Skip to content

Beginnings

August 9, 2013

Dear Reader,

A few days ago I was formally invited into my guild after my server transfer.  It was a typical affair, with people saying hello and engaging in small talk, then going back to what they were doing.  I’ve been the new guy a lot, more often than one would want, in fact, so I knew what to expect.  I was polite and just kept plugging away at improving my gear.  That’s what I knew would be the key to getting into the raids: showing I was serious and could get geared up.

So tonight I was in the middle of my LFRs when the raid started tonight, since I had no intention of burdening them with my blues (that goddamn wrist and trinket are killing me).  Lo and behold, about 20 seconds before we pulled the Twin Consorts in my LFR, the GM asked me if I wanted to go into a fresh ToT group.  I said I’d be happy to, but that I hadn’t had the luck to improve those two weak pieces yet.  He was unconcerned, though, so I mopped up that fight and got my invite.

The group I was in was one of two that the guild was running that night.  Since they sometimes have 25 and sometimes don’t, they have to be malleable in how they structure their raids, and I guess tonight they had 19 and could use me, even undergeared.  Luckily, flex raiding will take care of that problem.  We trucked along, killing trash and moving towards the first boss, and I noticed – hey – I wasn’t doing that badly.  No big deal, though, since trash dps is meaningless.

We got to the first boss, and they gave me a run-down of what was different between LFR and normal.  The main thing was some ball lightning nonsense that you had to run to the outside for.  Got it; no problem, I’ve had more than my fair share of “run to the outside” effects in my time.  Sure enough, I kept getting that effect tonight, too,  In fact, it killed me eventually, because I got the effect right before a lightning storm and couldn’t get back to the aoe heals group in time.  Other than that though, I felt I did pretty well.

My numbers are what they are, but more importantly, I felt like I was really on task.  The same was true on Horridan, where there’s a lot of opportunity to mess a group up by dpsing the wrong targets at the wrong time.  The same is true on the council, and as hectic as those fights are, I felt I was really focused and did a good job of interrupting, burning, and switching targets as I was supposed to.  My Earthgrab totem and my Thunderstorm knockback are great for dealing with the Loas, too.

Then things got really strange and I actually got a complement on my dps.  It seems some of the other raiders were impressed I could put out the numbers I did with the gear I have.  I’ll take it; I’ve only once received a complement on my dps, and it was when I was in super-duper resto gear and moonkin’d on Saurfang since our pally healer was absurdly good and could solo heal the fight.  I did about as well as the other moonkin and impressed some of the raiders then, too.

Traditionally, I have a love/hate relationship with dps.  Since I can tank and heal, which are the “hard” tasks (depending on which expansion – if you think tanking’s easy, go back and tank Fel Reaver in BC), I’ve always felt I should be able to dps.  But it’s never panned out before.  Never.  I never could get my fire mage dps to where it should be.  With my rogue, I only ever did BGs.  Beyond that, I’ve never tried to dps a heroic or raid more than a time or two before I got so frustrated I just dropped it.  My experience has always been to tank and heal, so this was a potentially disastrous situation that turned out all right in the end.  Sure, I was bottom dps, but not by a lot, and with mediocre gear.

The other 10 man raid started on Tortos and never made it past Megaera.  Our raid made it from the first trash pull to Megaera in the same amount of time, so whatever else may be said, I don’t feel like I was a hindrance.  That’s my only real fear; I don’t mind being carried a bit, but I don’t want to drag the raid down.  With Megaera, we just had too many acid rains back to back, and some lower gear levels (my own included) couldn’t handle it.  We did get to the 6th head, and that was nearly dead; we were probably 30 seconds from the end of the fight.

I netted tier gloves that no one else needed; I wouldn’t have taken gear on my first raid from someone else, even as an off-spec.  Naturally, it was on a boss that dropped a wrist and a trinket I could use, so I used my reroll and got – what else – a second tier gloves.  My first duplicate roll!  I guess it’s a good kind of problem to have.

