Skip to content

Good Lord What a Long Few Days

January 10, 2014

Dear Reader,

Mostly, I’m just griping about my “short” work week here.  The numerical fact is that I worked as much in the past three days (and will continue into the weekend a bit, I’m sure) as I will the first two weeks of classes.  I don’t like meetings one bit, but I’ve had about 24 hours of them in the last 72 hours.  Ugh.

Aside from that, my Path of Exile journey ended, again.  I died first this time, to a random-spawn boss that I thought I was completely safe from.  This type of mini-boss shoots huge electrical bolts all over the place; I never considered it much of a threat, but my buddy had long said it was his least favorite kind of random mini-boss.

I was at full life and shield; then perceptually one frame later I was at about 15% life with no shield, and then I was dead.  I don’t feel like I had time to react.

I predicted this would be precisely what happened when I was arguing with my buddy about continuing into the third play through. Early on, I was charged from off screen by three monsters who took me to about 50% life; if there had been a fourth, I’d have been dead from something I couldn’t have avoided.  I lost interest in playing after that, telling my buddy that I knew that when one of us died it would be from something that happened so fast we didn’t have time to react to it.  He pshawed such concerns away, saying I needed to be more careful and stay behind his summoned goons.  I told him I was; I’d been charged from the side, but we continued nonetheless.

So it didn’t really come as a surprise to me, though that it was the electrical storm boss that got me did.  To be fair, it may not have been just the boss; I had noted (and mentioned to my buddy) a small lag spike a few minutes before, then again not long before the incident.  It may be that I either wasn’t at full health like I thought I was or COULD have reacted if my UI had updated quickly enough.  I don’t know.  It doesn’t matter.  It’s over.

And it’s over from more than that; after a few months of relatively good health (compared to, say, a corpse), my buddy had a huge backslide with his vision.  For no apparent reason (which the doctor confirms is possible), a previously-fused blood vessel in my buddy’s eye burst overnight, so he went to bed able to see and woke up only able to see colors in one of his eyes.  So we’re not going to be doing much, if any, gaming for a while, it seems.

So I figured I’d give something “new” a try, even if it was only “new” to 2014.  I thought about TSW, but since I was going to be alone and it’s not super-solo friendly, I dismissed it.  I thought about FF14, but it felt a bit cost prohibitive, still expecting a subscription.  In the end I landed on giving Neverwinter another whirl; I’m already playing Neverwinter Nights, so it’ll be interesting to see some of the overlap, and I enjoyed the game, but my buddy felt somewhat blasé about it, so we stopped playing.

I’d heard there were some new classes, so I deleted my level 6 trickster rogue to start a new character.  The only new one was a ranger, though, which I wasn’t terribly interested in, so I rolled another, identical trickster rogue and began leveling her.  It’s been fun so far, but like Vindictus, I can see the possibility of the combat becoming somewhat repetitive.  I’ll worry about that if it happens, though.

So if you’re in Neverwinter, let me know, and we can do some boards together.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and mentally and emotionally exhausted)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2014 9:10 am

    Enjoy Neverwinter, it’s turned out to be the surprise game I’m really into at the moment.I’m a slow-leveler though and on UK timezone so I’d be much help for grouping.

    • January 11, 2014 9:31 am

      Yeah, I liked it before when I was playing it, but it just fell to the wayside. I feel like I keep waiting for the other shoe to drop, but so far, I’ve liked it. I really like the foundry option, too; I feel like allowing monitored and supported UGC is the best way to ensure positive community participation in a game.

      Thanks for the comment!

  2. Samus permalink
    January 11, 2014 9:25 am

    This has always been my biggest issue with “permadeath.” I just don’t trust the reliability of my Internet or their servers. This kind of thing seems inevitable. Eventually, you WILL reconnect to discover your character is dead and gone permanently, through no fault of your own. I don’t think I could handle that level of frustration.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

