Skip to content

Ah, Today

June 6, 2014

Dear Reader,

Today, I get to learn how to install a deck.  This is not something I particularly care to know, of course, but it’s what I’m doing nonetheless.  My wife’s father, who’s not around too terribly much, decided to come up and help us with this problem.  Now that he’s here, of course, I’m expected to do all the work as well.

I don’t mean to sound ungrateful, but I know my strengths and weaknesses.  If you need some very basic computer repair or need a paper edited, I’m your man.  If you need a class taught, I can do it.  If you need to know whether various local lumber dealers sell kiln-dried, treated lumber… well.  I’m not really the man for that.  In fact, I think it’s fair to say that when it comes to this kind of labor, I’m completely useless.  I can hit a nail with a hammer about 50% of the time, but the other 50% of the time I’m injuring myself or damaging whatever the nail is being put into, so it’s really almost more detrimental than helpful.

But today I am going to be hammering.  And screwing.  And, likely, screwing up.  As a result, I’m going to skip a real post today while I continue to get dirty lying on the ground and accruing an impressive collection of splinters.  See you Monday.

Hooray.

Stubborn (and decking)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

