Skip to content

Satisfied Silence

August 22, 2014

Dear Reader, 

As you may have noticed, I haven’t been on in a few days.  There’s good news surrounding that, though: I got a job.  Hooray.

Seriously, though, I am excited; I’m back in the public schools like I wanted, teaching 6th grade English.  Sixth grade is a little young for me, admittedly, but I’ll adapt.  

The catch there is that I’ve never had a full-time, 40 hour plus a week job and written on this blog.  I’ve always been part time or had a cushy job like being a college professor.  I’m not sure what the implications are, really; I can’t promise to get things written on particular days anymore because I can’t really know what those days will look like.  I’m going to try to keep up the 3/day per week posting on M/W/F, but I just don’t know if I can.  Bear with me during this transition.

In brief gaming news, I beat Guacamelee!, which was very, very satisfying.  I didn’t like the very last boss fight, but everything else in the game was stellar.  I strongly recommend you give it a try, and, as a cherry on top, it kept my attention all the way through so that I actually finished it.  

Additionally, I beat deity level in a solo Civ game.  I had beaten it a couple times with a partner, but solo games are tougher since you’re really on your own.  It was a buzzer-beater, too.  One Civ had all but one other beaten in a culture victory, and another had all but one of the spaceship parts completed.  I won a diplomatic victory, which honestly are pretty easy victories, but on deity, I’ll take what I can get.  

So bear with me while I figure out what I still have time for, and we’ll see.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and exhausted; I worked as much in the last 4 days as I would in 2 weeks at the college)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2014 9:24 pm

    That’s so exciting! Grats. :D

  2. Krel permalink
    August 22, 2014 10:21 pm

    *DING*

    Achievement unlocked: New Job!

    Grats. ;)

  3. Beshara permalink
    August 23, 2014 7:15 am

    Congratulations!

  4. August 23, 2014 10:25 am

    Congratulations! I hope to hear more from you soon. But real life takes precedence.

  5. August 25, 2014 10:31 am

    D00d! Congrats! Have a lobster claw! (Goes well with butter and garlic)

  6. August 26, 2014 1:37 pm

    Congrats!

  7. August 28, 2014 10:06 pm

    I know I’m a few days late, but I feel compelled to congratulate you on landing the job. Good for you! I know how soul-killing job searches are, so I’m really happy to see you come through with such a great outcome. Enjoy your 6th graders!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

