that was more his (mine too, really) speed.  I had been feeling bad about not spending any time recently with Balk, since I can’t go on the Weds flexes anymore, so it was nice to get to do so.

At any rate, that’s me.  Time to get back to Lord DATA.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and data-driven crazy)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. kaleedity permalink*
    September 12, 2014 12:46 pm

    “He’d hunker down with a huge data set, load up Excel, and, as he puts it, ’embrace the darkness.'”

  2. Supreme Commander permalink
    September 13, 2014 6:02 pm

    Git Gud

  3. Corah permalink
    October 4, 2014 10:22 am

    19 days of testing (not counting the classroom tests that I give).

Leave a Reply

