Skip to content

Gratitude and Ingratitude

November 1, 2013

Dear Reader,

Despite the title, this is a mostly good-news post.  My WoW playing has been going swimmingly well, unlike anything I’ve experienced in a long, long time.  For that, I’m very grateful.  The ingrate is WoW itself.

This week’s flex run, after my posting that I wasn’t making any progress on my legendary cape, was redesigned to incorporate all four wings of SoO.  To be fair, the leader of this flex did say last week that we might try to do more wings, but I don’t think he intended to go right back to all 4 after having just done 2.  I feel a bit spoiled as a result, but I’m not one to look a gift horse in the mouth.  Also, only good outcomes came from the extended run.

For comparison, let’s review the last three weeks of flex runs.

Two weeks ago, we did all four wings (I believe that was the first week all were available).  We started around 9 and ended between 12:30 and 1 a.m.  It was mostly smooth except for a few wipes on the final wing’s bosses: out of control shredder wipes on Siegecrafter and some Garrosh wipes from various things.

Last week, we only did the final 2 wings, and there were again only wipes on Siegecrafter (1 wipe, I think, but maybe a few) and Garrosh.  The Garrosh wipes, though, were far more than the previous week, and I could see both my buddy’s patience (which he has a seemingly unending reserve of) and some of this guildmates’ patiences getting short.  After a very close wipe (I don’t remember the exact number, but it may have been less than a percent) due to people ignoring the mind control function, it was made clear that the next pull may be the last, as we’d be losing our best healer who was enabling us to use a new gimmicky strategy.  Luckily, the final pull was executed perfectly, and we downed the boss to much relief.  Overall just the two wings ran from about 9:15 to 11:30.

This week, we returned to all four wings, largely, I know, for my benefit.  I was worried that the longer run might cause people, particularly the better people, to take a pass and only run the last two with someone else.  Instead, we got one of the best (or perhaps the best) group so far.  We destroyed the place, having only one wipe in the entirety (another out of control shredder mixed with me positioning myself with my back to said shredder and not noticing when it went up for its instant-kill dive bomb while I was wailing on mines).  We did all 4 wings and finished just before midnight, meaning the addition of the two wings only lengthened the run by 30 – 45 minutes.

Here’s where the ingratitude comes in; the damn raid only dropped the one runestone that’s guaranteed.  In other words, while I’m sure some of the flexers got some loot, so I’m glad we did the extra wings, RNG did not cooperate and reward my buddy’s generosity by rewarding me with runestones.  THE IMPERTINENCE!

I did get a tier piece, which, coupled with a weaker 528 LFR piece, gives me my 2 piece set bonus.  I’m not sure whether it’s all that good, but it seems like it might be, since 4% extra damage for 14 seconds each time I fulminate seems pretty good.  Having specced into Elemental Blast, I’m not sure if I do 7 lightning bolts every 14 seconds (with my haste I’d guess I was near that before the respec and reforge), so I don’t know what kind of uptime to expect on it.  Obviously, if it’s even near 100% uptime, it’ll be a welcome addition.  We’ll see.

In the meantime, I picked up the original NWN at my buddy’s request to give it another run.  Since I’ll be playing solo, I thought perhaps a druid with an animal companion would be a good idea.  Hunters are EZ mode, after all, though it’s weird after all these years to get back into the D&D classes as opposed to the WoW classes.  Since I’m starting up a new D&D pen and paper campaign shortly as well, I hope it’ll help get my mind back in that space instead of the MMO space.

Additionally, I picked up Orcs Must Die 1 and 2 with all the DLC for 9 bucks.  I always feel weird buying a game and its sequel at once, because I know that the second is probably the superior product, but I also know if I play the second one first, I won’t want to go back to the first one.  So far, I’m liking it; it does a good job letting you play Dungeon Defenders solo and as a first person shooter, which was tough in DD because there were too many entrances for one person to cover.  It’s been nicely challenging already; I’ve been able to complete every level on my first attempt (only to level 5, so no great shakes), but several levels I’ve had to do a second time to get the best reward.  I know it’ll only get harder (as DD did), but hopefully I’m not too old to manage.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and old)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mos permalink
    November 2, 2013 12:53 am

    I’m happy that you’re enjoying things on the WoW side. I recommended that you go back a while ago (and have no idea what you took from that) but I felt a bit like an ass when your first guild back blew up considering how drunk I usually am when I commenting on your blog.

    Also, the big deal with the 2p shammy bonus is that you pop it before ascendance… it adds up.

    Thanks for blogging, I appreciate it.

  2. November 2, 2013 2:53 am

    So… you’re running that Garrosh thing to get gear to run… Garrosh mark 2 or… run Garrosh faster? I don’t play WoW so I’m probably off track in my thinking here. Just curious.

    • November 2, 2013 9:47 am

      Neither, really, though the gear will make it faster. I run it for the challenge and fun, to spend time with friends in an cooperative environment. That I got little gear and no extra runestones only because a frustration because I knew that the extra wings were done precisely for that outcome.

      Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

