Skip to content

Table Scraps

April 2, 2012

Dear Reader,

I have no big topic of discussion for you today, I’m afraid, but instead several small tidbits of information for digestion over the next week.  Therein lies the first; I’m going out of town over Easter weekend, so I won’t be posting again at least until next Monday and perhaps not until next Wednesday.  I’m sorry to disappoint (I can imagine all of you dear readers crying yourselves to sleep tonight), but I’m getting a lot of papers, projects, and whatnot in and I won’t have a weekend to grade them, so I’ve got to knuckle down right now.

Secondly, I have received something extraordinary in the mail.  As some of you are well aware, Ferrel of Epic Slant has published his second (I think, maybe more) book.  I’d write his real name instead of Ferrel, but his surname defies spelling, so Ferrel will have to do.  I found the package on my front porch a little more than a week ago.  Now, I was a proponent for his Kickstarter campaign, but I honestly didn’t pay much attention to what all I’d be getting.  I found to my great surprise not only a hardback copy (which I was aware I’d be getting) of his new book, but a copy of his previous book, a print of the cover art, and a bracelet which I, as an old man, will never wear, but I believe my wife will at PAX (if not, I bet I can get my buddy to wear it if it will fit around his fat wrist).

In the intermediate time, I have begun to dive into the book, but in preparation for teaching Koster’s A Theory of Fun and Foer’s Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, I haven’t had as much time over the last week as I’d hoped.  When I do complete it, you can expect a full and fair book review here.  Here’s a preview: I’ve greatly enjoyed what parts I’ve read, a discussion so far of the raiding “generations” and how they should be handled, and I’m looking forward to digging in to the rest of the book as well as meeting the author himself.

That leads me to the third piece of information.  I’m headed to PAX East this weekend; that’s where I’m going that’s “out of town.”  I know Ferrel’s attending, most likely to showcase his excellent wares (maybe not; I’m only guessing).  If anyone else will be there and wishes to meet up with me, my wife, my buddy, and, yes, my other buddy (the leveling team back together again!), send me a message and we’ll figure something out.  I’ve heard that meeting other people in the community is a big impetus to attending these events, but since I’m a bit of a hermit and can be a bit of a crab when I’m out of my shell (man – three in a row), I’m a bit nervous about such meetings.  Still, I’ve heard they’re a lot of fun and definitely want to try to pretend to be social, and besides, I’d regret not meeting some of you if you were there, so please, if you will be, drop me a line.

PAX will also give me the opportunity to let all of you know about some upcoming games, as many of our “future” MMOs are going to be heavily featured with playable demos.  I look forward to writing to you about them, though I hope what I have to say isn’t just “It’s WoW, but in space,” or, “It’s WoW, but on Earth.”  I hope to see some real creativity, ingenuity, and original design – more than I’ve seen recently, at any rate.  Then again, maybe that’s just my age talking.

Lastly, on the note of future MMOs, I finally got my Mists of Pandaria Beat invitation.  I’m torn about it.  I’ve enjoyed the betas I played in (all of one – Star Wars), but to be honest, there’s a part of me that doesn’t want to know.  Part of me is screaming stay away, and I wonder if it’s because once I open that door, that’s it.  I don’t think WoW’s going to have anything else for me – ever.  I’ve been tenuously holding on for some time now.  I recently actually went back to continue the 10×85 challenge that so badly stalled out after 8 toons.  I knocked out another 2 levels on my  hunter, thinking I may still be able to pull it off… but who knows.  I think if I spoil MoP for myself, I may not go back at all.  I’ve read a few of the other reviews already out there, and they’re mostly positive, but that’s not my worry, really.  It’s not about Pandaria being bad, it’s more about Pandaria being the end.  Anyone else feeling that way?

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and shortly absent)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2012 11:19 am

    You’re going to PAX? I hate you. Hate, with a capital 8. 🙂

    Have a great time!

    • April 16, 2012 10:33 am

      Oh, I did. It was a lot of fun. Lot of personality there. Maybe sometime in the future you can bring the boy and begin the deeper indoctrination.

  2. April 13, 2012 1:00 am

    I’m ecstatic for Mists to arrive because I see it as a another beginning. Sadly many people don’t share my level of passion for WoW and keep quitting between expansions, so I’m most looking forward to everyone else being excited about the game again.

    Go play a Monk. They are awesome. =)

    • April 16, 2012 10:31 am

      I almost certainly will be playing a monk. I’m hoping, really really hoping, that it is a new beginning, but I also have a ball of hot lead in my stomach about whether or not it will be. I truly hope so. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

