Skip to content

The New Year

January 1, 2014

Dear Reader,

There’s a lot I’m looking forward to this year, not just games, but things that affect my professional life, as well.  I’m piloting a new course this semester, so I’m pretty excited about that.  I’m only teaching three days a week, which the lazy part of me is happy about but the more professional part of me is irritated about.  I’m also presenting at a national conference, which I’m pretty excited about.  There, I’ve given lip service to the “non-game” stuff.  Time to move on to more interesting things.

I’m excited but hesitant about Elder Scrolls Online.  When I envisioned it would be like a multiplayer Skyrim, I was crazily thrilled.  However, it seems they’ve taken a “safer” route and are designing another WoW.  I’m a bit bummed about that, if it’s true, so I’m not sure exactly how I’ll feel as the game gets closer.  I’ve said before that I’m tired of businesses – particularly in the entertainment industry – believing that everything has to fit into the same shape.  Real money makers are innovative, not duplicative, yet the money being poured into designing these triple-A titles is so large that it causes fear to be the prime emotion of their investors.  This causes potential giants – like a multiplayer Skyrim – to be molded instead into WoW version 8 (or however many WoW-like games are out there) and new gaming opportunities to be lost.

I don’t know nearly enough about Wildstar, not like Syp or any of its other rabid fans (I say that in a positive way; I was (and still am, to some extent) a rabid fan of TSW).  Regardless, the little I’ve paid attention to makes it seem like a game I’d plunk down real money for; just the idea that it might be a non-WoW MMO with a greater emphasis on alterative play styles sounds intriguing.  I look forward to seeing more this year.

Star Citizen, too, has been on my radar thanks to Krel, an old blog friend.  He first brought it to my attention several months ago when the kickstarter was being funded, and now, every month or two, I check back in to see how it’s doing.  Both of us have some reservations about the design preventing EVE-like behaviors, but other than that, it looks pretty good.  Go forth an explore.  Find new stars and name them.  Push the boundaries of the frontier or stay in the capital and run safer missions.  Sounds fun!

So that’s what’s on my radar for the coming year.  How about all of you?

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and anxious)

Edit: Tag fail #TESO #Wildstar #Starcitizen

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Krel permalink
    January 1, 2014 1:39 pm

    this is an interview that Chris Roberts just did for MMORPG.com (two parts). It provides a pretty good high-level overview of Star Citizen, where it is right now, etc.

  2. Beshara permalink
    January 2, 2014 11:11 am

    I just recently looked into Wildstar, and I have a feeling my husband and I will be trying out that game when it comes out, or trying to get into a beta so we can mess around with it. Never played much Elder Scrolls, hated the first person play style too much to really get into it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

