Skip to content

Druid Healing

April 25, 2014

Dear Reader,

So I finally bit the bullet and did some “real” healing on my druid.  I put “real” in quotation marks because it was in an LFR, so it’s only as “real” as LFR is.

It was very hectic for me, and while I didn’t disappoint myself, I didn’t impress myself, either.  I only did the first section of the SoO LFR.  Overall it was a smooth-ish run with only one full wipe due to an early pull on Sha, but it was still pretty tough seeing those fights from a different role.

Things I hadn’t done wrong in eons I did wrong again; I got hit by self-reflects on Sha and by swirl on Immerseus.  The “healer tunnel vision” symptom hit me hard; I was too focused on the boxes and my cooldowns; it’s apparent I need a better cooldown UI like Weak Auras for my healing now.

I ran out of mana a lot, too.  I don’t know if I was going super-overboard or what, but I was often out of mana about halfway through the first two fights.  On the last two, I stood around a little bit more and didn’t pound wild growth on cooldown, and then I was fine, but the standing around felt somehow wrong.  I’m a healer; shouldn’t I be doing something at all times?

I did terribly on Immerseus healing the blue oozes; I have no idea what spell I’m supposed to use to top them off the most efficiently; I used Healing Touch and was able to get – at max - two healed up before they were gone.  I don’t know if there’s a better option there; I’m very open to suggestion, as I think I should be able to do much better than that.  I did try tranqing, but apparently that doesn’t affect them.

I came in fourth for overall healing, but that was with some turnover.  I don’t know whether the turnover included healers, mind you, so I may really have been fourth.  I was third until the last fight, where, as I pointed out, I cooled my heals a little, and the guy in first was doubling everyone else, so his gear must have been pretty nice.  Still, the one time I switched to resto on my shaman for laughs and did the first SoO LFR, I came in first in my dps gear.  I’m not sure how to feel about that.

So, I survived (I mean I did die several times, but overall), but I didn’t break any records – for good or bad.  I know I need to get better about using my cooldowns- the Tree of Life and the new one, the green one (whatever it’s called).  Still, I never let a tank die, and I busted my but using rejuv on those who needed it in the raid.  And I used my mushrooms, of course, and bitched and moaned about people not standing in them like my new guild’s master druid healer indirectly trained me to.

The only really big surprise for me, because remember I healed H ICC fights on a druid back in the day, was when I got dragged into the “other” realm (“going down,” as my NWN buddy hilariously calls it) on Norushen.  I’d not planned to go down, but I had forgotten that in LFR it’s not a choice.  I didn’t really know what to do, so I tried to heal the crap out of everyone in there, but since I have mouse over healing macros for my raid frames, it was hard to target the NPCs, and I didn’t know how many there were.  I only saw 3, and when one of them got some sort of curse or something, I couldn’t find them to target them.  I don’t know whether I succeeded or failed; it didn’t feel like a full minute in there, but healing time is a bit like bullet time; it can be hard to judge just how long it’s been.

So overall, it was a good experience, and it was the kind of practice I needed: where are my buttons, what do my buttons do, what are my cooldowns, what do I hit when the tank drops low, etc.  I need a lot more of it, though, before I step into flex.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and healing again)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2014 11:05 am

    Yay, druid healing! It’s what I feel I do best, and i always like to see more around. What I do for Immerseus, is regrowth. The glyph makes it hit hard. I will use Nature’s Swiftness/Healing Touch to heal the first one, to get the increased healing buff quickly then regrowth another few. Near the end, when there are lots of healing blobs, tree of life with instant regrowths is nice.
    If you are not well geared, mana will be an issue and take a while to get used to. I recently boosted a horde druid and all the sudden I was going OOM all the time, cause I was healing just like my well geared main, and that wasn’t working.

    • April 25, 2014 11:05 am

      And if you can, blooming a charged mushroom under a group of them usually heals them to full.

  2. April 26, 2014 3:56 am

    I only ever did the lower level LFRs, but my impression of them was that unless things were going completely south, any damage was usually healed up very quickly. Have you considered that that might have affected your healing output as a heal-over-time dependent druid?

  3. April 28, 2014 9:17 am

    The one time I went into LFR on my druid I felt the exact same way… impotent on the Imm oozes (congrats on healing 2 up!) especially. Going inside on Noru is (I’ve been told) supposed to put the new NPCs somewhere in your frames so you can see and target them but something in my UI prevents that from happening so I have to manually click. I’ve never found that to be an issue in LFR (there are only three and the one who needs to be dispelled gets a purple cloud around them… but that NPC doesn’t show up in Decursive so I actually need to have the dispel button on my healer bars to do it, or I have 10s to get into my spell book and do it that way). It’s easy enough to tell if you “won” inside or not, if your corruption cleared once you’re out then you won, if it didn’t then someone died before the mob did (ie. you lost). I didn’t actually realize that until I healed that fight on heroic, though, I’d never NOT had my corruption clear when going inside on any healer at any level until then.

    I suspect that classes like druids will naturally be below average in LFR unless they significantly overgear everyone else, the absorption classes (disc priests and holy pallies) are going to absorb a lot of the incoming damage so there simply won’t be that much for you to have to deal with. Unless you time your Tranq very well it can be hard to be competitive.

    Also, nice job with using ‘shrooms… I’m still trying to train myself to use those more (or in many cases, at all).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

