Skip to content

Busy, Busy, Busy

November 4, 2013

Dear Reader,

It’s a portfolio week for me, so I’m going to have my hands full grading.  As often happens, this grading is coinciding with a lot of meetings this week, as well.  When it rains, it pours.

Orcs Must Die has turned out to be a lot of fun, but man has it gotten challenging quickly.  I strongly suspect that my absolute insistence at keeping my rifts at full capacity may be why I feel like I’m struggling; if I let them take some damage and just moved on, I may have no such complaints.  Regardless, that behavior may shortly go by the wayside; I’ve had to really, really struggle with the last few boards, often taking an hour or two to completely perfect the pulls.  I have to say there is something sickly amusing about using flinging and pushing traps to fling and push (respectively) orcs into lava or acid.  It’s more satisfying than just shooting them or watching them die to a hail of arrows.  Maybe I need counselling.

Regardless, as frustrating as it has been at times, it’s still been a ton of fun, and mostly luck-free, so it makes a nice balance from Card Hunter.  I’m still enjoying that quite a lot, though again there are situations where I just roll my eyes and curse as I draw 3 rounds in a row of no attack cards on any of my characters, despite the fact that at least half their decks are attack cards (well, 2 of their decks; the other may only be 33%).

I haven’t reached any new content in the game yet, but I’m fast approaching it.  There have been some new cards that were fun to discover, and revisiting the boards I had previously been successful on has been fun as I replay them in new-ish ways, but I remember losing interest because I started to hit boards that seemed to require gear that, despite the fact I’d gone back to replayed every board a time or two, I still didn’t have.  Either that or they required the perfect draw of cards on my part, which I’m not interested in grinding for.  Perhaps this has been addressed since the beta, which I’ll be happy later to report either way.

I also got to pretend I was a real man a little this weekend when my disposal broke.  Rather than tear at my hair, gnash my teeth, and weep for a plumber, I checked the Internet and found some basic repair information.  After pressing a button and turning a wrench (that’s truly all it took), it began to work again.

I proclaimed, “I’M A REAL MAN NOW; BOW BEFORE ME!”

My wife laughed.

Then I went back to finish cooking dinner for my wife, cuddle my cats, and play non-sport, non-realistic violence games for the rest of the night.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (Real Man)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2013 1:49 pm

    Heh. I get that “real man” personal reaction every time I do anything that requires popping the hood of my car. I POPPED THE HOOD AND DID CAR STUFF! /flex

    Note: popping the hood = adding washer fluid, which is all I’m capable of doing; if anything requires (or might require) a tool or basic expertise (brakes have FLUID?!) it goes into the shop. /flex regardless.

  2. November 5, 2013 9:59 am

    Heh, call again when you replace the disposal. /flex Now back to gaming. 😛

Trackbacks

  1. An Early Yearly Rundown, Part 2: The Top 5 | Sheep The Diamond

Leave a Reply

