Skip to content

First Impressions

February 10, 2011

Dear Reader,

Before we begin, I thought I’d set down some rules and definitions, so that we can all be of one mind about certain things.  First, I believe that WoW is an excellent game with many flaws but many more strengths.  I also believe that WoW can be dangerously addictive, and like many addictive substances, can cause bad behaviors in those who partake.  Lastly, I believe that gaming is a wonderful way to spend free time with friends.  If any of those tenets strike you as illogical or erroneous, this may not be the blog for you.

Next, part-core gaming.  Part-core gaming (PCG) is a term I’ve been using for a few years now to describe how I enjoy playing WoW.  It melds the idea that Wow is only a part-time hobby with a desire to play in a serious, informed manner, as the “hardcore” players (supposedly) do.  When I have time to play, which has become increasingly infrequent as I’ve taken on a third part-time job, I want to use my time in the most enjoyable and efficient way possible.  I certainly don’t mind glass chewing a boss for hours, but I want it to be because the boss is difficult, not because one player continuously stands in the void zones.

I’ve found it nearly impossible to find guilds that cater to this style of gaming.  Most guilds seem either to be hardcore, which require a zealous attendance record, far more than I could possibly promise to a game, or casual, which usually means somewhat uninformed.  I’ve taken shots at starting guilds with friends of like minds, but we simply can’t find players who subscribe to these similar tenets.  I’ve moved guilds, factions, and servers in the quest to find what I’m looking for, and I’ve met with limited success, but there have always been other complications that arose.  Alas, the search continues.

This blog is dedicated to the discussion of WoW as a part-core game.  I give full respect to the hardcore players out there and full understanding to the casual players.  But I’m neither, and I’m carving this site out of the blogosphere as a place to fit in.  I expect, dear reader, that I’m not alone.

Sincerely,

A full time husband, full time teacher, part time gamer,

Stubborn

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2011 12:50 am

    Part-core, that’s a new one! A good, useful word I think.
    And welcome to the blogosphere. I hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I have.

  2. Obewon permalink
    February 11, 2011 11:30 am

    Good luck with your Blog …

    I am in a similar boat as yourself …

    look forward to your outlook on the game and it’s particpants !!

  3. Krel permalink
    February 13, 2011 12:16 am

    Interesting term, part-core – I think I resemble that remark, as the saying goes. Personally, I have time to play, but with five kids and a busy life it’s hard for me to get blocks of time. I can do a quest or three, or a quick battleground, but setting aside three hours to do an instance or a raid is tough.

    I think finding a casual adult raiding guild is your best option, and a bigger group is going to make it easier to find people to play with when you have the time. The guild I’m in now is of that type. We’re at the heroics stage now for most players, and I expect we’ll start raiding as a guild in the next couple weeks, probably as a guild PUG on a couple scheduled nights a week. We’re all fairly part-core. 🙂

  4. Krel permalink
    February 13, 2011 12:20 am

    Also do you have a feed? I might be missing it.

    • February 13, 2011 10:28 am

      I think I do now.

      I want to thank you for pointing that out; I’m so new to this that any kind of feedback, even things that may be blatantly obvious to “normal” people, is highly appreciated. I added the RSS widget on my side bar, so I think you can subscribe that way.

      Once again, thanks!

    • Krel permalink
      February 13, 2011 11:12 am

      Subbed. 🙂

  5. October 20, 2011 7:03 pm

    Now I remembered this post.

    See if you can find the link in my latest post – http://shatteredbeginnings.blogspot.com/2011/10/new-mind-sets-and-blizzcon.html

    =D

    – Jamin

Leave a Reply

