Skip to content

That’s a Feature?

April 2, 2014

Dear Reader,

I really don’t have terribly much to report today.  I finished the game of Spore I was playing, which largely got that old habit out of my system.  I won, but it took some reloading throughout, as each phase has a uniquely difficult and different challenge to deal with, usually having to do with needing to do too much at once, and, if you do the wrong thing first, you lose.  I’m fine with that, mind you, but it just meant a fair share of reloading.

Path of Exile, too, may be on hiatus; we’ll see.  My buddy and I ran across a “Vaal” champion mob, rare super-hard spawns that can show up in the most recent patch.  It apparently had an ability that worked like a chaining corpse explosion, so we went from 100% life to 0% life instantly on hardcore characters.  My buddy and I were both miffed, but at least it was only about 15 levels in instead of 30 or 40.

We began discussing other options.  He’s very interested in Elder Scrolls Online, more interested than I’ve seen him in any game for a long time – maybe ever.  But at 60 bucks and a subscription, I talked him out of buying it now to play at launch; we’re both sick and tired of being playtesters to games that aren’t really ready for prime time.  We may jump in at some point, but for now, we’re not.

Unfortunately, that didn’t leave much for us to do; we looked at several other available games, but each one had some issue that one of us took issue with.  Many of them – virtually all, in fact – were in a “development” phase which, thanks to Steam, seems to be a selling point, but I can’t possibly imagine why.  How is it a feature to play a game that’s not really fully tested, to pay to be a play tester, a job usually paid for by the company?  I just don’t get it.

That said, I DAMN NEAR bought Shadowrun Online as soon as I saw it.  The offline game was magnificent, and while I haven’t played the expansion yet, I know I will.  That you could play that game online was instantly interesting to me – until I saw that there was only a short preview of the future campaign.  Why they don’t just port over the single-player offline campaign to play while they develop a more carefully balanced online one I don’t know: they’d have my and my buddy’s money, right now, if they had.

My buddy and I looked at Landmark, too, but it’s in a closed beta, so it didn’t do it much good.  I’ve seen a lot of interesting and good press out there about it.

So if you’ve got any suggestions of games that two avid players might somehow have missed, let me know.  We’re pretty open to whatever genre.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and, again, searching)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2014 1:01 pm

    Dunno if it’s still active, but you could purchase TESO for $48 at GMG (20% off). Although I didn’t have much interest in a new MMO at its launch, I’m sorely tempted as simply something to jump into.

    • April 3, 2014 6:01 pm

      It was still active, but apparently my argument was so persuasive that now he won’t even consider any alpha/beta/at launch games (; I was apparently so persuasive that I’ve broken his interest in anything, ever again (;
      Thanks for the comment!

  2. Sigera permalink
    April 2, 2014 1:16 pm

    Diablo 3 expansion?

    • April 3, 2014 6:00 pm

      Yeah, I ran that one by him, and he dismissed it out of hand, which is odd since he loves – LOVES – Blizzard, but I think he’s feeling burned by both WoW’s changes over the past many years and the D3 release which was, shall we say, not what he really wanted.

      Good to hear from you, though! How are things?

  3. April 2, 2014 3:16 pm

    Some ideas from my Steam library list (not all of which I have played):

    AI War
    Renegade Ops
    Detour
    Forced
    All Zombies Must Die
    Dead Horde
    Sol Survivor
    Leviathan: Warships
    Guns of Icarus Online
    Anomaly 2

    and one that may not be strictly multiplayer, but could be alright if you like designing challenges for each other – Gratuitous Space Battles

    Hope there is something there you might like!

    • April 3, 2014 5:59 pm

      Wow! That’s quite a list, and I appreciate it. I’ll run these by my buddy and we’ll see what – if anything – sticks, since he’s so picky and particular. Still, it’s a great start, so thanks!

      Have you played Forced yet? We’d looked at that one before, but I read that sometimes connectivity or lag issues could cause failure, so he and I had skipped it. Did you experience this?

      Thanks for the comment!

    • April 4, 2014 9:11 am

      Have not played Forced, sorry, so I don’t know what the connectivity issues might be.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

