Skip to content

When the Heck Did This Happen?

May 26, 2014

Dear Reader,

So I was thinking about starting a new character – again – just to pass some time.  Part of this was spurned on by wanting to get to the new bracket of mounts; right now I have 120, and I’d like to hit 150.  I never ground Tushui Panda rep (or whatever the horde equivalent is), so I figured I’d just level a panda to 40 and get the mounts that way.  I decided the simplest way to do this would be by making a brewmaster, and since I have a dps and healer on my NWN buddy’s server, I figured a tank wouldn’t be amiss.

Not to mention, of course, the very good monk tank we had in our normal this past weekend.  The normal, by the way, that we finally downed Thok on, then blew up Siegecrafter and Paragons with very little ado.  It seems that there are two real “stopper” bosses in the raid, Norushen and Thok, and if you can down those, you can probably do all of it (admittedly, we haven’t tried Garrosh with this group, but since I’ve already downed him on normal, I assume it’s within this group’s grasp, since I’m often one of the weaker normal raiders).  On top of that, this was the first week the group successfully two-healed Iron Juggernaut as well as Thok.  So the healing’s getting stronger and the raid as a whole is becoming more successful.

All of that factored in to my decision to play a little more and level another character.  Since the only class I hadn’t leveled to at least 80 was a monk, and I was considering a tank, I figured I’d give that a shot.

Then came the gearing issue.  I have heirlooms of almost every type except cloth (I don’t know why, but I just don’t).  However, of course, they’re spread around other servers and factions and are thus largely inaccessible.  Still, I figured I’d see what I had.  So I logged on to all my other characters and gathered it up.  I had a full plate tanking and dps set, a mail agility set, and a leather agility set.  I had all the trinkets and whatnot, but all of this gear was stuck horde side on the wrong server.  Bummer.

I decided I’d consolidate it all on one character and headed the to mailbox.  As I was typing in Stubborn’s name, I noted that other characters showed up with a -server prefix after their name.  Hmm, I thought.  Well, what the hell?  I’d try typing Iambic-Greymane and see what happened.

And it sent.  I couldn’t believe it.  I immediately switched toons to check, half expecting the item to just be lost, but no; it was there, with an “unknown” sender tag.

When the hell did I miss this?  I read patch notes – hell I read them on WoW, LoL, and still TSW even though I don’t really play it any more.  I have NO idea how this slipped by me, but it did.

I told my wife when she came downstairs that day, and she was equally excited.  We moved over all our heirloom gear to one place and just looked at it.  I had more than a big bag’s worth spilling over into other bank bags.  I had heard, too, that it could be enchanted now with whatever you wanted and would just scale down, so I took care of that, too, and sent it over to my monk.

I ran some BGs and hated them, so I just quested around Westfall until I hit 15 (which took virtually no time), then I jumped into dungeons.  I like being the tank.  I can set the pace that way, and if people try to pull ahead, I can just not tank what they pull if it’s a problem and move on.  They usually get the idea after a few pulls.  I’m 25 or so now, and the only problem I’ve had in the LFD so far was one shaman healer in ele spec, which I can forgive at this level, except that he clearly didn’t want to heal and was just dpsing almost the whole time.  I kept calling him on it, and it was clear in recount that his healing was only about double my own – and I don’t even know what healing I have as a brewmaster at level 25 or so.  He just denied, denied, denied, and after my third or fourth death, I just dropped group.  Tanks are often top dps in low-level groups, so fine, but when I was doing 1/3rd of the healing passively or reflexively or something and 50% of the whole groups dps, the hell with it.  I was done.

So with the monk buff that kicks in at level, I have +10% xp from the guild, +45% from heirloom gear (I don’t have the gd ring), and +50% from the monk buff for an hour a day.  Since I can do quests in dungeons almost every time, I can easily net a level and often two per dungeon, so if I stop in between a round number (20/30/40 etc), I can often get 2 hours of monk +50% xp per day for a total of 2 hours of +105% experience.  Plus, of course, any rested bonus I’ve accrued.  That’s… nuts.  Just nuts.

I expect to net 10 levels in 2 hours today, at least.  I know it’ll slow down later, but if I get bored, I’ll just stop. I only really, really care about level 40 for the flying mounts, so beyond that, we’ll see.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and leveling, again)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2014 6:53 pm

    “I had all the trinkets and whatnot, but all of this gear was stuck horde side on the wrong server. Bummer.”

    lol I was like “does he not know…?”

    It’s something we all wanted for a long time though yeah, that’s for sure.

    • May 28, 2014 4:51 pm

      I was like that too, to be honest – I was like “What – how? Really?!” Then I was filled with joy. (;

      Thanks for the comment!

  2. May 27, 2014 4:51 am

    Someone’s been under a rock!

    • May 28, 2014 4:52 pm

      It’s so nice and cool down there, out of the sun… (;
      Thanks for the comment!

Trackbacks

  1. WoW: leveling speed and the talent point revamp | GamingSF

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

