Skip to content

Miscellany

April 7, 2014

Dear Reader,

Crunch time just jumped on me.  Last week I was bringing my Kindle to work, reading some books, and browsing Twitter during classes while students diligently drafted.  Then today I have a lot to do.

The most interesting and exciting of those is preparing for PAX.  I’m going for my fourth year (out of five East Coast possibilities), and I’m really excited about all the different panels and events.  Since several bloggers (myself included) will be out of town this Friday, Snozell of Be MOP suggested we swap some posts on PAX.  I’m cooking up a good one for his site, so make sure to check here for his post and there for mine this Friday!

I will say that I get tired of hearing all the complaints about PAX that circulate (now) three times a year.  It’s a convention.  Like any large gathering of people, there’ll be some jerks there, some of whom will be attendees and some workers, most likely.  I’ve had some mild confrontations with some of the PAX workers, myself, so sure, it’s not all just a bed of roses.  However, the idea that it’s somehow tainted at its core is ludicrous, and I often see it touted by people who’ve never been, which is just ignorance stacked on ignorance.  I got used to that sort of thing dealing with attacks on books used in the classroom; it’s shocking how many people want a book banned who’ve never read it.  I suspect that many PAX attackers wouldn’t want to be compared to book banners, but there it is: ignorance stacked on ignorance.

If you don’t like Penny Arcade for its politics, that’s fine; I’m not insisting anyone GO to PAX, but don’t let your politics color the actual event that’s now only tangentially hosted by those two specific individuals.  I’ve been to PAX four times along with my wife and buddies (not my NWN buddy, for clarity), and my wife has been off on her own plenty.  She’s a beautiful woman, but has never had a complaint about how she was treated, with me or alone.  What I’ve seen of PAX is a friendly community doing things together and building one another up.  Does everyone conform to this?  I’m sure they don’t, but I’ve yet to have a run in like that.

Beyond that, I’ve still been working on my druid, Stubbornly.  I’ve got a “full” healing set now, (though two of the pieces are pretty sub-par).  I’ve got both professions up to MOP levels, and I’m getting primed to heal my first real heroic dungeon.  I say “real” because my NWN buddy, a priest, took me and another guildy (along with two strangers) through three whirlwind heroics in which he did the tanking, a vast majority of the dps, and probably a majority of the healing (though I didn’t check).  My other buddy said, “He must be Mr. Universe, to be carrying 4 other people on his shoulders.”  Yeah, pretty much.

I also dove back into some UGC for Shadowrun Returns.  There’s so many good modules, but so many of them are only 1 chapter long, so just as you get into it, it ends.  The only “full” adventure I’ve played was Nightmare Harvest, which was excellent.  I just started the Shadowrun Unlimited “open world” campaign, and I have high hopes about that.  I’ve played 4 or 5 other “part 1’s,” and they were all good, but like I said, I’m looking to play through, not stop and have to download more parts in a month when I’ve moved to another game.

So that’s what I’m up to.  Anyone else going to PAX East this year?

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and prepping to travel – ugh)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2014 9:41 pm

    “I’ve got both professions up to MOP levels, and I’m getting primed to heal my first real heroic dungeon.”

    Just pointing out that the Heroic Dungeons were tuned to be done in 430 ilvl and weren’t hard even then :) I think you’ll be bored to tears healing the first “real” one with 495+ ilvl.

    • April 10, 2014 11:39 am

      It has more to do with developing a muscle memory for my hotkeys, knowing what to hit in a “panic” situation, and practicing being able to focus on the field and the healing UI than any challenge in actual healing. I’m not worried about the numbers too much; I’m worried about my being able to react quickly when things get rough and not freeze or have to look at the keyboard to figure out what to hit.
      Thanks for the comment!

  2. ellie permalink
    April 10, 2014 1:11 am

    Heroic dungeons are weird now, because of the legendary cloak. DPS with the cloak and decent raid gear can queue as tank in their dps spec and blaze through the dungeon. Having more than 1 DPS in the cloak means the dungeon will be nuked in record time. Mechanics are ignored for the most part because HP levels are up to a ridiculous high, everything is faceroll AOEd down, and new players are carried along, a bewildered rowboat cast adrift on the tsunami that is the impatient overgeared raiders running towards their VP cap as fast as they can get it.

    • April 10, 2014 10:51 am

      That’s been precisely my experience, though I knew what I was getting in to when my buddy told me to queue as a tank so that we could get in fast, but that he’d tank, heal, and dps – that I should mostly be concerned with throwing a few heals on him and keeping up. I can’t imagine doing that without being prepared for it; in fact, back in Wrath when the same style of heroics was popular, I as a tank refused to do it. It caused a few kerfluffles, but since I was the tank, who cared? I could jump right back in.

      Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

