Skip to content

Fess Parker is Jealous (look it up)

August 11, 2011

Dear Reader,

Well, my parents have been visiting for about a week, but they’re gone now.  While it’s nice (I guess) to see them from time to time, it’s far nicer to get back into my routine.  On top of their visit, I’ve been designing a new course at another college where I’ll be working part time (since all the full time stuff fell through).  I’m allowed to design the curriculum as long as it includes instruction on critical reading, writing, and thinking.  Basically, it’s an “Introduction to College Academics” course.  I’ve decided to focus on youth culture, games, and how we learn.  I’m using Koster’s Theory of Fun, McGonigal’s Reality is Broken, and Rose’s The Art of Immersion.  We’ll see how it goes.

At any rate, that’s why I’ve been missing for most of the last few weeks.  I’ve had a few hours here and there to play.  I’m still struggling through the lower end of the 75-79 bracket, but only just.  I’m 77, but hit a LONG STREAK of losses recently; I’m not sure why, but it seems my horde teammates have given up.  Of course, I know that’s not the case, but sometimes it feels that way.  Every day I hope it picks back up; today I had my first win in I think four days, so maybe it’s turning around.  It was a long AV that could have gone either way, but due to some good defense on my and a few other players’ parts, we were able to back cap at the last moment the two north horde towers, which set back the allies a bit, giving us the time we needed to atrophy their forces down.   We won not by killing Galv, but as one of the North bunkers fell; it was a long, hard-fought game, but those are really the best kind.

I’ve been grooming my hunter recently, too.  It was the first toon I bought heirloom gear for, and I didn’t know that the material (plate/mail, etc) scaled down, so I bought the leather items.  It worked out because I sent the stuff to my rogue, but now I need to get the hunter back on target.  I’m not sure why, if the stuff scales down anyway, they don’t just make one set of gear for each primary stat that automatically sets itself to the wearer’s armor skill. It wouldn’t do much, but it’d simplify some healing, casting, and agility gear.

Anyway, I luckily had a toon on the hunter’s server with a lot of JPs, and the rogue had a lot of Honor, so I was able to refit him – the hunter – with mail.  His name is DavyOrckett, which may be the best name I’ve come up with.  Along with the name, I rewrote the song.  Those of you unfamiliar with American Folk lore may want to look up the original Davy Crockett.

Born on a mountain top in Durotar,
Driest zone in the land of the Kalimdor,
Raised in Razor Hill so he knew every boar,
Killed him a dwarf when he was only four.
Davy, Davy Orckett, King of Kalimdor.

He fought single handed through the Northrend war,
Till the Scourge was whipped and peace was restored.
And while he was handling this risky chore,
Got himself some ‘chievements, forevermore.
Davy, Davy Orcckett the orc who don’t know fear.

I stopped after two stanzas because I didn’t think a listener could handle more without their heart exploding with joy.

At any rate, Progress on the Goal is being made, slowly but surely.  Now I must finish pretending to watch the sexual harassment training I’ve had running in the background while I wrote this post.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and bored of the same kind of training at every single place I work)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2011 1:41 pm

    “Killed him a dwarf when he was only four.
    Davy, Davy Orckett, King of Kalimdor.”

    Now that, is catchy!

    – Jamin

    • August 22, 2011 5:03 pm

      Thanks – I kept trying to use boar where I use dwarf, but it just didn’t work. I like how it turned out much better.

  2. August 11, 2011 4:51 pm

    We fired our guns and the Allies kept a’comin,
    But there wasn’t nigh as many as there was a while ago.
    We fired once more and they began to runnin’
    down the whole dang Valley all the way to Dun Baldar.

    Somehow these two songs go together. No, I’m not that old, but I had a lunch box with Fess as Dan’l Boone.

    • August 22, 2011 5:04 pm

      Excellent verse, and you’re quite right that a lot of the WoW lore works extremely well with the various frontier lore of the U.S. Thanks for the addition!

  3. August 17, 2011 3:22 pm

    I’m anxiously waiting for the audio file 😉

    In regards to my own project 10 it’s going incredibly slow, maybe I’m too bored with leveling by now and should just give up. I also get side-tracked because I think I want to level something that I already have (like I have a horde DK and now I’m thinking I want an alliance one)

    • August 22, 2011 5:06 pm

      I’m afraid of the boredom hitting me, too, and even more afraid of new games completely replacing WoW. I’ve played a few in the past weeks, but always played WoW as well; if Star Wars or D3 is really good, I’m honestly not sure I’ll finish. I’m pushing for now, though.

      If you’re going to go alliance for a toon, I think a DK might be the most counterproductive choice; most of the leveling zones from DK on are nearly identical for horde and alies. If you really want a new leveling experience, I’d suggest a Worgen through Eastern Kingdoms; there’s a lot of very neat change there.

  4. August 20, 2011 4:34 pm

    Now I wondered why my blog reader took a lot quicker to read now, haven’t seen a post in a while. Hope everythings’ all good:)

    – Jamin

    • August 22, 2011 5:06 pm

      Been on break, but I’m back now! Thanks for the support!

Leave a Reply

