Skip to content

Crazy

February 10, 2014

Dear Reader,

Things are crazy here.  I don’t want to go into too much details, but my wife and I may be moving, and we only have a week to get all the information we need to make the decision.  So we have to get our realtor to evaluate our house and I have to be starting to look for jobs and seeing the status of my unused teaching credentials.  Negotiations must be made on both sides.  And so forth.

So it’s been a whirlwind of a weekend and will continue to be a stressful week.

Of course, all of that means I should make sure I put time aside to play.  I was pretty good this weekend; I wrapped up the campaign I was playing in NWN with my NWN buddy.  The strongest emotion I could really feel was awe; the scope of such a large project is just amazing to me.  The author created an enormous amount of content from a simple tool set, and regardless of any specific complaints I may have had, that alone was impressive.  It was a lot of fun, and while there were some problems and whining on my part, it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience.  If you’re looking for a good old fashioned role playing experience, you don’t have to reinvent the wheel; check out NWN user generated content, which my NWN buddy would be happy to filter for you.

I played a fair share of Kingdoms of Amalur, too.  It’s still grabbing my attention when I get around to playing it (which is only when I don’t have others to play with).  The sheer amount of things to do is a little overwhelming (but only a little), but section by section I’m making progress.  I had my second legitimate “boss fight” against a spider queen, and the fight was pretty tough; she summoned – I’m not exaggerating here – probably 30 adds, a mixture of ranged and melee.  I used my “daily” cooldown to quickly burst her down, but once the cooldown was used up, the fight got pretty hairy.  It was a lot of fun.

Additionally, I started Far Cry 3 with my “recovering from being” blind buddy.  The first night we couldn’t get Uplay to work, and doing a little research, I learned that Uplay is a complete piece of garbage that sometimes just doesn’t work.  The next night, we tried again - not having changed anything - and it worked.  Hooray.  The first co-op board was a lot of fun and a fair challenge; to quote my buddy, “The firefights sure are intense.”  We failed several times, but were always able to figure out what went wrong and try it again. Then we hit the second board and failed on the first challenge probably ten times in a row.  You have to defend a train against wave after wave of enemies.  We kept getting one-shotted by surprise melee mobs that seemed to be spawning almost on top of us.  In one of the final attempts, we finally got to the “boss,” a heavily armored ranged fellow, and I popped him twice in the face with my sniper rifle, but then, when I went to heal the damage I’d been consistently taking while aiming to get those two great shots, the heal just didn’t go off.  Repeatedly.  Then I died.  I was frustrated enough to just call it.  From all reports from my buddy, the single player is a lot of fun, a “poor man’s Fallout: New Vegas.” I’m not sure why it’s a “poor man’s” anything, but it means he likes it well enough.

I played some live PvP LoL games, too, and came out 50/50.  I’m happy with that, and since the loss was 100% not my fault, I can be satisfied with my play.  I Taric’d the win and Teemo’d the loss.  Both were very difficult match ups on my lane, so it was a good challenge regardless of the outcome.

Now I’m going to post this without editing because I’m so busy due to the local craziness.  I’m sure I’ll regret having done so later.  Nope.  Nevermind.  I couldn’t do it.  I edited.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and too busy to think of a clever addendum)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2014 1:42 pm

    Hope the real life craziness works out well for you and your wife.

    And never apologise for editing. It has to be done! :D

  2. Beshara permalink
    February 10, 2014 3:35 pm

    Wow, that’s not a lot of time to decide on moving. I am hoping that things work out for the best for you.

  3. February 11, 2014 10:07 am

    Hope you get everything sorted out however it winds up.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

