Skip to content

Blessings and Curses

September 22, 2012

Dear Reader,

So in case my complete lack of discussing the new patch didn’t reveal them, I figured I’d post today on my WoW issues.  I haven’t been on to WoW since a week or so before 5.0.  I had updated my WoW client and was ready to hop on and check things out, but GW2 was taking precedence for the time being.  Then, when I had some time and was looking to play, my computer died.

I won’t go into great detail about what happened, but suffice it say it started blue screening.  I figured it was the new Nvidia driver I’d installed, so I rolled back to the previous one, but it continued to blue screen.  I wiped out potential problems one at a time to no avail.  Finally, I engaged THE FINAL SOLUTION and formatted the hard drive and reinstalled windows.  It bluescreened on startup.

So it seemed to be a hardware problem.  I’ve installed upgraded components to computers and know my way around hardware to some minimal extent, but I didn’t want to play musical components, spending more and more money to MAYBE find the problem, so I said the hell with it and bought a new computer.

Perhaps you’ve heard the saying “You shouldn’t shop for groceries when you’re hungry.”  Well, you shouldn’t shop for computers when you’ve spent 72 hours trying to fix one.  All I could think was how tired I was of dealing with computer problems, so I may or may not have made a logical purchase.  Regardless, the computer is, as they say, in the mail.

So in the meantime I’ve been playing on my wife’s work laptop.  It’s a decent machine, and with it all plugged in to my peripherals the overall gaming experience is little changed.  But it won’t run WoW.  I used to play WoW, but since 5.0, the game crashes during the post-character selection loading screen every time.  If I hadn’t just bashed my head against a brick wall dealing with my old computer, I’d just figure out the problem, but I’m tired of that, so I haven’t seen the pre-release stuff, and with the release right around the corner, I doubt I’ll get to experience it.

Which may be a blessing or a curse, from what I hear.  I’m moderately interested in the new character mechanics, but like most old men, I’m getting tired of the constant change and kind of liked the way things were.  I’m not necessarily to primed to relearn the game for the fifth time, I guess.  On top of that, there’s been a lot of back and forth about the story telling, which has been a great criticism of mine in some recent MMOs and expansions, so I’m not sure I’d want to subject myself to that yet again.

Still, there are things left unfinished.  I’ve not missed a preirelease event – ever – and don’t really want to miss this one, no matter how bad it may have been.  Also, Navi and I have been trying to meet up for about a month now to no avail so I could be a part of one of her Navispams.  For that, I’m truly sorry; hopefully once the new computer gets here, I’ll be able to.

And, if I’m completely honest with myself, I do want to see the changes.  I do want to see the story, even if it is badly done.  I am after all a WoW blogger, and missing out on the new content makes me feel self-excluded.  I guess I’m just not sure where I fully stand.

Either way, when the new computer gets here, I’ll make a decision.  Until then, thoughts?  Is it worth it?  Should I worry?

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and torn)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Krel permalink
    September 22, 2012 8:54 am

    Assuming you’re talking about the Theramore scenario, even if you miss it now you’ll be able to run it at 90 anyway. It’s not like missing the plague, for example. It is fun though, especially to see how different groups tackle it. I really like the scenario concept, I am looking forward to more of them. As a boomkin I generally am doing about 75% dps and 25% heals, which is actually a great deal of fun for me.

    • September 24, 2012 2:11 pm

      Maybe I’ll give it a look after a few months. Right now my plate’s quite full with Secret World, Guilds Wars 2, Torchlight 2 available, and Borderlands 2 waiting to go on sale.
      More likely, I’ll start playing again when my wife does, but we’ll see.

  2. Beshara permalink
    September 22, 2012 11:52 am

    I have to say I was scared of the changes at first. On my priest I love the new changes. The playstyle hasn’t really changed more than it would have if they kept the old system, I think. All the basics of the specs that came with the old talents are now built into the specializations, and the new talents are more for additional flavor. Certain old talents are now available to all spec via the new talent tree, but the feel of each spec is still preserved.

    As holy, I feel my healing is the same playstyle as before, with a few new tweaks that I love. Shadow has had its mastery redone, and I think it feels more fluid than before. Plus now I can cast some heal spells while still in shadow, although I no longer has access to the main heal spells anymore. I consider that a good thing, though others may not like it. Disc seems like it’s a more cooldown type of playstyle, but I haven’t messed with it since the change. I have preferred holy since Cata, and am enjoying that the mana regen issues seem to be fixed (I hope).

