Skip to content

Myers-Briggs-Blizz, Part 3

October 5, 2011

Dear Reader,

We continue today with the other half of the introverts, the crafters, composers, healers, and architects.  Before I go on, though, I want to put a call out for a link.  I remember recently seeing (somebody help me here) a new MMO player type indicator put up by a blogger (who I think is either in our little circle or one step from it) that had, I think, 7 dichotomies, including things like social v. solo, pvp v. pve, and so forth.  I wanted to link him the last few times, but it slipped my mind, and now I can’t find him (or her) any more.  Any thoughts?

At any rate, let’s continue.

Crafter (ISTP)

Crafters are the magicians of the hero cycle.  They can use whatever is at their disposal to solve problems.  They are frequently prodigies in their respective fields, generating the interest and respect of others.  They see holistic solutions to problems that may stymie more focused individuals.  The price, though, is often seclusion and an authoritative attitude that can create social awkwardness.

In WoW, we often see crafters as raid or role leaders.  While they may not be suited to lead an entire guild, they frequently excel at whatever role they’ve chosen, garnering the respect of their peers.  They are likely willing to help others, but may sometimes have trouble doing so if they come off too bluntly.  They are good at looking for alternative raid strategies when the raid is struggling with a particular encounter; they can look and see what’s available in the raid and work out a new solution.  The guy in your guild who outheals everyone all the time and is always willing to help another healer learn to be better –  but isn’t a braggart about it – may very well be a crafter.

For NPC Crafters, I turn to Garrosh.  He’s certainly got the authoritarian and blunt end of it down.  Additionally, he is a master strategist who used every available resource in the battle with the nightmare (Arthas), which is how he won honor and fame within the Horde.  While his youth adds a slew of problems to his success, I believe at heart he is an introvert, having been ashamed of his father’s actions for a long time, until Thrall awarded him leadership of the Horde for his actions.

Composer (ISFP)

Composers are a unifying part of our society.  They are well-spoken and intelligent, providing the perspective that’s often necessary to find a union between disparate parts.  They are very sensitive to the many moving parts around them and can identify which parts are operating well and which are out of sync.  They prefer not to take leadership roles because they believe that others should make their own decisions, but they can act as advisors that seek harmony between things.

Within WoW, composers are a key feature to harmonious guilds.  Composers are often the people who can first see where a problem lies, identifying who’s out of place or not up to par.  They can often detect personality conflicts before they arise.  Unfortunately, they often pass this information on to a higher authority, be it an officer or the GM, who may or may not handle the situation in the most effective manner.  The guy in your guild who asks you if you’re having a bad night before you’ve mentioned to anyone that you are, in fact, having a bad night, may be a composer.

In WoW’s universe, Hamuul Runetotem comes to mind as a composer.  He seeks harmony both with all things natural as well as between the warring factions.  When the Night Elves cut off trade to the Horde after the Northrend Victory, Hamuul organized a party of druids to try to negotiate a peaceful solution that would benefit all involved.  In dealing with Fandral, he seeks first to redeem him, but when that proves impossible, he knows that Fandral’s destruction is the only way to maintain balance.

Healer (INFP)

Healers are appropriately titled; they are the people who work selflessly for the benefit of all things good.  Healers are an extremely rare group of individuals, appearing in only about 1% of the population, and this extreme minority can often feel out of place due to the vast amounts of selfishness they see around them.  Healers are extremely dedicated to doing the right thing, but often question themselves and their motives as a result of their observations of others.  They sometimes operate so much on feeling, though, that they dismiss necessary facts; they know how they and others feel, but sometimes this causes them to misjudge what’s apparent to others.

A healer player would be a very rare WoW occurance, and it’s likely that many of us have never been guilded with a healer.  In a guild, a healer could be revealed by self-sacrificing behavior towards the common good.  They’d be willing to sit out raids that they’d prepared for or switch to other toons if it would benefit the raid composition.  They’d be fervently attached to a good guild, loyal in exchange for the guild’s fairness and goodness.  In a less trustworthy guild, they might feel extremely out of place and question their loyalty, eventually leaving.  The guy in your guild who’s always willing to do a little more for the raid or to take one for the team could be a healer.

Bolvar Fordragon exemplifies the healer role.  He was both overly loyal and somewhat blind to the facts while Lady Prestor acted as his advisor, and he made some mistakes as a result.  However, his loyalty proved worthwhile as Onyxia was revealed and destroyed, and he was made commander of the forces in Northrend.  We all know of his heroic end as he donned the Helm of Domination after Arthas was destroyed.  He knew that the Scourge would destroy Azeroth without a leader, and he volunteered to become damned to prevent it.

Architect (INTP)

Architects are scientists at heart and in thought.  They observe, identify, and categorize information, looking for trends and connections from which to draw new conclusions.  They look to reshape the world around them for the benefit of society at large, and they are sometimes willing to cause trouble to do so.  They innovate and engineer new technologies, but often require an intense isolation to do so.  They’re prone to seeming arrogant due to their overly-logical arguments, inability to be swayed by emotion or status, and their tendency to correct other people’s speech.

In the player base, architects could have a hard time finding their niche.  Every communication technology makes distance less important by sacrificing some of the communicative abilities of its users, and architects would suffer greatly as a result.  Both because of their desire to correct others for clear communication and because their motives and emotion would be harder to judge through voice-only or text, architects might be shunned by “friendlier” guilds.  However, in a place where they were valued, architects, could provide much.  Their analysis or raid logs, boss abilities, and player cooldown usage would provide valuable insight in raiding, and their ability to watch an enemy team and draw conclusions would be great for PvP strategy.   While I can’t know for sure, I suspect Gevlon is an architect.

