Skip to content

Boosting

March 19, 2014

Dear Reader,

There’s been an enormous amount of talk surrounding the level 90 character boosts.  The post I saw that I most agreed with came from Balkoth of his eponymous Word.  My thoughts on it mostly follow what Extra Credits said about microtransactions in 2012, and while this is no “micro” transaction, a lot of the same logic follows.

What you want to sell is convenience.  Things like extra banks space and character loadout save slots.  Those are great.  They’re utterly unnecessary, and at first every player feels like the default amount is going to be plenty, but sooner or later, anybody’s who’s dedicated to the game is going to find it totally worth a few dollars to have those extra features.

Even things like selling leveling speed is okay… it just means that players blaze through the content faster.  It doesn’t unbalance your game or affect any of the other players.  All it does is make it more convenient for some of your players to see the later stages of your game if they choose.  (emphasis mine)

I’ve leveled a lot of alts.  A lot.  Not as many as longtime reader Cain, apparently, who I just battletag friended the other day and have seen, not joking, probably 15 different characters for, but still a lot.

I’ve paid for a lot of server and faction transfers, too.  Those add up.  If you figure I’ve paid on average 14 dollars a month for the sub over the past 8 years, let’s see… um… that’s – good lord.  Nevermind.  I don’t want to calculate this out.  I’ve paid a lot, let’s just leave it at that, and say that I’ve probably paid about half as much for various transfers as I have the subscription.  It’s a lot.

To be able to not only skip paying a faction and server transfer AND the time it takes to level is a VALUABLE product for people like me who have more money at this stage of my life than time (though that well is pretty limited at the moment, too!) but who end up looking around for guilds where they fit in, but who’ve had more failures than successes in that search.

And it’s not like I’m skipping content.  I’ve seen it, over and over again, and don’t really want to see it again.  So when I took my NWN buddy’s advice and ordered Warlords of Draenor, I immediately started wondering what to do with my free boost.  I don’t have a lot of non-85+ characters.  I considered leveling a new toon to 60 for the professions boost, but when my NWN buddy guessed the time it’d take, I admit that I balked a little (pun intended).  In retrospect, that may have been a mistake, but we’ll see.

I knew I wanted an ally druid on my new buddy’s server, so I just bit the bullet and generated one.  Stubborn is reborn as Stubbornly (though Stubborn’s still there on Shattered Halls), and to hopefully make some money, I began leveling enchanting.  That’s why it may have been a mistake not to just get to 60 first; I did just fine at first but since have hit a wall that can only really be remedied by time; there’s not enough mats available on the AH to purchase.  The prices haven’t been terrible, mind you, the mats just aren’t there.

So I boosted a character.  I’m going to head out to Timeless Isle with my wife’s fresh 90 (not boosted, just happened to have gotten there recently), and we’ll start the gearing cycle all over.  Who knows; maybe that’ll carry us to the end of the expansion.  Only time will tell!

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and rushing off to an accredidation meeting)

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2014 5:24 pm

    People can come up with all kinds of reasons why the boosted 90s are a good thing, but right now at least they seem to be causing a lot of mayhem. (That link was not the first rant I’ve seen on the subject.) It’s quite amusing to watch from afar, though it’s made me avoid LFR since they opened up pre-orders…

  2. Cain permalink
    March 22, 2014 8:39 am

    Haha I do have a lot of toons but I don’t think I logged 15 the other day. Good luck with your druid still my favorite class after all these years.

    • March 22, 2014 6:15 pm

      Perhaps not that day, but it was a few days between when you accepted my friend invite and when we finally spoke. I was observing the downpour of names for a while before I spoke up (;
      Thanks for the comment!

Trackbacks

  1. Knowledge Groups and Content Tiers | Sheep The Diamond

Leave a Reply

