Skip to content

The “Winter Doldrums”

January 29, 2014

Dear Reader,

Rowan’s right, of course, but I hate myself for it.  I really don’t know what it is that has made me so blasé recently.  Of course, this isn’t the first time.  I am, perhaps ironically, getting tired of writing about being tired of such a wonderful variety of games.  I look at what I’ve been playing, and the concepts, the art, the execution – they’re all beautiful, ingenious, and engaging.

Except, you know, they aren’t.  Not to me, recently, at any rate.

I mentioned before that I bought my wife a copy of the game Brothers.  Everyone was raving about it.  She liked Zelda as a kid, enjoys deep, emotional stories, and doesn’t like a lot of violence, so I thought Brothers would be perfect.  It wasn’t.  It was the opposite of perfect.  I sort of feel the same about my game choices for myself.

Somehow, I’m just not recently in tune with gaming.  I can’t seem to get engaged with any game.  Seriously, look at this list of just my “favorites” in my Steam library.  This is completely unaltered or edited:

Don’t Starve
Far Cry 3
FEZ
Frozen Synapse
Ironclad Tactics
Legend of Dungeon
Orcs Must Die! 2
Papers, Please
Shadowrun Returns
Civ 5
Spelunky
To the Moon
XCOM: Enemy Unknown

Shouldn’t that be enough?  I mean there’s some real gems there.  On top of that, I’ve got WoW, Neverwinter, M:tGO, The Secret World, Guild Wars 2, and the Wildstar beta all updated and ready to play.  Surely at least one of those should grab me?

Instead, I find myself watching a lot of T.V.  I’m not a huge fan of T.V., mind you, but it’s just what I’ve been doing.  I’m not tired or anything that’d make we want to lay around, I’ve just been watching it preferentially over playing any of those games.

So I don’t know.  Maybe it is just the winter doldrums, but I’m just not being grabbed by much at the moment.  Anyone else feeling the same?  Or have some secret awesomesauce to offer?

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and blasé)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2014 4:20 pm

    I have a group of people that I play some competitive games with (Smite, LoL, etc.), and some nights they’re just not around. I drift, bouncing from indie game to indie game, putting in a half hour on every other AAA title. I’d have a similar list if I still used favorites, now I just have 100+ games set to different categories depending on my mood. I know it’s an off night when I’m considering going to bed as an activity. At least I’m able to dream more-or-less on demand. Cor, there’s always the bar with my local humans too. Gaming has been more sparse than past years.

  2. January 29, 2014 6:39 pm

    Eh, I completely understand. Haven’t really touched a game since SUnday. And as I mentioned in a comment on your last post, my lovely bride and I just picked up EQ2 at the beginning of the month for something fresh, yet also familiar.

  3. January 30, 2014 8:08 am

    I’m right there with you. There are games I’m booting up each night, but none that are really commanding my attention. I usually end up playing Hearthstone or PlanetSide 2, out of habit more than anything.

    Sometimes I wonder if it’s because in the back of my mind I really want to play Starbound, but I’ve told myself to wait for the next sale.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

