Skip to content

Pilgrim’s Bounty Break

November 21, 2011

Dear Reader,

Just a quick update today to let you all know I’ll be absent for about a week.  I’ll be back the Monday after Pilgrim’s Bo… uh… Thanksgiving.  So that this correspondence isn’t a total bust, here’s a few tidbits of updates for you!

10×85

DK at 84, heading to Twilight Highlands as I type this.  He’ll be 85 before I stop (playing, not typing…).  That puts me 8 of 10, with my 56 hunter and 33 warrior still to go.  It’s doable before Pandaria, I think, but I’ve got to knuckle down.  The DK dragged on, I think, because I burned myself out with power leveling the other toons.  After a nice break to various other games (Brink (ugh), Two Worlds 2 (ugh), DCUO (okay, but same as WoW, really), Oblivion (again), and Super Meat Boy (good lord I’m getting old), I’ve relaunched the initiative.  Any tips from other power levelers about how to make the last two more interesting?

Raiding

The team feels like it’s falling apart, but there’s glimmers of hope.  I couldn’t go last week due to RL conflicts, and in the end, there were no raids.  The 15/28 year old tank no showed both times, and the RL called the raid on Tuesday and couldn’t field a team to down Magmaw on Thursday, so things aren’t looking good.  On the up side, some of the “deserters” explained their hesitations to the RL, and it seems she was able to bring some of them back into the fold, so we’ll see.

The Most Important Update in this Correspondence

I mentioned about a month ago a book that was being self-published by Ferrel of Epic Slant, The Raider’s Companion.  The fund-raising drive is in the last few days, and they’re still a little short, but only a little.  The deal is, though, that it’s all or none.  He needs 500 more dollars in about 2 days now, which is only 1/6th of the whole amount.  It’s coming to the holiday season; make a donation for art, for literature, and for WoW.

Oblivion

Yes, Skyrim’s out, but having purchased so many games on sale and for cheap on Steam, I just can’t see paying 60 dollars for a game any more.  My buddy got Oblivion for 5 bucks after having disliked Morrowind for it’s somewhat direction-less (or, perhaps more accurately, ultra-directioned, since everywhere leads to adventure) game play, but I finally convinced him after liking the Bethesda Fallouts to give Oblivion a try.  He took to it well, and watching him (or rather hearing him over vent) play made me load up my old game, where I’m a stealth conjurer.  Nothing says fun like summoning a Daedroth and running for cover.  It turned out he was ahead of me in the quest line even though he was almost 10 levels behind me.  That says something about my play style, I think, and honestly is why I stopped.  I’m a completionist.  I want to do everything.  In games like that, it’s impossible.  Here’s a great comic from The Daily Blink that sums up what’s great about Bethesda.

Thanksgiving

I’ll be at home this Turkey Day, with my wife’s family coming in.  We’re preparing a big meal at home, as we have the past few years.  I’m a master of side dishes like buttery mashed potatoes, crisp garden salad (though really it’s a grocery salad), baked sweet potatoes (which are not the same thing as yams, so please stop using them interchangeably), and from-scratch biscuits, while my wife makes a delicious turkey.  Feel free to stop in, if you know where to look.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and thankful for all his readers.  Happy Thanksgiving, Americans, and have a great week, others!)

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2011 2:13 pm

    Have a good time 🙂

    • November 28, 2011 10:05 am

      I did, in fact, for the most part (despite the in-laws visiting, who are perfectly nice people but who grind my nerves from time to time). Thanks!

  2. November 22, 2011 7:48 am

    Enjoy your break!
    And even though a completionist mindset is probably hard work in Skyrim, you might wanna rethink not buying that one – it is so awesome, I tells you! 🙂

    • November 28, 2011 10:07 am

      I told my buddy as much, but it only made him rant about Bethesda never releasing co-op games. He’s right, too; they make what would probably be the best games to co-op in, but apparently there’s a developer there who’s staunchly opposed. I saw an article about it when I was researching a while ago – maybe for Fallout: New Vegas, but I don’t recall. He basically said that co-op is a waste of time in otherwise single player games. Then again, isn’t Rage co-op and Bethesda? I’ll have to check into it.

      Thanks!

  3. November 23, 2011 5:49 am

    Hey, stubborn, have you checked out BlogAzeroth.com? You should come join the community!

    – Jamin

    • November 28, 2011 10:04 am

      Actually I have, and am! But I wholeheartedly support you getting out there and letting people know about it. Thanks! (:

  4. November 27, 2011 3:18 am

    Hope you had a great Thanksgiving. The description of the food at the end of your post has made me wish I lived in the US 🙂

    • November 28, 2011 10:04 am

      Well of course you can cook that any time you want; Thanksgiving’s just a day that motivates us to do so.

Leave a Reply

