Skip to content

Back!

March 11, 2014

Dear Reader,

So, I was at a conference most of last week, as I mentioned, and didn’t get a chance to do any posts.  Not only was the conference busy (including my presentation, which went very well, for the most part), I also had no “real” computer access, as even though I was in a ritzy Hilton, their only “business center” was actually a FedEx business center that charged by the minute, like back when the Internet was a new thing.  Unbelievable.

The presentation went very smoothly, and I had good turnout.  That may partly because I went into the hall beforehand and played a carnival barker, which some people at the conference loved and found endearing, and others found “obnoxious and overpowering,” which was one of the comments I had left on my evaluations afterwards.  Ah well, the person stayed for the presentation anyway, so who really cares?  The other comments were all positive, so overall it was an excellent experience, though I don’t think I’m likely to do it again for a long while; it’s pretty draining.

I got back late Sunday, then had the Monday of People Coming to the House.  We had a painter, the professional carpet cleaners, and the real estate agent all come by on the same day, so that, too, was pretty draining.  However, it’s now “done.”  We don’t have any more major work (unless the roof gets done), so it’s all just the minor work of keeping neat and tidying up before people come by.  We’ve heard from several people that “our house never stays on the market long,” so hopefully that will hold true, as that’s one of the two ENORMOUS monkeys on my back – that and, of course, finding a new job, again.

So unfortunately there hasn’t been a ton of gaming in the past week or so, which is why I didn’t bother to do any “make-up” posts.  I’m playing LoL with my wife.  I’m playing Civ 5 with my wife.  That’s about it.  I do really like all the additions the various x-pacs on Civ 5 provide: trade routes, religion, and the like.  As it’s a many-years-old game now, I’d say it’s worth getting them on sale when you can.

But that’s really about it.  Hopefully I’ll have more to say next time, but since it’s Spring Break, I’m not sure when next time will be.  Regular schedule resumes next week, regardless.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and breaking)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Polynices permalink
    March 11, 2014 1:36 pm

    Isn’t it wierd how right before you sell a house and move out it looks the nicest and is the most fixed up that it’s ever been? That’s bugged me the two times I’ve moved.

    • March 11, 2014 7:01 pm

      Of course (; we do unto others as we would have them BUY OUR HOUSE!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

