Skip to content

Worth 200 Times its Weight in Gold (aka KhQQrium)

February 13, 2011

Dear Reader,

Since I’ve rolled on a new realm, I’ve had the pleasure of leveling my mage, Greendel, on Burning Blade.  It’s been, for the most part, a lot of fun as I’ve gotten to try a pure dps class (I usually end up tanking or healing – not this time!), and I’ve had a fair bit of fun leveling engineering, one of the few professions I’d never before touched.  No set of items in WoW can make me smile like, say, the meandering sheep who packs an explosive surprise or the luckless target dummy, waving away as I abandon him to the angry fates I’ve over-pulled.

Since I was leveling with a group of people (which I’ll write about in another post; I wouldn’t recommend it), I’ve had plenty of time to just fly around and farm when someone wasn’t available to level.  As a result, I had no problem gathering materials for this ore-intensive profession.  Then I ran headlong into the Khorium market.

I’ve mined on a lot of my characters for various professions, as has my wife.  We both know (and argue about) the best flight paths for mining titanium and pyrite like we know my own faces in a mirror.

I’ve never faced a foe like khorium.  Now, you can just skip over it entirely.  A WoW guide that I’ve occasionally referred to suggests this strategy.  And I would, if I was just power-leveling my engineering to 525, but I’m not.  In the limited time I have to play, I want to have fun, not just grind out professions for (step 3) Profit!  Not to mention that I’m somewhat of a traditionalist, and the two most iconic engineering items have been their flying mounts and Jeeves, both of which require Khorium power cores, totaling a need for 30 khorium bars.

I spent a few hours on separate days flying around Outlands, Nagrand in particular, and the Isle of Quel’Danas, and have totaled a sum of 3 bars.  Three.  Dear reader, I propose to you that this is madness, sheer madness.

I know you can buy the power cores from that fine fellow Qiff in Netherstorm, and I’ve parked an alt there for a few days now, ready to snatch up a purchase that would cut my remaining workload down significantly.  However, as is the lot of the part-core, I can’t religiously log on to try to catch the once-per-three-hours spawn of the item, and have consequently never been lucky enough to grab one.

The khorium on the AH is no better.  At 200g a bar, even with the enormous amounts of adamantite I find and sell, I can hardly afford to pay a fee larger than the epic flying skill for the luxury of flying around in pure engineering style.

The solution is simple, of course.  I should say to hell with the Turbo-charged Flying Machine.  I really should.  Then again, I should say to hell with WoW and go find a productive hobby, like exercise or novel writing.  I’m a gamer at the core, though, be it only part-time, and I can’t seem to give either up.  I’d be willing to bet, dear reader, that you, in moments of weakness like this, have felt this way, too.

Ah, my first QQ post.  Hopefully you won’t hold it against me.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (which explains why I won’t stop farming the accursed ore)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2011 9:30 am

    Until I red this post, I had totally forgotten about Khorium. I had powerleveled my Mining a few days ago after a long time leaving it at Artisan. I did totally skip over it without realizing. I thought that Eternium was the rare ore in BC, completely forgetting there is Khorium. Your AH prices sounds pretty ridiculous. It’s probably a third of that price on my server.

    • February 14, 2011 11:26 am

      I feel like this is a prescription for the illness. Take a dose of engineeracetamine and forget khorium exists. The pain is too great otherwise.

  2. Randy random permalink
    February 16, 2011 2:28 am

    The joys and horror of needing a ton of Khotium ore.

    You should try the Isle of Quel’ Danass. No flying mounts… but also very little competition, on my server that is, and a lot of Khorium to be found.

    Because you know you want that butler.

    • February 16, 2011 6:59 am

      Jeeves! More repairs for my guests!
      Yes, I want the butler. As for IQD, I’ve tried there. I found a khorium vein in the first spot (N by the nagas), then farmed for about 2 hours in the circuit and never got another khorium. Thanks, though (:

  3. Calvinball permalink
    February 21, 2011 4:56 pm

    After may hours spent searching and searching with little success, I too was stubbornly soldiering on.

    Until cataclysm and flying speed skills 😉 Now I can fly around in my normal flying machine at high speeds and still feel like an engineer without killing myself over the devil’s ore.

Leave a Reply

