Skip to content

Another Candle

March 28, 2011

Dear Reader,

Another correspondence in the same day?

Indeed, and as is often the truth, unexpected news is often bad, like a late-night phonecall.

While I’m quite sure (based on my site stats) that most of you have found me via Larisa, and thus you already know the bad news, I wanted to make sure everyone who reads me knows that Larisa is departing.

I say this especially because she was who I cold-called (emailed, really) when I thought about starting a blog.  I happened to be reading hers religiously at the time (and still do), so I figured , “Why not just email a stranger and see what they have to say?”

Her response was a full, thoughtful, kind, encouraging response from someone who probably gets many emails, questions, or  comments like mine every day.  Regardless of the size and popularity her blog enjoyed, she took the time to help out a total stranger on a different continent (though I didn’t know it at the time) who might have been the worst writer she had ever met (may still be, in fact).

That kind of personal and caring approach is what made her voice so powerful in the community and made people flock to her for warmth and, occasionally, hard truths.

She’s the first major blog to close shop shop that I read.  I didn’t get into the game until RO had just closed, so I missed Tam by a few days.  This is a loss I haven’t felt before, and it’s a strange feeling to adapt to.  I always used her blogroll as a starting point when I wanted to go commenting for an hour or so.

She ended her blog with a quote from Watership Down, an excellent book about, in the end, rabbits.  As I have been recently, I’ll end with a quote from Romeo and Juliet that I have ruined with my poor rhyming.

A glooming peace this morning with it brings;
The sun, for sorrow, will not show his head:
Go hence, to have more talk of these sad things;
Some shall be pardon’d, and some publishéd:
For never have we found more hearts broken
Than with the loss of the Pink Pigtail Inn.

Goodbye, Larisa.  May the best of your past be the worst of your future,

Stubborn

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2011 3:23 pm

    First of all: thank you! An entire blogpost about this… ending with a delightful rhyme. I don’t know what to say. I’m humbled. From my heart: thank you!

    About our initial contact: Yes, I try to respond to every e-mail I get, that’s true and I certainly hope that’s a thumb role that most bloggers stick to. It’s common courtesy, isn’t it?

    But it’s not often that I spot a talent for blogging such as yours. So giving you some linklove, pointing to others, that was because you deserved it – not out of kindness.

    Goodbye Stubborn. Or rather – to be continued in our private e-mail channel. You don’t get rid of me that easily! 😉

  2. April 3, 2011 5:03 am

    The loss of Larísa from the blogosphere is still one I’m reeling from; in fact it’s the one that I imagine most people are reeling from. I haven’t even managed to bring myself to comment on her fair well post as yet (sorry Larísa). I didn’t comment a great deal but when I did I enjoyed posting large ‘in character’ rambles as I always kind of imagined myself popping in the Inn for a spot of lunch (I usually had a nosey during my lunch break) and sharing a few words with the proprietor. It made a welcome break from my usual theorycrafting/guide writing that I usually end up doing.

    But I think Larísa would agree that as much as we might miss her, as much as many might suddenly freak out claiming ‘OMG the end of WoW, it must be if all these bloggers are quitting’, now is the time for newer bloggers to enter and fill those gaping holes left by those more venerable elders of WoW blogging. In fact your blog is just one example of this and I look forward to reading yet more insightful articles on here for a long time to come.

    Take heart my friend and remember the good times, but moreover remember that adventure still lays ahead.

Leave a Reply

