Skip to content

Wait for it…

November 18, 2013

Dear Reader,

So I was worried last week about getting my 4 celestial kills.  One of my commentators, Tithian (supported by R) suggested I get oQueue, and I’d like to report on how THAT worked out.

VERY WELL.  PERFECTLY, REALLY.

I’m not sure why I hadn’t heard of oQueue, but I got it up and running as quickly as you’d expect for a basic add-on, and about an hour later had all 4 celestial kills (six, really, since the first two groups were supposed to do all 4, but fell apart so badly after 1 that I just dropped when there were less than 5 people left).  The third group did all four as advertised, and got my cloak.  I am now legen… wait for it…

At any rate, that was a nice success.  I went ahead and further oQueued to get my first Ordos kill, and he dropped a neck – one of my few remaining sub 540 pieces.  I jumped from – I forget exactly – but about a 535 ilevel to 548, and I moved to doing about a sustained 200k on the Ordos fight.  That’s pretty crazy, though, of course, probably much less than I “could” be doing based on sims.

Speaking of jumping, I also jumped over to my buddy’s server.  I really don’t know why I didn’t already, but I went ahead and did so.  I already met some of his other guildies and lent a hand in an ICC 25 run for someone working on the old legendary.  I also bummed around Timeless Isle a lot more than usual and just sort of saw the sights and mopped up some achievements there.  It was a good WoW weekend.

I also played DayZ a bit this weekend.  I had by far the best start I’ve had since coming back, finding food and a weapon in a “low-hanging” building with virtually no zombies around it.  I was well on my way to getting somewhere, but the server restart came, and I went ahead and stopped to play with my buddy, whose sight after his surgery is slowly returning.  We played a few games of magic, which is about all he can really handle at the moment, but he’s hopeful to be back playing other games before too terribly long.

On top of that, I played League of Legends.  I stepped into an ARAM (all random, all mid) and ended up on a team with 4 melee.  Not good melee, even, like Xin Zhao or Singed.  The other team had 4 ranged including Sona (for heals), Ashe, Ziggs, and Janna, all characters with long range, straight attacks that make facing them in a single-lane ARAM a nightmare.  We didn’t do a single point of damage to their turret.  “That’s Aram,” I guess, but it’s little consolation when you’ve truly not got a prayer from the start.  The best part of the game was when someone was complaining about what they “wished” had happened, and someone on the enemy team responded, “I wish I’d been paid in gum!”  It was so random, so very ARAM.

So I got my first and likely only legendary in WoW, killed a new boss, and advanced quite a bit in the story.  I look forward to seeing how I do in this week’s flex, and I wonder for the first time in a while if I’ll try to jump into some normals again.  Flex has been enough so far, but once all of my gear is 540 or better, that incentive is gone.  That doesn’t mean too much – I’ve never cared too much about gear – rather, it’s an incentive to try a harder mode.  We’ll see.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (…dary)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2013 8:37 am

    oQueue is AMAZING. I’ve never actually wanted to donate to an addon author so much, and I intend to do so for this person[s?] soon. I can do flex raids with ease, and world bosses, and I see achievement runs and all sorts of other groups on there.

  2. Beshara permalink
    November 18, 2013 2:28 pm

    Congrats on your cloak! It’s nice to finally get a hold of that item you spent so much time trying to earn.
    I saw the oQueue write up on WoW Insider, but all the extra features and the chat log bloat and the auto accepting/deleting btags…didn’t sound very appealing. It looks like there will be a default program in WoD that will do the same thing, so I will wait for that and use Openraid until then. I like my add ons to be minimal. I’m a bit of a control freak though, and afraid I will lose some personal btags in the process.

    • November 19, 2013 11:17 am

      I do too, and I don’t think I’ll load it every time I load in, but only if I want to do something. Since it’s as easy as just clicking a box before you log in, that’s okay with me, but perhaps that’s a feature they should consider for future releases; it’s not like LFR spits out a chat every time one’s forming a group.

      Thanks for the comment!

  3. November 18, 2013 6:59 pm

    The auto accepting/deleting btags is definitely one of my biggest worries — especially when my friends list is already extremely full (have to delete people fairly constantly). Definitely prefer OpenRaid Chat.

    • November 19, 2013 11:16 am

      I think perhaps that’s a key difference. I don’t know anyone in WoW, really. A few of the commentators here and a handful of old guildies, and that’s all, really. I can list on one hand the battletags I have, so it’s not hard to keep them in mind. I can certainly see losing contacts to be a threat to people who have more than a few. For me, though, it worked like a charm.
      Thanks for the comment!

  4. Samus permalink
    November 19, 2013 1:14 am

    You have the worst luck in ARAM, but it sounds like your champion pool is not very “ARAM friendly.” You can go to lolking and click on “charts” to see the highest win rate champions on Howling Abyss (click on expand to see 15 instead of 10). Basically, you need to have as many of these champions as possible. Even if you don’t play them, someone on your team will want to trade for it (and thus you will have a teammate on an OP champion he is experienced with).

    Of course, I recognize this is a lot of work and IP to spend on something you don’t really do that often, but it will drastically improve your win rate.

    • November 19, 2013 11:22 am

      Actually, I’ve been very, very careful to buy only “ARAM friendly” champs since ARAM became a thing I was doing. I don’t have access here from work, but I’d be willing to bet that a vast majority of my champs are Lux or Ziggs-like over Taric, Alistar, and Poppy, who are literally three of the first 4 champs I bought. I have Singed and Shen, too, but I don’t mind them in ARAM, and I think those are the only 5 melee champs I have. If I could get rid of some of them, I would, too, specifically for that reason. I own about 20 champs (plus the 10 weekly rotation that I have no control over), so I really shouldn’t feel like I’m always getting whammied in ARAM. And I’m not; there are times I get Tristana or Kog’maw, but then the rest of my team is poor.

      So yeah, I do have pretty bad luck in LoL in general, which is why I usually stay to Intermediate AI. That way, if I have bad luck, I can still usually win simply by working extra-hard on my own (or with my wife).

      Edit: Oh, yes, Rammus, too, but again I don’t mind him in ARAM.

      Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

