Skip to content

Revisiting Values

December 5, 2011

Dear Reader,

So with the introduction of the 4.3 content, I’ve had to check some of my WoW values against some of my WoW burnout.  My usual six-month or so cycle of vacationing to another MMO came and went without me choosing another MMO to stay with; you may remember the “experimentation” period where I tried many of the well-reviewed F2P models out there.  I also have played a few co-op games with my buddy (which I will review later this week), which all means I never really took a break.

The release of the new content creates some issues, too, because I don’t want to end up even further behind in gear; for god’s sake, I’m raiding Deathwing’s raid in a blue helmet and shoulders because I didn’t want to grind ZA/ZG for a teeny-tiny upgrade and the few times I finished BWD, the paladin token didn’t drop.  The new dungeons have very nice hats and shoulderpads in them, but I won’t grind those, either, and I haven’t been blessed with getting either yet.

I am “grinding” valor, though at this point it doesn’t seem that way.  With your choice of any random for equal rewards, Blizzard addressed my biggest concern with the valor grind, which pleases me.  I did cap out last week and plan to for the next few weeks, so hopefully my pieces will drop in that time, too.

Quite a few bloggers have pointed out that gear resets are casual unfriendly, and I tend to agree.  I skipped the raiding in Tier 11 in favor of taking a break from WoW, and when I came back in T12, I was woefully behind in gear.  Even now, I’m stuck with a feeling of obligation – of “should be” again because I don’t want to fall further behind, but at the same time I want to do Dragon Soul, so I’m a bit torn.  I don’t like feeling obligated to play, especially the same dungeons over and over (though like I said Blizz mostly fixed that), but I want to play in the end game.

Sid Meier’s now often-quoted saying goes (I’m not sure if this is a direct quote) that a game should be made up of a “series of meaningful choices.”  I don’t feel a meaningful choice here.  Sure, speaking for the Part-Core Gamers, we could go raid Firelands or Tier 11 content.  We could go do Darkmoon Faire until we’re bored.  We could do other things, but that’s not why we play.  We’re bursting with talent, knowledge, and opportunity; we want to play the end game, and thus we must get geared, but then that’s not really a meaningful choice any more.

This doesn’t surprise me, though.  I’ve said for a while now that WoW is not a game.  It’s transcended (or descended, perhaps) that into a hobby.  The primary difference I see between the two is the preparation time outside of the core element.  You might have a hobby that’s gameless, and then your core element might just be showing off your pieces or selling your crafts, but let’s take hobby gaming as an example.  To hobby game (like Warhammer or Necromunda (look it up) or something), you have to prepare your team, buy your models, potentially paint your models, make your terrain, etc.  When all that’s done, you game.  In WoW, you may be doing all these little chores within the digital world, but you’re still preparing for the core element – PvP or raiding or whatever avenue you pursue – with research, gearing choices, spec choices, material farming, expendables crafting, and so on.

So if WoW’s not a game, but a hobby around a game, then maybe what Part-Core Gamers need to accept is the preparation time – the one thing we don’t have, in which case there’s a slew of clichés to address us: If you can’t stand the heat, get out of the kitchen.  It’s time to nut up or shut up.  A stitch in time saves nine.  L2P noob.

So that’s about that, then.  If we really want to play in the end game, we just have to do our chores, first.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and his alter ego, FatCyborg the Sith Knight, with whom he’s arguing.  Don’t worry, FatCyborg won’t be staying.)

P.S. Regarding the Morchok issue (i.e. me being 1 shotted with 300k hits), I found a forum today (http://us.battle.net/wow/en/forum/topic/3657279829) that described the same problem I was having with a WoL link (http://www.worldoflogs.com/reports/30ktrass82nykdjj/deaths/?s=4917&e=5352) that seems to back up my suspicions.  Anything I’m overlooking?  Thoughts?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2011 11:22 am

    I think you’re making this more difficult on yourself than it has to be. If you want to be a casual player, you have to think like one. Getting ilevel 372 to use the LFR is a matter of plinking at the new heroics and running some battlegrounds for 2-3 weeks, and perhaps even buying a cheap boe or two off the AH.

    Nothing is going to change in three weeks. All the content will still be there, people will still be doing it. You won’t be left behind. Look, I mean this in the nicest of ways, but you’re getting twitchy about not having all your gear out of the new heroics “yet”, and they’ve been out for less than a week. You’re creating a false sense of urgency! (Hey, I’ve been there.)

    Just relax, do the content when it makes you happy, and don’t worry about it. You’ll be geared up and killing Deathwing in LFR within six weeks even at a super casual pace.

    • December 5, 2011 3:47 pm

      Yeah, I’m sure you’re right. I know a lot of my WoW reactions are heavily influenced by my WoW baggage, and sometimes it leads to nerves where no nerves are needed.

      Still, when I say left behind, I mean from more of a patch to patch thing, like how I missed all of Ulduar and ToC and had to scramble to get ready for ICC. Additionally, I don’t want to kill Deathwing in LFR, I want to kill Deathwing legitimately with my guild (not saying LFR isn’t legitmate; I haven’t been in there to gauge the difficulty).

      As usual, it’s more an issue of time with me than anything else. Still, thanks for the support!

  2. Newtonium permalink
    December 5, 2011 3:31 pm

    I know that you are saying the 5 mans are gindy while you wait for specific drops, but honestly with the quests and their rewards, you don’t even need the drops, you just need to run each one once. My wife went from 356 to 372 from the quest rewards, 1 boe cloak drop, 1 piece of justice point gear, and I think 1 AH bought pvp piece.

    • December 5, 2011 3:50 pm

      Unfortunately, there’s zero paladin tank quest rewards from the new quests. None. There’s one that MIGHT be argued that it is, but it’s got crit on it, so I don’t think so (a pair of gloves, I believe). Plate tanks got screwed. My biggest gear issue at the moment are my blue helmet and shoulders, which are making my “worn” ilevel screwily low, making it hard to hop above 370. My off-spec pieces, holy plate, are in the same boat with blue shoulders and hats. I could “cheat” and pick up the PvP stuff, but eh; I’m not really in that much of a hurry.

      Thanks for the support, though!

Leave a Reply

