Skip to content

Actually…

November 22, 2013

Dear Reader,

I promised you more gaming news today, and I do have some, but not a  lot of it.  Instead, I’m happy to report that my wife was again diagnosed as cancer free, meaning she’s “cured” by medical standards.  Getting cancer before she was 30 badly affected her, so having several years of good news has helped her emotionally recover (and me as well).

So, next to that news, gaming news seems relatively insignificant.  Regardless, a few new records went by this week that I thought worth sharing.  For one, our Wednesday night flex went incredibly smoothly; we had no boss wipes at all (that I remember), though we did have a few messy kills.  We finished significantly faster than any other week; I felt like it was 30 minutes early, though the RL said only 14.  It may be that he’s comparing to the night we only did two wings, but I’m happy with the progress either way.

I also progressed a little.  I was no max dpser, but I did come in pretty high up for overall damage done throughout the raid (without getting in a cannon, I’ll add).  Some of the bosses I did pretty well on, but others I was back down around 12th out of 18 or so.  Regardless, I did better, and while I know I’ll never be in the top of the top, I’m just happy to contribute.  My overall dps stayed above 200k, so I’m happy with that.

On another note, League of Legends just had a major patch update that changed the map (a little bit), a few of the roles, the talent trees (masteries), and the itemization in the game.  As a result, everything was basically wiped.  I had nine pages of masteries set up, and they’re all gone.  I understand the need to do so since the trees themselves were changed, but man; putting them back together took like an hour of mostly guess-work.

When I hopped into the game, I immediately saw some of the itemization changes, and one of the nice new things are free wards to start the game.  This hopefully will both promote personal responsibility for warding as well as take some of the financial toll off the supports.  However, I suspect that they dumbed down the intermediate AI, because we had a lane of two people who were intentionally not progressing (to make more money to test new builds in an AI game with 3 strangers), and we STILL completely destroyed the AI.  It seriously felt like a beginner game.

I hope that my initial perception isn’t correct, though, because intermediate AI is easy enough as it is.  My wife and I are usually only challenged when we’re playing with really new or poor players and have to do more than just our role, and if the AI is further weakened, there’ll be no challenge at all, which will force me back into normal games.  I’m worried about that outcome, but it’s still too early to tell with just one AI game under my belt.  More on that later.

As for the “build tester,” I’m all for the experimentation; if people didn’t do that work, I wouldn’t have builds to look up for new characters.  I think, however, that such an endeavor is better pursued in a custom game; expecting 3 strangers to play 50% longer (since the third lane isn’t being moved) isn’t really a good place to start.  On top of that, when I downed my turret, I graciously (this is before they’d said what they were doing) went to their lane to help push there, and they yelled at me.  I destroyed their turret, and they were being nasty to me about it.  That certainly raised the irritation needle a good bit.  I didn’t even take any of their gold by killing their creeps!

I was told, “lol Teemo go back to mid.  You know, your lane.”

I did not respond very kindly to that, but I did go back to mid and left bottom lane alone.  And to be fair, afterwards, they explained their pursuit, but really it was too little, too late.  If you’re going to play in a weird way, you really need to let people know up front and certainly not be nasty to them when they perform their normal teammate duties.  I was a bit overly-snarky after that, I admit, but it really rubbed me the wrong way to get barked at for helping them down a tower.  What a couple of – not jerks, not really, but I’ll go with – uncommunicative dingbats.

At any rate, I’m looking forward to a slightly fresh LoL and continuing my progress in WoW.  Now that I’m really basically done with Iambic – I only have 1 piece below ilevel 540 now (a trinket, of course) – I may start playing another toon.  I haven’t liked leveling multiple toons since my 10×85, but the pally and druid are already 90, and the rogue’s been calling (especially since my NWN rogue has been so disappointing, but we’ll discuss that and how it’s being dealt with another day), so we’ll see.

Enjoy your weekend!

Sincerely,

Stubborn (a bit overly-snarky)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. twilitsoul permalink
    November 22, 2013 1:21 pm

    Glad your wife is healthy ^.^

  2. November 22, 2013 1:34 pm

    Congratulations to you and your wife! :)

  3. November 22, 2013 3:03 pm

    I’m glad to hear your wife is doing well. Congratulations to you both.

    I agree that bickering at a teammate who is trying to help when you haven’t articulated some experiment you’re running is inappropriate.

  4. November 22, 2013 10:00 pm

    Glad to hear about your wife.

    P.S. Was comparing it to the previous best.

    • November 22, 2013 11:43 pm

      That doesn’t actually clarify if it was previous best 4 wings or previous best 2 wings, which is still the “previous best.” I don’t remember finishing 4 wings before 11:45, which I recall saying was “only 15 minutes longer than just 2 wings” the week after. If we had a better time than that – which I don’t deny we could have and I just not remember it – I don’t remember it.

    • November 23, 2013 12:11 am

      We finished four wings at 11:42 the previous week, I believe, or possibly the week before that. Forget which.

      Then we finished this week at 11:28 — 14 minutes faster.

    • November 23, 2013 12:20 am

      Oh I thought we were done at 11:14, even earlier. Perhaps that’s when we got to Garrosh, and I’m simply misremembering (based on the amount of RP and then the actual average kill time).

    • November 23, 2013 1:37 pm

      Probably when we got to Garrosh, yeah, or finished Klaxxi.

      Also, keep in mind for the NWN rogue that I *am* playing a really, really powerful character. Meaning the only way to be doing more damage per round would be using a 2H, a mage nuking everything, or a high level arcane archer.

      Like we discussed, rogues in NWN tend to be amazing before level, say, 8 (most things can be sneak attacked for massive damage, only 1-2 difference in BAB, and higher level features of fighter type characters haven’t fully kicked it). They lose offensive steam at that point in a world with more magic weapons (like we’re using +3 weapons with 1d6 bonus damage — if we still had +1 or +2 “ordinary” weapons then you’d be much better off compared to me) but start pulling ahead defensively (equal or better AC and (Improved) Evasion). At level, say, 16+ they tend to be the best tanks with sky-high AC and Improved Evasion.

      This of course is confining ourselves solely to combat and not stuff like traps/locks/scouting/pickpocketing. Rogues aren’t designed in NWN to deal high damage, they’re designed to have a lot of skills — for better or for worse. If you want to feel powerful as a rogue I’d definitely suggest you play that “A Dance With Rogues” series if you can deal with the sexuality aspect.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