    Some classes seem like they have been completely overhauled. The warlock has definately changed, and i think the mage class has changed a lot as well. Not sure which classes you enjoy playing the most, so what changed for you may vary.

    I have found that healing tanks shortly after the changes was a challenge. Every tank went to the “active mitigation” playstyle that DKs already had. Blizzard still seems to be tweaking it for different classes, and non DK tanks are still getting used to it.

    I think missing the Theramore scenario at 85 isn’t a bad thing. I think a lot of the issues people are having is because of this scenario. It is supposed to be a preview, and I hope blizzard will fix the intro problem with the level 90 ones.

    The story issues I have deal with Garrosh. Blizzard put a lot of effort to make him seem like a leader who was learning the right lessons to be a better leader, and now they are throwing all that out the window. That and there was no intro to the scenario to set the scene.

    I believe that Mists deserves a chance. The new content sounds like a lot of effort has been put into it, and there sounds like there will be more ways to play than before, easy and challenging.

    • September 24, 2012 2:15 pm

      Yes, the 3.0 to 4.0 “let’s make healing undesirable” change made me abandon my druid, and I’m afraid the 4.0 to 5.0 “let’s make tanking undesirable” change will drive me from my paladin. Of course, healing became perfectly fine by the end of Cata, and I’m sure tanking will by the end of Mists, but still – Blizzard needs to learn it’s far better to start with little and give more and more as time passes than it is to give more and more and then take away. I liked a talent point per level. I liked talent trees. Stop taking away what I like and promising I’ll like the next thing just as much. I haven’t, so far.

      Yes, the Garrosh thing is bizarre. Dropping nukes is about as dishonorable an act as I can think, so I can’t really reconcile that with the character we know. I suspect he’s being manipulated (again, which makes him stupid, which doesn’t mesh with the tactical mastermind of Wrath).

      I’ll likely give Mists a chance, I’m just not sure when. Later, rather than sooner, I’d bet.

      Thanks for the comment!

  3. September 24, 2012 9:00 am

    You aren’t missing anything lore-wise with the Theramore scenario, unfortunately they left all the lore in the new novel. The only thing you’ll miss out on is the tabard/mana bomb reward for doing it before the expansion hits, which will not be available when you run the scenario at 90.

    I’m still trying to wrap my head around the some of the changes made to the mechanics and talents, but overall it seems easy enough to manage. It shouldn’t take too long to get comfortable again.

    • September 24, 2012 2:17 pm

      Tabards! That’s the kind of thing I want, though! I haven’t missed a tabard for quite a long time, and the idea of missing one now, well…
      honestly it doesn’t bother me as much as it would have in the past, which is why I think I’m getting over WoW as a whole. That doesn’t mean I won’t give it a try, just that some of religious zealotry might have cooled off a bit. Finally.

      Thanks for the comment!

  4. Mike permalink
    September 24, 2012 9:40 am

    I’m more or less on the same fence, but have decided to hold off on purchasing Mists until I’m ready for a break from GW2. I’ve got a friend that plays it, his reception was initially very positive, but has since cooled as we’ve come to the final hour so to speak.

    If nothing else, Mists will provide a month of content that I can participate in on some of my old characters – and it’ll be nice to level them again. But at the end of the day – every time I log into WoW I’m reminded by all of the reasons I stopped playing to beging with. My segments between burn out get shorter and shorter.

    • September 24, 2012 2:18 pm

      Yeah, GW2 + TSW + Torchlight 2 + Borderlands 2 = not a lot of free time. I’ll probably experience it like you suggest: a month of contact with a character or two.
      Thanks for the comment!

  5. JD Kenada permalink
    September 24, 2012 3:59 pm

    I had pretty much the same issue, but for me it was a Linux compatability issuewith Patch 5.0. I can’t offer much help, as I switched back to Win7 OS and it was smooth sailing again. Hopefully you’ll have better luck than I did in finding an answer from the forums.

    As others have said, you missed nothing with the Fall of Theramore as it isn’t even that. It’s literally the “fight some Horde after the bomb that hit Theramore.” I would wait and see what folks are saying about Mists by Winter Veil. In fact, I might have to write a post about that myself…

Leave a Reply

