Skip to content

Changes

February 12, 2014

Dear Reader,

I had a few different people tell me that my last post seemed more dire than I meant it to.  It’s not like I need to flee the state because I’ve committed murder or anything; my wife just got a job offer elsewhere, and it’s pretty likely she’s going to take it, but we only have the week to make the decision.  Big news, potential big change, and not necessarily all good (for me, at any rate), but not dire, either.

I love being an adult; I’m constantly mystified by people who look back at their childhood with fondness and say things wistfully like “That was the best time of my life…” I didn’t like childhood and love being an adult, and I constantly sent that message out to my students in NYC, that things got better.

But that doesn’t mean being an adult doesn’t have its hiccups.  While the rest of the country’s housing market was crashing and then recovering, where I lived was mostly untouched, which would be a great thing except that last year, the two big plants in my town laid off a lot of people.  Right now my city has double the national rate of unemployment, and as a result, in the last year housing prices went down a fair share.  As a result, if (more and more likely when) my wife and I move, we’re probably going to be taking a bath on the house.  We’ll be lucky to get our investment back, and will only hopefully not have to pay out of pocket.

That alone might seem limiting, but my wife’s just not happy here.  She has little faith in her institution and less in her peers.  She’s had people consistently move behind her back to hurt her department to empower their own, and she’s tired of it.  I’ve told her it could be like that anywhere, but the abstract and theoretical possibility of betrayal doesn’t mean much when it’s like that right here, right now.  

Of course, this means I’ll have to be getting another job, after having just finally secured one 18 months ago.  It is what it is; my wife’s happiness is far more important to me than anything else, so if we have to move penniless and I have to work part time again, I’ll do it.

I’m mostly putting all this “real life” stuff out there to let you know that the blog may be more spotty over the next few weeks; our aim is to get our house “list ready” by the end of the month.  After that, I have a conference at which I’m presenting, too, so that will be out of the way and things will start to calm down.  Until then, though, all bets are off; if I can find time to write, I will.  If I can’t, I may miss updates with little or no warning.  I’m sure you understand.

I don’t have much in the way of game news; I simply haven’t played that much since Monday.  I’ll get back to the more “fun” stuff in the future, though, hopefully as soon as Friday.  I’ve got one cooking on how modern MMOs create discomfort in old-school gamers by perilously balancing experimentation and efficiency.  More on that another day.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and not wanted for murder)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2014 7:28 pm

    Best of luck to both of you. I hope you can find what you’re looking for in terms of a job and new home.

  2. February 13, 2014 12:13 am

    “wife’s happiness is far more important to me than anything else” Congratulations you understand what it means to be married.

    I hope everything works out with the next chapter of your life.

  3. Sylow permalink
    February 13, 2014 4:43 am

    > Stubborn (and not wanted for murder)

    That’s what they all say…
    *moves off to check the bounty board* :D

  4. February 13, 2014 10:05 pm

    Good luck to you both. I know how stressful and exciting new jobs can be .

  5. February 14, 2014 10:33 pm

    Had great difficulty trying to leave a reply from a mobile device. Just wanted to say that this is really exciting new chapter of your life! And I look forward to hearing all about how it turn sout – because I am sure you will have something to say about it (like you always do!). Hope Mrs Stubborn likes the new job and hope to see you in game sometime!

  6. Kanter permalink
    February 16, 2014 11:19 am

    Good luck! I know this will be a lot of work for you both, but it sounds like it is the right thing to do. Try to enjoy it as much as you can and I’ll look forward to reading your posts whenever you have time.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

