Skip to content

Stubborn Dragon

January 3, 2014

Dear Reader,

As you know, I often tout the importance of supporting the arts in one form or another.  I’ve helped to support Ferrel of Epic Slant for some time now, and more recently, Epic Slant itself through its Havok and Hijinks kickstarter.  It was really a no-brainer; the game looks like a lot of fun.  Since it was quickly over-funded, I think a lot of people feel the same way I do.

Now that the kickstarter has finished and the game’s in full production, the backer rewards started rolling in.  Part of my support rewarded me with the honor of designing a dragon in the art style of the game.  Naturally, I went with a quasi-tauren dragon, designed after the titular character here, Stubborn.  I wanted to give the artist a lot of leeway to incorporate his own and the game’s style, so here’s what I sent:

How is your dragon posed?
Arms crossed, standing on two legs, defiantly.

What is in the background?
A Mulgore-like scene, pastoral with evergreens and perhaps some pillars of land.

What kind of props are in the scene?
A sheep in the background, and perhaps a diamond if one can be worked in logically.  If not, the sheep alone will do.

What does your dragon look like? Is it slender? Is it round?
Make it look a tauren-like as possible while still sticking to the scaly dragon art we’ve seen in the game.  I realize that may seem paradoxical, but I’m not terribly picky: longhorn style horns, one broken about halfway down, beefy but not obese, strong but not Schwarzeneggar.

Here’s the sketch the artist sent to me the other day (used here with his permission):

004

Other than noting that it said “pearl” instead of “diamond” (though the art is clearly a diamond), I wrote back that I thought the sketch looked fantastic!  I feel like the artist nailed my instructions while faithfully sticking to the game art (as can be seen at the above links).  I’m really looking forward to the final piece as well as the game!

If you haven’t checked it out yet, follow the first link above and give it a look.  I think you’ll be as impressed as I was.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and draconic)
P.S. I’ve been forgetting my tags! #havokandhijinks #epicslantpress #ferreles
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

