Skip to content

Recent WoW Happenings

July 31, 2013

Dear Reader,

I’ve been juggling a lot in WoW over the past few days: getting further into the Isle of Thunder, working to get all my reps to revered in case I switch main toons, and, of course, thinking about what i want to do about the guild.

Regarding IoT, I’ve really enjoyed a lot of the fights there and a majority of the dailies, since the rotation seems to be diverse enough, with one exception: it seems my last three quests are always to break drills, kill two dudes, and steal a necklace.  With so much other variety out there, I assume those aren’t the only “final three” that I could receive, but it’s been those each and every day.

I like coming across the rares, too.  I haven’t read any guides and have found and killed 6 of them myself.  The most challenging for me, by far, is Molthor, because if I miss his fear, I frequently end up in his shockwave, which nearly one-shots me.  I have to remind myself that they’re not burn fights, to take my time, and then I do fine.

Occasionally someone else in the area will stop by and help, and I have to say, the fights are laughably easier with a partner.  It makes me wish I was a hunter, because there’s no doubt not having to avoid/survive backbreaker and horrific visage nullify the challenge of those respective fights.  Each of those situations has been cordial, and one person ran around with me and did a bunch of other rares that were up, so at this point, the IoT has seemed like a very social place, unlike my memories of firelands dailies where people were constantly stealing from you or Tol Barad where you were often ignored by your own faction and murdered by the other.

So overall I’ve been really enjoying them.  I like the atmosphere, the lore, the various monster-faction areas, and all the nifty little things you can find lying around.  There is one thing I don’t like, though, and it’s been WILDLY popular with others: the Trove of the Thunder King scenario.  I mean, I get it.  It’s fun to run around and loot stuff, but I feel like it leaves me feeling irritated more than happy, as I often get completely lost, pull monsters that I never even saw, and generally waste time over and over.  I don’t want to watch a video explaining how to do it, but I feel like it’s one of the many things Blizzard has developed where you’re expected to seek outside help.  The keys have dropped so infrequently that you don’t really have them to waste and experiment with.  Therefore, you either end up feeling irritated or you go and watch a video, which saps some of the experience away.

Doing the rep “grind” again has been fine, too, as I’m just doing IoT each day and then one other area set of dailies.  I don’t try to do them all, and I’m not really in much of a rush, since once I hit revered and get the account-wide buff, I’ve no more incentive to do them until I’m sure which toon I’m going to be raiding on.  After that, well, we’ll see, but for now, it’s made for a more leisurely questing experience than doing them all every day.  On top of that, I’ve kept up with my farm, so I’ve been able to do those dailies to get rep, too, so that’s been a plus.

As for the guilds, well, let me first say thank you to everyone who left advice in my comments section.  It can be a very nice reminder from time to time to get so many well-wishes and comments, and it helps remind me  why we’re ultimately here: to converse.  Virtually every commentator said to go to the established guild, too, as it will lead to a more sure-fire and stress-free situation.

From my point of view, both contain peril.  I’ve been in 4 established guilds, and all 4 didn’t end up being a good fit.  In some of those cases, i can clearly see where the problem lied, but in others, it’s much hazier.  In fact, I’m scared of the idea that I’d end up in another guild who’s culture is just a little off-kilter to what I’m looking for, and while I try and try to fit in, I just don’t quite, and then while I try to stick it out and fit in better, I slowly make myself sick and tired of WoW again.  That’s been a majority of my experience.

In the two guilds I’ve tried to grow, I can pinpoint exactly what went wrong in both cases, and they were completely out of my hands in the leadership.  While it’s definitely a scarier prospect to try to grow something from nothing, I feel like I’d have more efficacy in that situation, as this time I could be part of the leadership.  At least I’d know I had some control over what happened rather than simply being out of joint with the culture.  Too often the established guilds have somewhat used me, too, for whatever skills I had while also disempowering me or secretly wishing me away (in the latter case, I didn’t know until much later about it).

I don’t know.  I still haven’t had a chance to talk to the GM of the growing guild, so it may be a moot point.  Right now I’m 50/50 until I have more information.  Still, thank you all for your advice, and know that I read it and considered it, even if in the end I go the other way.  Only time – and that conversation – will tell.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and waiting)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2013 10:24 am

    Those are always the last three, sadly. It’s annoying. In fact, given the last quest (steal necklace) only gives 5 valor and 2 charms, it’s not even worth doing time-wise.

    The keys also drop once per week guaranteed if you’re killing at least a few rares or doing at least a few dailies – then there’s a small chance to get a second per week but it’s very unlikely. So expect to have one treasure run per week, in effect, like a raid lockout.

    • July 31, 2013 11:10 am

      Funnily enough, I wrote that after doing two runs in a row from two keys that dropped: one from a rare and one from my weekly chest. I left the instance feeling a bit cheated, as in the second room I twice got caught by enemies I didn’t see, and in one of those cases burned the crap out of one of them only to find a second enemy had seemingly spawned out of nowhere and I was apparently fighting it already.

      I’ve felt a bit annoyed at shaman class recently, actually, because it feels very random in its success; I rely on procs of something I have virtually no control over, and when I don’t get those procs, even “easy” boss fights (1.7 or so mil hp on the necklace dude at the end of the chain) become tediously long. That coupled with a lack of reliable CC – since hex has a nasty cooldown – had made me think hard about using that as a raiding toon, unless, of course, I switch to heals, in which case I suspect it’d be fine.

      At any rate, thanks for the comment!

  2. August 1, 2013 11:24 am

    You were quite lucky, then, in terms of keys!

    I usually just stay in the first room and open tons of chests unless I’m going for an achievement – that’s the best way to get lots of Elder Charms. Can easily get 15+.

    Elemental shaman are extremely powerful on a lot of raid fights like now – Chain Lightning is amazing and so are the healing cooldowns they bring (either Healing Tide or Ancestral Guidance). Plus you bring Spell Haste, 10% spellpower, 3000 Mastery, and use a rare armor type – they’re very much in demand. I can’t really speak to the procs as I haven’t played one, but I haven’t heard ours complain about it.

    P.S. You can add Battletag Balkoth#1847 if you want to do heroic scenarios or old raids or something if you want.

    • Tiggi permalink
      August 1, 2013 7:49 pm

      Your doing the instance wrong which is hard because there’s no wrong way to do it lol. Think of it more like this your just there to get free loot don’t go in expecting to get such and such take your time learn where chests are and don’t worry that your doing it wrong unless your going for a specific achivment. Most videos are a out how to do a specific goal and there are lots and there’s no way to do them all in one run. About this guild I’ve been reading your blog what type of culture are you looking for? We know you want part ore raiders but web at other things do you want from the people in it.

  3. August 1, 2013 7:48 pm

    The Thunder Trove is (almost completely) separate from the gear grind, which I took as a cue to explore at my own pace, bit by bit, concentrating on mapping the place in my head rather than scrambling for every chest. It’s all very old-school Zelda-esque. 🙂

    When you reach exalted with the Island faction they will sell you keys which let you open the big doors. (There might be another way, but I haven’t found it yet.)

Leave a Reply