The gnomes are an obvious choice for Architects, and I think both of the most famous gnomes fall into this type: Mekkatorque and Thermaplugg.  The main difference, I believe, is that one took a darker road than the other.  Thermaplugg was an extremely skilled inventor who had worked to reshape his destiny to become high tinker.  Instead, though, he was outmaneuvered by the more skilled Mekkatorque and essentially went bad.  He continued to devise plans and strategies to gain his ends, though the final outcome was probably not what he had in mind.

With our next correspondence, dear reader, we’ll be moving on to the extroverts.  I hope you’ve enjoyed what you’ve read so far, because there’s still two more days of it!

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and feeling bad for Thermaplugg; if he’d been crowned king, things would have been different for him)

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2011 10:40 am

    I’m an INFP. 🙂 I wanted to say, Stubborn, I haven’t commented but have been really enjoying this series. Back in January I actually started writing a post about this myself but I hadn’t intended to go so in-depth as you have done! (I didn’t steal your idea, and happily shelved it even further when I read that you were doing this!)

    When I was writing about it, I noted that Paragon had administered this test to its raiders – http://www.paragon.fi/blogs/personality-test-results-part-1 here’s some info about their demographics, I found it pretty interesting (and it was the impetus for my own desire to write about Myers-Briggs in a WoW context). Voss and I talk about types pretty much all the time, both in the context of our relationship, our friendships, and work things. I secretly have been “typewatching” my guild as a way of understanding how they learn, function and can work best together. An interesting shift in the Extrovert – Introvert ratios have lately lead to much more talk on Vent, actually, and we’ve had to ask some of our Es to tone it down a bit.

    • October 5, 2011 4:01 pm

      I’m glad you’re enjoying it so far, and even if you somehow had time-travel stolen my idea, that’s fine. Good bloggers borrow; great bloggers steal. Lord knows we’ve all taken ideas from one another to discuss from our own unique points of view, and I can’t imagine the blogging world without it.

      Another commentator mentioned the Paragon study, and I looked into it. I think it’s both fascinating and somewhat expected. Really, any high-end raiding guild is going to self-select for certain personality types, so while it’s very interesting to see the results of their survey, my guess is that it wouldn’t be radically different from any top-end raiding guild.

      I know exactly what you mean about vent chatter. As I worked my time through one of my formal guilds, we had a lot of extroverts at times, and the raid leader would have to to say “Clear vent!” It was very unusual for him to be demanding in that way, but he understood the need for clear communication. A lot of the extroverts eventually left the guild for greener pastures (or because they were basically told to in some cases, not that I disapproved of that method, though it did bite my butt later), so other times vent was a dead zone.

  2. October 5, 2011 10:42 am

    I am _so_ glad you said this “Healers are an extremely rare group of individuals, appearing in only about 1% of the population”. I always wondered why I was always the only INFP in a group when all the other types had 4 or 5 people. It explains a lot 😛

    and this “They’d be willing to sit out raids that they’d prepared for or switch to other toons if it would benefit the raid composition” Yes of course… wouldn’t everyone???

    I also do the raid log analysis, and am good at on the fly tactics.. but I do listen to my gut before facts 🙂

    It’s interesting though – I consider myself a very selfish person. Which rather conflicts with the behaviour of the Healer as outlined by you 🙂
    Although.. yes.. I can see myself stepping into the Lich King’s shoes to save the world :/

    /Also feeling for Thermaplugg 😛 But then.. what would’ve happened to Mekkatorque?? 😛

    • October 5, 2011 4:06 pm

      I’m glad that little fact cheered you up; to be honest, that’s one I took directly from Wikipedia as opposed to my own psych background.

      As for “wouldn’t most people? Unfortunately, I’ve not found that to be true. Many people may stay silent when the call goes out on vent, or they may change if they’re directly requested to, but I’ve never seen a lot of volunteers changing off their main toon. As a raid leader, I always took it upon myself first to do so (which is why I had three toons at various progression levels through Naxx), but sometimes even in a 25 person raid I’d have to twist arms to get a second priest for Razuvius. It could be quite frustrating, and towards the end of my time there, I was getting to the point of saying, “If someone won’t switch to help out the rest of us, there will be no raid.”

      You can see why I didn’t stay there long term, not that they were worried about the door hitting my butt when I left (;

  3. October 5, 2011 11:40 am

    I too am enjoying this series. You haven’t gotten to mine yet, so I’m interested to see how you interpret it. 🙂

    • October 5, 2011 4:07 pm

      I’m glad you’re enjoying it, and I now feel a little under pressure as to my performance. Who says a little professional stress is a bad thing? It’ll get me to ramp up my game, if nothing else. (;

      Thanks for the comment!

  4. Celendus permalink
    October 8, 2011 9:46 pm

    INTP here. I’ve always considered myself something of an advisor. I’ll lead when I am confident – I am a tank after all – but in larger groups I really like looking for the “key”, the way of looking at the problem that makes everything fall together – then telling someone more decisive than myself what I’ve found and helping them implement the solution.

    • October 10, 2011 8:59 am

      I feel more like an advisor than I do my actual type, ISTJ (the inspector). ISTJ makes sense with a lot of other things, but I certainly feel like you do. I wonder if being a tank forces us into leadership roles that we otherwise would avoid, which is certainly beneficial to our overall makeup as a person. I know I vastly prefer being a tank to a healer or dps in a dungeon because of the value of the role, though I sometimes wonder whether or not it’s more to do with how little input and decision making the other roles get or due to the fact that other tanks are so jerkish that I’d rather avoid that and just tank myself (present company excluded, I’m sure).

Leave a Reply

