Skip to content

So…

May 21, 2014

Dear Reader,

So there was no post Monday.  It turns out when you have a very regimented schedule that suddenly ceases to be, like when you’re a college professor, for example, sometimes you lose track of days.  I realized it was Monday at about 9 p.m. Monday night and figured eh – I’ll just miss one.  It’s not the end of the world.

There might not have been a post today, since my wife kept me up very, very late last night – nothing as exciting as that, mind you, though I’m not complaining – playing WoW.  I have a hard time getting to sleep after 3, and if I see the sun starting to rise, well, I’m not getting to sleep for a long time.  I just woke up, in fact.  Since I have a meeting at school tomorrow at 10 a.m., I can’t afford to keep this juvenile lifestyle up.  Thank god.

Speaking of school, there was no positive outcome to the whole insurance thing.  I won’t have insurance at the end of the month because, well, they can.  There’s no contractual recourse, there’s no one there willing to make a decision to break policies and procedures.  There’s no way for me to rescind a resignation when everyone knows I’m leaving.  I’m just screwed for doing the right thing.  I could have been a real dick and not told anyone (officially, at any rate), left the department in the lurch at the last minute, stalled the search for my replacement, and kept my insurance.  But oh well, another bureaucratic system that punishes people who follow the rules and rewards selfish rules-mongering dicks.  Guess I’ll check out the ACA webpage after I’m done here.

I do have a small consolation of good news; I found a really affordable game that’s been very enjoyable so far.  I was looking for something a bit slower paced than my frenetic WoW play recently and dug a bit into the steam catalog.  I found an RPG called Paper Sorcerer that had decent reviews.  The graphics are old-school, and the color scheme is mostly monochromatic, but, and this is the ingenious thing, there’s a good reason for it in the story.  It’s very reminiscent of Bard’s Tale or Wasteland wherein you make a party of largely your choosing, go through a dungeon, fight monsters, have encounters, and struggle to survive.  It’s five bucks on Steam and I’ve already gotten 5 hours out of it and think I’m less than halfway through, so it’s a greatEd Value,”, so if you’re into those old-school RPGs, I suggest you check it out.

Well, that’s it for today.  Time to try to find insurance in 10 days.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (un(in)sure)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

