Skip to content

Tanking SoO a Second Time

July 18, 2014

Dear Reader,

So after last week’s flex debacle, I was pretty unsure about my capability to tank anymore.  However, my mother didn’t raise a quitter, either, so I figured I’d give it another shot.

I had hoped it would be easier for a few reasons.  First, I had a better weapon.  Instead of the 476 I was sporting, a 540 had dropped the previous week (the only loot drop on 16 rolls, you might remember).  Of course, after I’d gemmed and enchanted it, I remembered that I might have gotten a tanking heirloom, and when I checked, sure enough, there it was.  So I gemmed and enchanted that one and went in swinging a 556 this week.  It made a huge difference, though the DK tank that was in there – not my buddy – had to stop attacking not to pull threat back.  Since fully buffed he had like 1.2 million hp, I assume his gear was a tiny bit better than mine.  I kept making jokes about him being the off tank, but I don’t think he got them; he just seemed confused.  I didn’t have threat issues against dps, though, so that was a major improvement.

Secondly, I had a better idea of when to use defensive cooldowns.  I don’t think I died on any of the early bosses, and I only died a few times on the later ones, which again was a major improvement.  Knowing how to reduce the damage on abilities that had killed me the previous week certainly improved my life expectancy, and I additionally respecced into Eternal Flame instead of Sacred Shield, which seemed to help keep me up, as well.

Lastly, I had actually seen the boss fights.  I didn’t know what to do in the “other” realm of Norushen the first week, but I did this time.  I still struggled to pick up adds again on Norushen (I really hate that fight), but I was better about it this week than I was last.  I had towers on Galakras stolen from me by the DK tank who didn’t listen to the raid leader, but it’s not like that add fight is particularly rough, so I improved there.  I didn’t mess up bombs on IJ like I previous had, and so forth.  Overall, it was a much easier week all around.

I will say that Spoils seems like a fight solely designed to punish tanks, especially when two different people on my side were opening boxes at cross purposes from one another on opposite sides of the room.  I’m not sure if it was a hazing ritual or some kind of test, but I don’t think I let anyone die, so I guess I passed.  Perhaps, though, the fact that I started opening my own boxes towards the end of the fight (which only stopped one of them) was their real goal; I may not know the order, but by god I’d rather pace the fight myself.

So I enjoyed my tanking this time, and no longer assume it’s my old age and rusty practice that was contributing to last week’s abject failure.  I’m happy to report that I’ll likely keep tanking when they need a tank or heal if they need a healer in those flex runs.  The Saturday raids will still be getting Iambic’s dps unless otherwise requested, but I’m perfectly fine doing that.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and contributing to all three roles)

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 18, 2014 6:56 pm

    “I’m not sure if it was a hazing ritual or some kind of test, but I don’t think I let anyone die, so I guess I passed.”

    Next week three people will be opening boxes in different corners of the room. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

