Skip to content

A Dark Room

July 14, 2014

Dear Reader,

I’ve made it known that I’m a fan of Extra Credits.  While I may not agree with everything they publish, I’ve found a majority of their episodes interesting and discussion-generating.  I particularly like their episodes on the relationship between games and education, an area of study close to my heart.  Additionally, I like that they bring games to my attention of which I might not have otherwise heard, which broadens my gaming opportunities beyond just what I or my buddy come across.

In their most recent episode, they discuss some games that develop over play time.  I’ve now tried all three of the games they mention, and for my part, I found A Dark Room to be by far the most interesting and fun.  I won’t go into great detail about the game itself, as the discovery of the game is part of the enjoyment, and I wouldn’t want to rob anyone of that.

I will say that I was afraid it would take a while for the game to get going, considering its starting screen is so sparse, but it really didn’t.  About two or three minutes into the game, I was hooked, and I played it consistently over the next few days until I finished it – the first round of it, anyway.  It’s an excellent game to play while doing something else; I have recently began to level my mining and engineering on my rogue, and when I had a large stack of ore to smelt, I could happily switch to A Dark Room and play for a few minutes, then switch back.  In fact, at one point, I was playing Candy Box, A Dark Room, and Dungeons of Dredmore all at the same time.  The whole “waiting” aspect of the game(s) worked well in that regard.

I mentioned it to my buddy, who I suspected would enjoy it, but I was overheard by my new buddy, the nice guy from my guild.  He’s a very high-energy player; he categorizes himself as “wanting maximum actions per minute.”  He has sniffed haughtily at the turn-based strategy games I play, and he has puffed out his superior chest (phrased intentionally) at my volume of rogue-likes.  He has turned up his nose at any side-scrollers, as well.  In other words, he’s a bit of a gaming elitist.  He’s young, too, so I assumed that a game like A Dark Room would hold less than no interest for him.

But I was wrong.  I’m not sure if my buddy talked to him about it and its quality or he tried it out on his own, but he, too, has been playing and enjoying it.  He said, “I’ve never played a text-based adventure before!” and he seemed to be really enjoying it.

So if I, my buddy, and my nice-guy friend from the guild can all enjoy A Dark Room, I think that you likely can, too, dear reader.  I realize that this is in no way a “useful” review, but like I said, the discovery within the game is part of the joy, so give it a try and let me know what you think!

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and proprietor of a raucous village)

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 16, 2014 10:10 am

    Thank you for this! It’s the perfect thing to have open in another tab while I’m at work. :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