So overall, my first raid back was an excellent experience.  The people seem friendly and competent, and I don’t feel like I’m causing problems (as far as I know, none of the wipes were triggered by anything I did).   I’m looking forward to next time!

Sincerely,

Stubborn

P.S. They kept calling me Lambic, even after someone asked me how to pronounce it (I-am-bic), so I told them to just call me Stubborn.  Might as well go with what works! (;

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2013 7:00 am

    Hey Stubborn,

    gotta ask: do you mean Fel Reaver (as in, “a Fel Reaver, the thing that ate new 60ies for breakfast when TBC was released”) or Void Reaver (as in “the boss in The Eye with deaggro abilities”)?

    I remember Void Reaver, but more as a somewhat annoying fight than a difficult one. Always running out of mana if I didn’t go first…
    I’ll have to ponder which fight in TBC I found worst… maybe Morogrim, because we had a very interesting tactic that could either work exceedingly well, or could go horribly wrong. (I healed myself with a healing weapon + shield, hopefully got the murlocs – that’s the part that could go horribly wrong – then switched back to tanking weapon + shield). I think the inner demons on Leotheras were also quite annoying as a prot pally.

    Other than that, sounds you’re having fun, and that’s the most important thing!

    • August 9, 2013 9:44 am

      Ah yes, Void Reaver, not fel. It’s been a while. We only had 3 tanks then, and it made void reaver a crazy threat race, as it was also a dps race, but we had to keep threat over the dps. Since I was a prot pally and he has that super-annoying silence, it meant I had to work my threat in the moments in between silences, or run out and back in after a silence to keep building threat. Overall, it was nuts!

      Thanks for the comment!

  2. August 9, 2013 12:27 pm

    I totally forgot about the silence! Even though I also was a prot pally. Either we were a bit behind and it got nerfed before we went for Void Reave, or… I don’t know. It sounds like a big deal now that you remind me of it!

    As I said, I absolutely needed to go first, though. In the days of no other mana regen possibility than Spiritual Attunement, off-tanking was… well. But you know that story, since you were also a prot pally back then! I enjoyed being the “what, you can actually tank?” person. (And then the “please let’s do that again, I never wanna go with any other tank to Shattered Halls ever again!”) Those were the days.

  3. August 9, 2013 2:08 pm

    I know what you mean about DPSing. All my 90’s that do more than stand around and craft gems or bags are healers, and I almost always heal raids. It seems when I switch to DPS suddenly the meters matter to me, and I get upset if I feel I am not pulling the DPS an equally geared but more skilled player could milk out of the same class. Makes me cranky, so I keep healing. I enjoy healing, don’t get me wrong- never the same fight twice, and always room to improve in some way. Grats on your new guild and gloves, I hope things work out well there for you.

  4. August 9, 2013 10:15 pm

    “In fact, it killed me eventually, because I got the effect right before a lightning storm and couldn’t get back to the aoe heals group in time. Other than that though, I felt I did pretty well.”

    FWIW, save your 30% and 40% damage reduction cooldowns for that sort of thing on Jin’rokh.

    “With Megaera, we just had too many acid rains back to back, and some lower gear levels (my own included) couldn’t handle it. We did get to the 6th head, and that was nearly dead; we were probably 30 seconds from the end of the fight.”

    Bad news: there are seven heads >.>

    What colors were you killing?

    “P.S. They kept calling me Lambic, even after someone asked me how to pronounce it (I-am-bic), so I told them to just call me Stubborn. Might as well go with what works! (;”

    Just tell them pentameter!

    “We only had 3 tanks then, and it made void reaver a crazy threat race, as it was also a dps race, but we had to keep threat over the dps.”

    It actually wasn’t a DPS race, because Void Reaver would continuously drop tank threat. This meant tanks would eventually be unable to be above a certain threat level – so when a DPS hit that level they either had to stop DPSing, drop threat somehow, or die (which also dropped threat!). If you were a warrior DPS, for example, there was absolutely no rush on DPS – you’d be threat capped anyway.

Leave a Reply

