Skip to content

On Another Note – A Big Boardgame SALE!

May 6, 2012

Dear Reader,

A worthy fundraiser  has come to my attention through my local gaming group, Decatur Gamers, and unlike the Mythic scam of Kickstarter, this one is both important to my community and completely legitimate.  A locally based online board game store is going out of business, as they’ve decided to internationally adopt a child.  They’re liquidating their stock at very cut prices to raise funds for the adoption.  If you live near where I live – Decatur, Illinois – you can even get the games without paying shipping (by physically picking them up), but I believe the prices are so low that the games will still be significantly cheaper even if you’re paying shipping inside the U.S. (and maybe Canada; I don’t know what it costs to ship things up there).

Here’s an example of the price cut.  Robo Rally, a “relatively” new game, cost me 50 bucks at PAX, which “included” taxes, so that was in and of itself a “cut” price.  They’re selling the game for 30.

On top of the extremely beneficial pricing for gamers and the very well stocked (while supplies last) store, you an also feel a little good that you’re sort of donating the money to a charitable cause.  The store’s web page has become a story of their adoption, full with photos of the family and the soon-to-be adopted little girl.  Even if you don’t plan on buying anything (though if you’re interested in a board game, there’s really no reason to), I urge you to read their story and perhaps pass it on to people you know who might be interested (as I am doing now).

To my European readers, I’m sorry that the sales’ offers are of little value to you, but I hope you can still take joy from their story!

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and hoping)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Dave permalink
    June 26, 2012 8:58 am

    Could you elaborate on “the Mythic scam of Kickstarter”?

  2. June 26, 2012 3:19 pm

    As I was looking at the referring sites to our blog, I noticed your blog, Stubborn. I would like to offer a heart-felt thank you. We have been overwhelmed with the generosity of others throughout this process and would not have met our phase 1 target. So, thank you!

    • June 26, 2012 5:45 pm

      You’re quite welcome. My reference came from Decatur Gamers, so they deserve a majority of the credit, to be honest. I’m not sure if you got any business through my site or not, but I wanted at least to get your story out there to see if it would gain further traction. At any rate, congratulations on meeting your stage 1 goals, and best of luck meeting stage 2!

Leave a Reply

