Skip to content

Myers-Briggs-Blizz Part 5: The Finale

October 10, 2011

Dear Reader,

To be honest, I’m glad that this is nearly over with. It’s been a lot of fun and very challenging (which are usually the same thing in the right quantities) to think about how each of the MBTs apply to WoW, but I’ve had a lot of other stuff going on in WoW and out that I want to talk about. At any rate, let’s mop up the rest of the extroverts – supervisor, provider, teacher, and fieldmarshal – and call it a day!

The Supervisor (ESTJ)

Supervisors are leaders, through and through. They want to make sure everything runs smoothly, mechanically even, and they’re willing to take up the reins to make sure they do. They defend tradition and dislike unnecessary change, though if the change is necessary to the survival of the system which they supervise, they’ll implement it with fervor. Supervisors appear cold and distant due to their stark honesty and formal attitude, but their loyalty and dedication to their systems are matched by none.

A supervisor player would likely be a guild leader. Though we might prefer a champion’s attitude, supervisors might make better leaders overall because of their formal and fair nature. They’d make sure the guild bank was well taken care of, that raids were properly scheduled and attended, that recruitment was done when needed, and that the rules were adhered to and not taken advantage of. Each of these would be a great boon to a guild, but what would be missing would be the vision that a champion puts forth of doing good. To a supervisor, motivating and encouraging might be a part of the system, but they’re means to an end, not something that should just be done out of kinship or humanity.

In Azeroth, Varian Wrynn stands out as a supervisor. Though he’s been changed – made darker – by his time in the arena and his donning of the Lo’gash personality, he’s still got the system at heart. He worked against the house of Nobles when they were trying to cheat the Stonemasons (Van Cleef) out of their pay, but he was unable to save the system due to the nobles’ power, which led to riots and the death of his wife. He’s a full believer in justice, though when Lo’gash is in charge he’s hot headed about it, even sparing the life of Moira after taking Anduin hostage because she is the rightful heir to the Bronzebeard throne. To Varian, the system is more important than anything, which is why when it seemed that Thrall had broken the treaty and attacked Ashenvale, he was so war ready; if treaties can’t uphold the system, then war will.

The Provider (ESFJ)

Providers care; they care about the people around them, their coworkers, their bosses, their family and friends. Providers want, more than anything, to be able to collect and share resources – goods, food, information – in their community to strengthen the ties within. They work hard to make sure society turns slowly and safely like a well-oiled machine in which they are their oil. Providers make sure that those around them have what they need, be it creature comforts, information, or just a friendly conversation. The guy you meet in a random pug who chit chats in a friendly way about this and that, making sure to provide buffs or consumables that they can make may well be a provider.

Elsewhere in the game, providers are most likely to appear loyally wedged in a guild. They work to smooth over any guild tension, to announce news of guild achievements, or to manage the guild bank in a way that makes sure everyone has what they need. Providers may check people’s gear to see if they need any gems or enchants, and then offer them if the bank or the character can provide it himself. The guy in your guild who offers you gems right after you get a new piece in a raid may well be a provider.

Tyrande Whisperwind exemplifies the provider role. She is completely devoted to her “boss,” Elune, and she is devoted and loyal to her mate, Malfurion. She cares for all her people as well as the people of the Alliance, providing Sentinels for defense when necessary. She cares, too, for the Horde, doing trade with Orgrimmar in Ashenvale to provide them with the materials they needed to live in the harsh lands of Durotar. More than anything, she wants to provide for creatures of Azeroth, be they animal or humanoid.

The Teacher (ENFJ)

If I could choose my own MBT, it would be a teacher; I’m a teacher in so many other ways, it bothers me a bit that I don’t test this way. To a teacher, the greatest good is to help others self-actualize, to reach their greatest potential. Teachers motivate others towards shared goals, convincing all that everyone has the potential to succeed. They communicate clearly and effectively and have a high tolerance for failure as long as learning comes from it. Teachers can be frustrated greatly by apathy, a force they simply can’t understand since it’s so antithetical to the way their mind works. They work hard to ensure that their word is unbroken, and while they like to plan, they’re also extremely good at thinking on their feet.

A teacher in WoW would make a great raid leader, though not perhaps the most viciously effective one. A typical guild with moderate progression (i.e. a part-core guild) would desire a teacher in control, as they could improvise, evaluate, console, motivate, and restructure the raids as necessary. A teacher would keep a cool head after a hard night of raiding, motivating even then for the next raid as they don’t want discouragement and apathy to set in. The guy in your guild who says something like, “Don’t worry, guys, we’ll get the defiles down and kill him next time,” may very well be a teacher (and,
in fact, I think the GM/raid leader of my last guild probably fits this mold).

Within the WoW fiction, Eitrigg is perhaps one of the most important teachers. He molded the Horde for the first two wars until he learned of Gul’dan’s deal with Kil’jaeden. He then left, eventually teaching Tirion Fordring about the honor of the Horde, and that they were not all beasts as the Alliance had assumed. He then returns to Thrall’s side after the old Horde is redeemed to shamanism, providing insight, wisdom, and perspective to Thrall and then Garrosh, the new leader. In each case, he bettered the people he met with his knowledge.

The Fieldmarshal (ENTJ)

If supervisors lead systems, then fieldmarshals lead people. A fieldmarshal devotes himself to the smooth operation of groups. Unlike a supervisor, they have no love of tradition and will abandon it if it proves unworthy. Efficiency is the hallmark of the fieldmarshal, who wants to reduce unnecessary redundancy or mess as much as possible. They want tasks to be accomplished as effectively as possible and will institute whatever measures are necessary to do so. They have little tolerance for ineffectiveness, foolishness, or constant screw-ups, which can make them appear to be intolerant slave drivers. At heart, though, they have the best of the group in mind, if not the best for each individual.

