Skip to content

Good News, Bad News

January 17, 2014

Dear Reader,

I’ve had a busy last few days, having just started the semester here while trying to pilot a new developmental course with essentially zero support.  In fact, it may be an overall negative amount of support, since some of the other professors are pushing back against it while most other offices are just not doing anything particularly helpful.  My only ally in a school of, let’s say, 200 personnel is the Registrar, who’s a great ally to have, but not enough against the tide of resistance and incompetence.  I had 10 of 10 seats filled on the Friday before classes, but only 5 of those 10 on Monday.  I’ve been scrambling since to figure out why as well as re-fill those seats.  I think I got up to 8 today, so I’m in “safe” territory, but it was still an unpleasant shock.

Along those bad news lines, one of the students in my 101 class I had for developmental English last semester and really liked.  He was a solid student, but also a young man who had doubts and troubles but was determined to overcome them.  He didn’t show up for the first two days of class, so I decided to call him to see what’s up, since he had mentioned considering dropping out last semester, a decision I talked him out of.  He answered right away, and we had a good conversation, but privately, I was reeling, because he’d decided to join the navy and was in the car on his way to basic.  He’d signed up for four years, and while I have to respect his decision, I feel like there was a lot more he could have done.  That’s not to say our armed forces aren’t doing something grand and worthwhile, but he was really a very smart kid from a rough background who hadn’t had good opportunities, and I’m afraid in the Navy he may be injured physically or psychologically.  

It is what it is.

More bad news came on the same day, as I found out that Dorchester County, South Carolina, from which I moved away in the year 2000, has been harassing my mother about me not showing up for jury summons.  Apparently she’s had to call them repeatedly to tell them I don’t live there any more, but nothing seems to be able to change their records to indicate I don’t live there.  I finally got a fax number for them today and wrote them a very nasty letter (by my standards, which is to say polite but terse) and sent them a copy of my current Driver’s License so they’d lay off.

On brighter news, my wife’s back, finally, after being gone two weeks.  YAY!

Also, I’ve been having a lot of fun playing Neverwinter Nights and Neverwinter, and it’s interesting to see some of the weird overlaps, like Nashers, Lord Neverember, some of the architecture and zones, and so forth.

Disappointingly, the WoW servers going down on Wednesday cost me my flex raid.  It’s odd, but something that only occupies 3 hours of my week really affected me by being cancelled.  Perhaps because I’ve been so isolated at home without my wife, not getting to socialize with a group of friends bummed me out.  I did get to play some NWN with one of them, so that was a fine remedy, but missing the rambunctious ruckus of a raid kind of made my week feel incomplete.

Lastly, in surprising news, I found myself in possession of a beta key for Wildstar.  It was a gift from an old blog friend, so I’m excited to get started in that.  I’m only a little way in right now, so I’ll reserve judgment until I see more, but expect to hear more about it as the NDAs go down.

Have a great weekend!

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and not living in Dorchester County for MORE THAN A DECADE)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Grotsmack permalink
    January 17, 2014 3:00 pm

    I think maybe the Navy could be a great thing for your student. The Army paid for my pretty much all my schooling (AA, BS and the start of my MA). I knew many bright and smart people while serving. Sometimes a young man wants adventure and the ability to stand on his own, and the service does provide that for him. I am sure he will take your lessons with him as he adventures out in the world.

    • Tellah permalink
      January 20, 2014 2:10 pm

      I have to agree with Grotsmack on this one. There’s people who fail out in everything, military service and colleges among them. If he serves one 6-year term, he gets a minimum of 36 months of school completely paid for along with access to a huge (and hugely funded) infrastructure to help him get to where he wants to get.

      It’s a big step, but chances are more than even that it works out to put him into a favorable position. Free psychiatric therapy chief amongst them, if he has troubles.

    • January 23, 2014 9:43 am

      Here’s the thing: He wasn’t failing out of everything. He was going to, but he straightened out on his own and passed all his courses.
      And the psychology is what worries me; I see a lot of vets and ALL of them have issues, but most either refuse treatment due to idiotic masculinity or are refused treatment by a government who wants to pretend there’s no mental health issues in the military.

      Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

