Skip to content

More Druid Healing

June 13, 2014

Dear Reader,

In the past couple of weeks, I’ve been working more and more on my resto druid.  It was slow going at first, as I had to get over the healer tunneling that I’ve found to be one of my biggest problems in the past.  Once I got past the “ohmygod ohmygod avoidthatfire stayalive” phase, though, I was opened up a bit to the more subtle possibilities of the class.

Luckily, I have a very solid resto druid in the guild who was giving me a hand.  She noted that my mastery – harmony – uptime was pretty lousy, which was adversely affecting my healing.  To be frank, I hate the harmony mechanic; it, and other similar changes, were what made me want to stop playing a druid healer in Cata.  For those of you unfamiliar, Harmony increases HoT healing by whatever % (about 20 at my level of mastery) by casting a non-hot spell every 20 seconds or so.  Being forced to case a particular category of spell to empower my other, more archetypal category of spells irritates me.

Sure, one spell every 20 or so seconds isn’t a big deal, especially since Swiftmend’s cooldown is less than Harmony’s duration, but still, it irritates me.  I feel like I should have my options there for me in the toolbox and be allowed to choose which to take out, not have to meet some time-based quota on casting non-hots simply because the hotting was so crazily powerful back in Wrath.  Seriously, that’s what it feels like; it feels like a punishment for being too good in Wrath and now having this extra hurdle to jump over.  Bah.

I’m sure I’m over-analyzing it and likely being irritated by something that’s actually a benefit, but it is what it is.

Beyond that, I learned that I should be blooming my efflorescence/wild mushrooms more.  I was heavily relying on the Efflo ticks, but the bloom is an enormous about of healing.  I’m still learning as to what the perfect time for blooms on particular fights are; is it better to bloom in the middle of a Garrosh whirling but lose a few seconds of efflo ticks or wait until the end for the maximum effect and no real penalty for waiting?  These smaller subtleties are still being learned, but I’m getting there.

I also learned that nourish is useless and just to cast regrowth if you need a hard direct heal.  I thought nourish was meant to be a stop-gap for little mana and little healing, but it’s such a useless spell it seems not even to be worth casting.  Of course, I went from having zero mana problems to running oom from time to time, but that’s likely partly a gearing issue.  I’ll let you know when I get better gear.

So those have been my recent healing lessons.  I still really like the versatility and utility of druids, just like I did back in Wrath, but the new mechanics are still stumping me a bit.  I’m sure more practice will help iron it out.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (top healer on some of our flex fights!)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Malchiah permalink
    June 13, 2014 7:28 pm

    I can’t speak directly about druids as I’ve never played one, but I seem to remember a lot of classes had certain spells or abilities that were empowered when used in conjunction with other abilities.

    For mages, there were buffs that encouraged chain-casting a certain spell (especially for fire or arcane) that disappeared within seconds if not maintained. Cast something else or take too long between casts and we lost the effect. It took practice to know when to move or cast to maximize the stacking effects.

  2. June 13, 2014 10:35 pm

    “is it better to bloom in the middle of a Garrosh whirling”

    Yes. The danger of Whirling is dying during it, plenty of time to heal back up afterward. Better to burst up before 2/3 of Whirling has passed even if it means “wasting” some of the heal.

  3. June 14, 2014 2:26 am

    I have the same feeling about the Cata changes, for me Boomkin (Balance druid) became a straight-jacket class to play – the rotation is so specific and so timely that you simply play it how the devs intend or go home in terms of dps output. The eclipse mechanic was far too dominant, to the point where people were just stacking dots on everything in multi-mob fights as that was easier than trying to maintain the complex rotation the devs had designed! I seem to remember nourish being rather good in Wrath, was that nerfed in Cata as well then?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

