Skip to content

Oh, the Agony

May 30, 2011

Dear Reader,

So we’re talking server transfers today.  I’ve got my two buddies here in Illinois and my wife and we’re trying to decide how to move characters.  There’s three basic options:

1. Move our horde toons to a horde server where we already have toons into a guild that’s kinda lukewarm.

2. Move our horde toons to an alliance server where we have friends in a guild looking to do more raiding (they’re 4/12) and wanting more people.

3.  Find a new guild on any server and move toons there.

Each one of these has benefits and drawbacks, supporters and dissenters.  We don’t want to move to a lukewarm guild and be stuck doing nothing.  We don’t really want to pay for a faction transfer.  We don’t want to do the work to find a new guild and test it out.

It’s terrible, really.  We should just bite the bullet, but we’re all so tired and disillusioned that I suspect if whatever we decide doesn’t work out, we may be done with WoW.  That may not be a bad thing, but who knows.

I have a meeting with the lukewarm guild’s leader later today.  If it’s interesting, I’ll put up another short post about it later.  That’s it for now; since I have company, I can’t stay too long, dear reader.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (who’s for going ally, personally)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2011 11:57 am

    What I would recommend to ANYONE who is thinking about a server transfer is to make a low level alt in the proposed guild and spend a week hanging out with the guild. You will be able to tell from that whether you want to transfer or not.

    • May 30, 2011 1:31 pm

      Funny you say that; we rolled new toons on the server and have level 85 alts there now. Still lukewarm. Good idea to any others, though.

  2. May 31, 2011 4:24 am

    While a faction change is costly – and slightly jarring when you’re used to the opposing faction – I will admit that I think I’d pick the option of playing with friends over playing in a lukewarm guild where I may not feel completely at home.

    I think Zel has a good point though, maybe make some alts on the alliance server where your friends are and play around there for a bit. Might give you a better feel for their guild and if you play nice together in game. Then if it feels “right” it might make you feel a bit better about spending the additional money for the faction change as well.

    To me personally the game is very social. If I wasn’t playing with friends I don’t know that I’d still play, so to me playing with friends – even if I’d have to faction change – is more appealing than playing in a guild with strangers. But of course it’s different for everyone.

    I hope you figure out what’s right for you!

  3. Donna permalink
    June 7, 2011 11:26 am

    I rolled and ground quests to level a tank for a horde guild on a new server, a guild where some friends were playing. It took me a week, of constantly questing – and ignoring all my 85s on the alliance server, but I did it.
    And not a month later the gm ninja-disbanded the guild. He wanted to join a raiding guild and didn’t give a crap about the rest of us. (I had given him my real id access – he never used it, I even gave that tool my phone number, he could have sent a text asking me to log in to transfer the leadership)
    So, there’s no easy solution. But I would have to say go with friends over a gm you don’t really know.
    Gold is gold and there’s more to be made, but server/faction transfers cost real dollars. Both ways.

    • June 7, 2011 3:49 pm

      I tend to agree. In the end, there was only one of us that was against going to the alliance server (he didn’t know the people we’d be transferring to) and so we stayed on the horde server. During his visit, though, he met the people, and I wonder if we’d just waited to decide if the outcome would have been different.

Leave a Reply

