Skip to content

Humbling

August 25, 2014

Dear Reader,

So yeah, I’ve heard of the Humble Bundles.  I’ve seen them mentioned here and there, but I’d never actually investigated them.  Extra Credits, though, brought some games to my attention in their most recent episode with the caveat that all the games in this “Games you Might Not have Tried” installment was available as a bundle.

Well.

Suffice it to say that I bought the bundle, and will likely continue to frequent the shop with dangerous frequency.  It even convinced me to buy an “early access” game, a development tool that I generally find abhorrent.  The game, though, was stable enough for them, so I figured I’d give it a try.  Hand of Fate, the game in question, has been extremely entertaining so far.  It’s a cross between a deck-building game, a rogue-like, and an arena brawler.  So far, fantastic.

In other news, my first day with the students was quite refreshing.  I feel really good about being back in a real classroom – no offense, college professors, but it’s just not the same.  I can already tell a lot of my students are genuinely nice kids, but of course I have at least one real nut.  This kid – on the first day mind you – was like committing minor acts of physical assault on some of his classmates.  One the first day in a new school in front of a new teacher.  He’ll be fun to work with – and I mean that genuinely.  I hope I can help better him.

Many of the others are just nice kids, though.  I had one girl who couldn’t have been more than 4 foot nothing and maybe – I don’t know, I’m bad with weight, but she was small enough I could have eaten her – who was stuck carrying around a gym bag full of her books that was a little tiring for me to carry (one-handed, at any rate) because someone had erroneously put their lock on her locker.  The poor girl didn’t complain at all, so after the third or fourth time I saw her lugging it, I just took it from her and carried it to some of her various classes.  She was very grateful.

So that’s what’s up in my neck of the woods.  I hope you’re all doing well, too.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and working)

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 26, 2014 1:12 pm

    You’re first Humble Bundle huh? Oh… welcome to the club. If you like music, books, or have a smartphone that can play games, prepare just to hand over your wallet now in small increments. I’m pretty sure 50% of my game collection at this point is from Humble Bundles…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

