Skip to content

Microgames within Macrogames

February 5, 2014

Dear Reader,

So, I haven’t logged in to actually play Neverwinter in about a week now.  I’ve gotten ready to, but something else better comes along each time.  That culminated with the sale on Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning, so now there’s always a better option, or at least until I suck the last drop of sweet nectar that game has to offer.

I think one “problem” with Neverwinter is that you’re so powerful so early.  Like in The Secret World and Guild Wars 2, you get virtually all the abilities you’re going to be using throughout the whole game pretty early on.  Unlike WoW, who rightly or wrongly withholds some good powers until the end (rightly from a novelty point of view, wrongly from a training point of view), Neverwinter, TSW, and GW2 allow you to find your “best” build before you’re halfway through the game.  That means that, unless you’re prone to a lot of experimentation, the second half’s just going to be a whole lot of the same.

Regardless, that’s not what this post is about.  What this post is about are the two microgames within Neverwinter that I’m still engaging in, even though I don’t know if I’m going to go back to the macrogame.  I’m still leveling my professions dutifully through the web browser (speaking of, I need to go set up my next set of tasks… okay, back), and I’m still logging in each day to invoke my deities to get those bonuses.

I’m not sure whether that’s a sad story of operant conditioning (which it may very well be), or if it’s a more profound statement of the successes of Neverwinter.  That I’m still engaged in the crafting system when I’m not enthralled with the game itself says something about that crafting system, something of which other games should take note (all that just to avoid ending with “note of”).  Glitch was the same way (and I assume EVE would be, too, since they have similar time-based systems, though Neverwinter’s allows companions to do the work, like Star Wars: The Old Republic).  Also, since it’s browser based, I can keep up with it when I’m not at my primary gaming computer.

Each of those elements – having multiple minions to do multiple crafting tasks, making the tasks time-oriented, and allowing for remote access – I think really make Neverwinter’s crafting system one of the best out there.

Now I just have to figure out if I really feel that way or if I’ve just been trained well.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and crafty)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2014 4:31 pm

    “something of which other games should take note (all that just to avoid ending with “note of”)”

    Eh, no reason to treat English like an insect caught in amber. It’s a living, breathing language. Breath with it. :D

    • February 7, 2014 12:15 pm

      There are reasons to honor the old ways while accepting the new ones. If we don’t, then there’s no rules at all. I agree that language shifts; I’ve written on it here and elsewhere, but without a foundation, the shift may be too great.

      You wouldn’t want this comment to look like this (;

      therer reesons to awner the old ways wile excepting the new 1s if not than theres no rules at all i agree that langwidge shift ive ritten on it here and elsewere but wo foundashun, the shift may b 2 grate

    • February 7, 2014 2:29 pm

      Intingan fela bið fyrwetgeornra áran ealdgesegen . . . oh I give. up. My point is that language changes over time. On top of which, in fairly modern times (18th and 19th centuries) “scholars” tried to make the rules of English follow more closely the rules of classical Latin, despite much of the structure of English having a Germanic root not an Italian one; leading for example, to the “prohibition’ on the split infinitive, despite perfectly justifiable reasons to split infinitives left and right—not the least of which is that most tenses in English are conjugated using separate “helping words.” The key is communication. Believe me, I see improper grammar all the time. It makes me a fairly effective editor, but I don’t sweat it in the work of others unless requested.

      >.> You’re an English professor aren’t you?

    • February 7, 2014 3:24 pm

      I am indeed, though I refer to myself as a teacher simply because that’s more my background and I don’t often like what I see in other “professors” around me.
      And to be clear, I agree with the examples you provide; hell, I primarily teach Developmental English, so the writing I see on a daily basis is often very lacking in many ways. Some rules, like splitting infinitives, just don’t seem to truly be worth honoring (see what I did there?). The prepositions thing, too, doesn’t mean much to me; I was mostly making a glib comment to draw attention away from the somewhat awkward phrasing the sentence ended up with.
      However, credibility is a major factor in my job; I’ve got a lot of hostile students (not hostile to me, because I’m damn good at customer service, but hostile about having to be in a dev. English course), so my being credible without primping and preening about it matters. I do this by knowing a lot, and showing off that knowledge in funny, indirect ways in class. Sometimes those little examples lead to bigger discussions about grammar in general, something most students couldn’t care less about, so that sort of behavior rubs off on me. I’ve never been one to correct other people’s speaking or casual writing, but I correct my own all the time as a matter of principle.
      Thanks for the comment!

  2. February 5, 2014 4:32 pm

    Well crap I have a typo :(

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

