Skip to content

[Insert Profanity Here]!

April 29, 2011

Dear Reader,

First off, I did do a post today about the goals of Wow; it’s below, if that’s what you came here for.  I hate to take the “spotlight” (dim it may be) off the topic of the week (our community), but I need some time to vent a bit.  Mostly this is my fault, for letting myself get my hopes up, but I’m a little disappointed by how things went over at one of my many jobs.

One of my part-time jobs is at a Student Learning Center, where we tutor college students in various subjects to help improve their grades.  As you may remember, I’d been working some crazy hours to get a project done by April 15th because the director was retiring then.  The project was making a tutor training program (yawn… trust me), and I had hoped to apply for her job after she’d left.  In fact, I’d gotten agreements to write letters of recommendation for me from her, from my dean, and from my department chair, which is pretty impressive, if I do say so myself. Additionally, it’s a job I’m built for, since I have a Master’s in English Education, years of teaching experience, and, you know just designed a program for training tutors.

On top of all that, the community college where I work just received one of the largest endowments in its history.  Now I realize that the money was probably earmarked for other things, but having earmarked money can free up money currently in the budget in that same area to be redistributed.

Instead, the position was eliminated, and the Student Learning Center is being merged with another department, a college equivalent of a special education department.  I have no problem with the merger, but I’m very upset that her position was just canceled.  There will no longer be anyone advocating for the tutoring center; instead, we’ll just be another cog in the special education wheel.

Of course, it means there’s no full time job for me to apply to, either.

To add to all this, there was a lot of misinformation floating around.  I’d first heard that the dean (not mine, but the dean of student services) was very interested in me for the job that turned out to be eliminated.  Then I found out it was eliminated only because I asked the question directly during a meeting on the merger (not that I caused it to be eliminated with that question, but that that’s how I found out it had been eliminated).  Later, I heard that there would be middle-managers over each of the three departments now in special education, and that there would be a position, but it wouldn’t be the same as it was before, which is why we’d been told it had been eliminated.  Dizzying.

Well, it came down to today.  I’m not one to sit around and wonder, so on Wednesday I told the secretary at the Student Learning Center that I was going to go ask the dean what was up with the position.  She told me to wait until she’d had a meeting with her because my name specifically was on the agenda, which was inimidating enough to stall me.   So I waited.  Today she had her meeting and told me that “Bob,” the interim director over the Student Learning Center (middle management in other words) would be talking to me with a “very encouraging” message.

Indeed he did.  When we finally spoke, he “encouraged me” to not be disappointed because in a few years the Director over all the programs would be retiring and perhaps I’d be a good fit for that position.  They had noticed that I was “disappointed” about the situation and they didn’t want “friction.”  Well, I’m not upset at them, they didn’t eliminate the position.  The situation still sucks, though, and I am very disappointed.  All that build up for basically a pat on the back and a “keep your chin up, Tiger.”

I know they had their hearts in the right place, but it came off as a little condescending considering the fact that the guy who delivered it (1) has the job I wanted, (2) is used to dealing with special ed students, and (3) accidentally implied I still won’t have found a full time job in 4 or 5 years.

Ah well.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (who doesn’t throw the word “disappointed” around very often, since studies show that it has a stronger emotional impact than “hate”)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2011 2:04 pm

    So I’ll say it in a different way…
    Stupid F#$)*% jerks can’t figure out their head from their @#$. Don’t want to improve our nation’s education, just think of their own #@$%#$ and damned be everyone else.

    Umm ya I been there before. I did a stint as a military instructor and damned near tore my hair out on a daily basis as budgets were drawn and quartered so I had less and less time with less and less instructors to teach more and more….

    I’m not an educated man. I just know what it takes to do it right. Alas, the ugly Beuracratic (sp?) monster Boss lifts its ugly head.

  2. krel permalink
    April 29, 2011 2:07 pm

    sometimes the real world needs a votekick function. Sorry. 😦

  3. May 5, 2011 1:44 am

    I feel your story Stubborn.

    However. You really show your good nature when you still, amidst all the ‘disappointment, make an effort to understand it from the other side and become reasonable, which a majority of the population fail to do. For that I salute you!

    Head High!

    – Jamin

Leave a Reply