In WoW, a fieldmarshal would likely become a raid leader, as well, but of a very hardcore guild. Their intolerance for repeated failure and dedication to the raid instead of the individual would make it easy for them to replace “broken components” with fresh raiders who could get the job done. Their task-oriented nature would make it easy for them to assign healing, interrupts, and tanking duties and ensure that those duties were done via recount or raid logs. The guy in your raid who gets upset because the same person keeps failing to interrupt a boss mechanic and causing a wipe may be a fieldmarshal.

In WoW, Tirion Fordring embodies the fieldmarshal. He has repeatedly done things that upset the formal systems surrounding him, but in each case he was defending people within his true “organization,” servants of the light (Knights of the Silver Hand to be more specific, then the Argent Crusade). He was stripped of his power by Uther Lightbringer himself for “treason” when he protected an innocent orc (Eitrigg), but the light did not abandon him, showing that what he had done was right. He stood up against his accusers to show honor and honesty, trying to be a role model for those around him, and after his exile he worked to protect his organization still, even though it had abandoned him. After his son’s death, he vowed to recreate the Knights of the Silver Hand as the Argent Crusade, reintegrating as much of the Argent Dawn and Scarlet Crusade as he could.

Well, it’s been quite a journey, dear reader, totally around 7500 words. It’s been a real test of my WoW knowledge, research skills, and patience with myself as I try to word and reword the descriptions, but I’ve enjoyed it. I hope you did, too. Come Wednesday, we’ll be back to our normal programming (i.e. QQing and calling for moderation).

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and finished)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2011 11:00 am

    Thank you Stubborn. I’ve enjoyed this series a lot, and admired the amount of work that’s gone into it. Well done 🙂
    I’m just envisioning that thing now that they always do when you first learn your MBTI, and having all the WoW NPC extroverts at one table, and the introverts on the other.
    That could end in bloodshed 😀

    • October 11, 2011 6:22 pm

      I’m glad you liked it. I’d had it on the backburner for so long I was wondering if I’d ever get around to it, and when I finally did, it turned out to be a lot of fun.

      As for tables of MBTIs, I’ve never taken a formal one, so I have no idea what they do. I find the idea of separating the people interesting – did they tell you why the did that?

    • October 12, 2011 10:32 am

      I’ve been formally tested more times than I care to mention (not just MBTI) 🙂
      Basically they sometimes do 4 tests – one for each pairing. For the E/I one they seat all the introverts at one table and all the extroverts at another. The extroverts all start talking at once, and the introverts sit there silently.
      It just really illustrates the difference.

    • October 12, 2011 3:04 pm

      That’s both hilarious and weird; I can only imagine the social pressure and discomfort at the Introvert table, though if it’s for illustrative purposes I think that’s just fine.
      For some reason, your comments have really made me think about guild make up, about what you need to have a really good guild – not that I think there’s “requirements” or the like, just that I think certain combos could produce hypothetically better outcomes than others. I wonder what the compositions would look like…

  2. October 10, 2011 11:14 am

    Impressive series, Stubborn – I really enjoyed it!

    • October 11, 2011 6:23 pm

      I’m glad you did! Hopefully I can come up with another good idea like this one.

  3. Tracey permalink
    October 12, 2011 11:30 am

    Really nice series – I’m enjoying your thought process! Your examples of characteristic behavior were really helpful to me, since I’m pretty unfamiliar with the groupings. I took the test in high school, but I got dead ties in two scales, so I wound up as IXTX – not very helpful! Your description of the ISTJ Inspector just resonated, though.

    My office is planning to offer this test to everyone, and then do a ‘group up’ event afterward, with each type sent off to discuss. Should be interesting…

    • October 12, 2011 3:07 pm

      I was actually really surprised that my test from 7 years ago was identical to my current one; I feel like every time I read the descriptions that I fit better into other categories, though certainly see a common thread of “T” over “F” (probably J over P, too). I’m glad you enjoyed it, and it was a real pleasure writing it, even if it did start to wear thin by day five. Thanks for dropping by!

    • October 13, 2011 1:55 am

      I always test the same, although my F over T is only very slight. I think the difference will be because you tend to force yourself into a category that might not be the most comfortable for you? I mean.. most people I know are really surprised when they find out I’m an I not an E because apparently I come over very sociable – but what they don’t see is the enormous effort that takes me. Also, if you’re in a job where you _have_ to get things finished and _have_ to meet deadlines or someone’s life might depend on it, you might find you answer questions with more of a J when actually you’re a P.
      So the testing is subjective, and while you might end up with one result, it might be because you operate outside of your comfort zone?

    • October 13, 2011 5:49 pm

      I may be that I’m doing it to myself, but to be honest, I like being outside of just my “Inspector” role just fine. Last night in Firelands – my first time in their (and the guild as a whole’s first time, though some had been in there in pugs), I ended up taking a very leading role because I had done a lot of research that no one else had and had of course led a raid full of… casuals, I guess, though that isn’t really true since they raid two or three times a week. Play-for-funners? I’m not sure. Nice people who aren’t max efficiency.
      Anyway, that feels very extrovert to me. On top of that, I can be very forgiving about wipes; everyone makes mistakes, after all, especially early on in learning a boss encounter. That seems pretty F, too.
      I don’t know. I like the scale a lot, and the series was good, but I also think we’re all a little different depending on who we’re with. Maybe that’s a bigger factor in the results than we realize.

Leave a Reply

