Skip to content

A Fitting End

April 16, 2012

Dear Reader,

Let me first warn you that this post concerns the end of my Star Wars time, which means some spoilers to the end of the Jedi Knight class chain.  If that doesn’t concern you, read on!

My wife was out of town this weekend but my NY buddy had come to visit after PAX.  Since it was the two of us, we decided to mop up his class quest chain since he’s a neurotic completionist and simply can’t walk away from a game and leave it unfinished, even if it’s a terrible game (I don’t mean Star Wars is terrible; it’s not, but there have been others, such as Two Worlds 2).  I had no interest in finishing my own class quest because I honestly was checked out of this game around level 25 (after the Barrager Key incident).  We were already mostly done on Corellia, so we headed there and moved forward.  He had to stop some lasers or something, which sure enough he did.  I doubt he even needed my help, but I guess it went faster since there were only two of us and we didn’t incur the 3 player penalty.

As we finished Corellia, he thought he was done, though I had repeatedly told him that was not the case.  Sure enough, he had to go to his holoterminal where he got the mission to go kill the Emperor.

Really, I should stop there.  That quest, in and of itself, should be ridiculous enough that I don’t need to go on.  Even Luke Skywalker couldn’t kill the Emperor, and he had, you know, actual Jedi training, as opposed to 50 levels of running around and solving other people’s problems.  Also, the last time my buddy went to kill the Emperor, he was captured and turned into a bad guy – without any choice or input – for an indeterminate amount of time – without having actually done anything really bad anyway – so really it was just a cornucopia of bad storytelling.  Anyway, we were seeing it through (though I was promised it’d be done in one hour and we were already going into hour 3 at this point), so off we went to Dromund Kaas.

It was pretty much a police action there, too.  There was some really nice scenery leading up to the Emperor’s palace, but there wasn’t a thing that was remotely challenging.  When we approached the Emperor, I was actually looking forward to whatever climactic ending was coming.  There was some talking, of course, and then… we killed the Emperor.  In a few seconds.  It was ridiculous.

So my buddy is more powerful than the Emperor.

We worked our way back to his ship – I couldn’t fly my own here as it said Dromund Kaas was invalid, but since I could fly on my buddy’s ship, it was no problem.  He boarded and I boarded after him to find the cutscene already started.  There was some hurrahs and whatnot, and he had a choice of two custom items – with 2 green and 1 blue enhancement each – for the LAST QUEST IN THE GAME they couldn’t even fill it with blues – or a purple box, which he took, since he’s got a gambling addiction.  In the box was a purple enhancement… with willpower on it.  The culmination of his story line was that he was given something for my character.

It doesn’t end there, though.  As his cutscene ended, he ran to the bridge and flew back to the Republic Fleet.  Only, I wasn’t on his ship any more.  I was on an empty ship, with no usable consoles.  I was able to go back out to Dromund Kaas, but only into a foyer area between the ship exit and his instance start.  I could then re-enter the empty ship, but I still couldn’t fly it away.

And my fleet pass was on cooldown, because I used it to get back to the Republic Fleet so we could go kill the Emperor.

You may remember that I was told by the custserv rep that my toon was going to be transported to my homeworld, Dromund Kaas, at the end of the last “stuck in a foyer” debacle.  Well, I guess I should have given that guy more credit.  HE HAD FORETOLD THE FUTURE, weeks later, and since my account is running out in a few hours, I have no intention of moving my toon off of that planet.  He’ll stay there, a relic of Bioware’s incredibly bad party instance design, stuck for all eternity on the wrong capital planet, serving as the most fitting end to a mediocre game that I ever played.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (foyer connoisseur)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2012 10:59 am

    You know … I’m really enjoying ToR and having a great time in it despite some minor issues, so I *really* wanted to be upset that you don’t feel the same way … but between your writing style and me having read your previous story with the whole fleet pass on cooldown fiasco, that final paragraph has me literally chuckling out loud at my desk. I don’t think I will ever pass through the Dromund Kaas spaceport again without thinking about your toon stuck there forever.

    • April 16, 2012 11:31 am

      Keep the memory alive!
      Seriously, though, I’m getting the feeling (as is my buddy) that our dissatisfaction has far more to do with us than with the games. Between having written on it myself, having just reread a Theory of Fun by Koster, and Tobold’s recent piece on it, I’m relatively sure that it’s simply that the games have nothing more to teach us. We’ve – as arrogant as it sounds – mastered the roles provided to us by virtually every MMO (at least to the best of our capabilities based on our age and willingness to commit), so I don’t necessarily think that Star Wars was to blame. There were a lot of design decisions I didn’t like, but that’s been true for basically every game I’ve ever played. I feel like Star Wars was a solid addition to the genre, but I also feel like it didn’t do enough to make itself unique.
      Thanks for the comment!

  2. Krel permalink
    April 16, 2012 2:36 pm

    You lasted a lot longer than I did. 🙂

    • April 16, 2012 3:49 pm

      Yes and no; I lasted only a result of my wife and my friend’s insistence on finishing. I actually did a tally recently and realized that I had not “finished” an MMO since WoW. LotRO I gave up right as the Mirkwood Xpac came out, but didn’t level through that expansion. Fallen Earth, Rift, and Star Trek I all quit about halfway through. DDO I dropped after 10 or 11 levels, when 16 was the cap. The other various games I played I never made it through. That realization lent a lot of weight to the argument that it’s me, not the games, as it’s hard to believe that none of them are worth my time.

  3. SFOtter permalink
    April 16, 2012 4:38 pm

    Ummm…. Emergency Fleet Pass. Check it out. If you’re above level 16 you have the ability to teleport to your fleet every 18 hours.

    • April 16, 2012 4:54 pm

      Do you work for Bioware’s custserv? No, I’m only joking. My fleet pass was on cooldown, as mentioned in my post. Can’t quick travel, can’t fleet pass, can’t get out on my own. Same as last time (;

  4. April 17, 2012 1:30 am

    Too late now, but should have bought a bunch of the fleet passes from the Security key vendor. No cooldown on those, just costs 1000 each.

Leave a Reply

